We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay at Sandyport beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandyport Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay at Sandyport beach Resort”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our stays over the past 10 years at The Sandyport has been a feeling of Home away from Home. The friendly staff especially Cameron has been so warm and welcoming. The Rooms offer a Tropical feeling un-matched. What is so satisfying is friends i have reffered The Resort to, has also made it There home away from Home.

Thank you,
Robin Nicholls

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Robin,

Thank you so much for your continued patronage over the past ten years. We truly value our regular guests who have become so much a part of the resort. Your friends are always welcome; we are pleased to be their home away from home. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    222
    82
    51
    71
See reviews for
196
267
45
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Eleven of our dedicated volunteers stayed at Sandyport Beaches Resort during Operation Potcake. The resort was a great place to relax after a long day helping animals. The rooms are large and comfortable. The resort is conveniently located, with good restaurants within walking distance and a bus stop nearby. There is a lovely beach and pool. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Having such a lovely place to stay helped make Operation Potcake the great sucess that it was :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bahamas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Bahamas Humane Society,

The entire team at Sandyport would like to say a huge thank you to the dedicated volunteers that visited Nassau during Operation Potcake. The work that was done for the animals of our island was fantastic. Thank you also for the tireless efforts that the Bahamas Humane Society makes throughout the year. It was a pleasure to be a small part of this great initiative.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is beyond the most beautiful place I ve ever been at! The resort was delicate and beautiful! The people who works there where amazing to us! me and my 2 kids stayed there for 7 days and we are so sad to leave
I will recomend this to everyone!!! I have absolutly nothing negative to say, exept that i had to leave! We will come back as soon as possible!

Absolutly everyting about this resort was amazing! We fell in love the people who worked there and the resort! The bech was one min to walk from our room. the pool was one min to walk from our room. The security was exelent. The place was so beautiful and everything was at one place.

thank u so much for giving us the best vacation ever!!!! See you all soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Jennie w,

We are so sorry that you had to leave too but so glad that it sounds like you will be coming back soon. “The best vacation ever”! It was our pleasure.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Pros:
- Close to the beach which was very quiet
- Walking distance to a couple restaurant options (Twisted Lime was good)
- Large rooms which were relatively clean
- Near bus stop to take you into town

Cons:
- Horribly uncomfortable beds
- Ants in bedroom
- Rooms are very dated (parts of ceiling were coming apart in both of our bathrooms)
- Could only get a wifi signal in the corner of our back bedroom (and paid $60/wk for it)
- We were told there was a continental breakfast available but never saw anything other than a coffee machine (Maxwell house or something like that - nothing special)

We weren't in the Bahamas to hang out in our room all day so it worked okay, but we probably would not stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear KimberlyC,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at Sandyport on your recent vacation and for your valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear about the condition of your room, which does not meet our normal standards and we have since rectified.

Our rooms are decorated in a tropical, island feel, which we hope represents our environment. I do appreciate that this is not for everyone. The majority of the rooms are individually decorated with some being quite neutral so we can try to accommodate varying tastes, just let us know.

Regarding Breakfast we do have a few options available. The News Café in the Sandyport Marina village has recently opened and serves various breakfast options. One of our guest’s favourite though is Chef Clevland who cooks to order on our lagoon beach. You do need to order in advance as he shops specifically for your meal. While you would expect your own chef would be expensive he is in fact very reasonable. There is also Wendy’s a short walk away at the end of the Sandyport Development. The majority of our rooms do have kitchen facilities which also make breakfast both easy and economical. Please note the hotel bedroom does not have kitchen facilities but does have a coffee maker.

We do hope that you change your mind about returning. Please do let me know if you are as I will ensure that your vacation is much improved and that we make up for our deficiencies on this trip.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I spent 1st week of December 2012 at Sandyport. We had a week left on our timeshare and just picked a place. We were very pleased with the Bahamas as a destination (met some new friends from Philly) and very pleased with Sandyport. The rooom was large and very comfortable. The staff was outstanding. From Lady Sarah to Chef Cleveland....everyone was great. A special thank you to Sharonne at the front desk. Chef Cleveland's food is outstanding and Lady Sarah made us feel very welcomed. We stopped by the Sheraton to consider their hotel for a possible future stay, while beautiful, it felt cold and impersonal. Sandyport is the place for us. See you later in 2013...gotta have more Conk fritters down by the Fish Fry.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StyleK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear StyleK,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review and thank you for mentioning our “outstanding” team. We really believe that our hospitality sets us apart. We are a relatively small resort and really enjoy the opportunity that we have to get to know our guests. We are so glad Sandyport is the place for you. We cannot wait to welcome you back in 2013.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Given the high prices of Bahamas resorts, we found a really good deal for our family at Sandyport. We were accommodated in a large and clean two bedroom apartment with a canal view and a jacuzzi. Staff was nice, our kids had a great time by the pool and by the private beach. We rented a car so we had lots of dinning and shopping options nearby. By checkout time, since the hotel had availability, they offer a late checkout until it was time to leave for the airport. We spend a day at crowded and "Vegas style" Atlantis, were prices are five times as expensive and we were very glad we chose Sandyport as our destination in the Bahamas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sariano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Sariano,

We are so pleased you are glad that you chose Sandyport as your destination in the Bahamas, which is high praise indeed from a top reviewer on tripadvisor. Thank you for pointing out that we are quite different from Atlantis and we and our guests like it that way. We are a tranquil resort known for our relaxing environment and excellent hospitality. There is no need to fight for your beach chair or hammock. That said our concierge team can book all the activities on the island and the majority pick up from the resort. You can as you did go to Atlantis for the day if you choose.

