We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Beach, Unless You Don't Care to be Bothered...”
Review of Cabbage Beach

Cabbage Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Nassau Bahamas Highlights Tour
Ranked #12 of 123 things to do in Nassau
Attraction details
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Beach, Unless You Don't Care to be Bothered...”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have been to Nassau many times on cruises, so we were looking for something different to do. After being talked into the taxi for $4 a person, we were dropped off with instructions to go up a shady dirt hill, walk down some rocks, and there you will find a beautiful beach. Okay, easy enough... and the truth is, it is a beautiful beach. The water is gorgeous, but the beach is littered, and really, if you don't care for locals bothering you, well, I don't recommend it. I don't mind the locals, everyone has to make money and