We are delighted that you found a really good deal. The two bedroom suites are great for families, providing extra space and full kitchen facilities, which can help to further reduce expenses during your stay.

We do hope that we will welcome you and your family back to Sandyport in the near future.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Sandyport Resort

We loved Sandyport Resort. To begin with, it’s a beautiful resort – rentals, timeshares and residences that are never far from a relaxing water view, including the peaceful pond that meanders thru the office area. We saw lots of fish there, including a lionfish. Our smaller rental room was comfortable, neat and clean, and steps away from MY hammock at the pool.
I really like ocean activities and real swimming, and the beach is great. Nice sand and sandy bottom water that deepens gradually, so I could do some serious laps. The crescent beachfront is relaxing and uncrowded, and there are comfortable beach loungers (always enough, but never rows and rows dominating the beach) and a beach hut restaurant, which we did not use. We did however enjoy the restaurant dog who knows a dog lover when she sees one and was happy to give us our cuddly doggie fix.
There were several great dining options in the area. Onsite, Chef Cleveland is the real thing, and makes unbelievable breakfasts and dinners – to order – on a grill and a hotplate in the Shack between the pool and the lake, for a very reasonable price (esp. since dinners include unlimited island cocktails). My husband ate there almost every day. We liked that you order your dinner entrée in the morning, so that the Chef can shop for the fresh ingredients. There are also other good bars and restaurants within a 10 minute walk, and we had a beautiful New Year’s Eve dinner at the Poop Deck.
Getting around Nassau was no big deal. We felt safe. There were taxis aplenty but it was only a short walk to the bus, which got us everywhere we wanted to go for $1.25. We think the buses spent more time waiting for us than we did for them – if they saw us coming they would wait and sometimes do a U-turn swoop to pick us up so we didn’t have to cross the road. We were Downtown a couple of times and even used the buses for transportation during the wee hours for Junkanoo (but they stop running at twilight normally). And each bus is a different experience, because the drivers and their personal décor are amusingly idiosyncratic.
We really enjoyed the island itself, and because it’s so close to home, our travel day was also our first vacation day. I was in the ocean before dinner. We like the “feel” of the Bahamas a lot, the people and the culture.
Speaking of the people, the staff at Sandyport are the best. Lady Sarah made us feel very welcome before we even arrived, answering questions I had about our planned activities and looking up information for me – really excellent concierge service. By the time I actually met her, it felt like friends. And everyone we met there was the same – Cameron, Big Al, Charon…..and the rest. They made us feel like we were in Nassau, getting to know the real Nassau, not just looking in thru a visitor window.
We would go back to Sandyport in a heartbeat, and I’m sure we will.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizbethC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear LizbethC,

We are so pleased you enjoyed YOUR hammock during your stay with us. Your review is filled with great tips. Thank you so much for spending the time to pass on this wonderful information. Our team loves what they do and I agree with you that they are the “best”.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandyport in a heartbeat and to continuing to share the real Nassau with you.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
3.2 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
7.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#6 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,587 reviews
7.4 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
1.9 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
2.4 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandyport Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandyport Beach Resort

Property: Sandyport Beach Resort
Address: West Bay St, Sandyport, Nassau none, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandyport Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandyport Beach Resort in Nassau, Bahamas is known for its tranquility, where rest and relaxation amid the tropical landscape takes you into island time. A quiet retreat ideally located in the luxury Sandyport Marina Village approximately 3 miles away from Nassau International Airport and minutes away from Cable Beach.The resorts pastel colored villas of 72 rooms surround a marina linked by a Grand Canal to the sea. The architecture is inspired by the Georgian Colonial architecture of historic Bahamas and all rooms are appointed with modern conveniences. The Signature room, The Deluxe One Bedroom Suite, is your home away from home with full kitchen and living/dining room with queen size sofa bed separate from the master bedroom with king size bed, Jacuzzi bath and view of the canal or lagoon beach. There are multiple room types available though with everything from a Hotel bedroom, Studio, one, two or three bedroom suites.The resort includes two ocean beaches a short walk from the rooms, a lagoon beach, and three swimming pools including one large pool with a gentle sand edge. The kiddie pool has 2 fun water slides. A tennis court and half basketball court are also on-site. Wireless Internet access is free in the rooms and public areas. Guests can use a computer in the lobby with complimentary high-speed Internet access during office hours. Guests also have discounted use of a nearby fitness centre. While you may find yourself getting lost in the privacy and tranquility of the Resort itself, at Sandyport you can have the best of all worlds - be as quiet as you want, or as active as you want, with the dining and shopping options of The Sandyport Marina Village on the Resort's doorstep and a superb range of activities that can be organized through the front desk. The resort has a limited number of rooms that are handicapped accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandyport Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandyport Beaches Hotel Nassau
Sandyport Beach Hotel
Sandyport Beach Nassau
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Sandyport Resort
Sandyport Nassau
Sandyport Beach Resort Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing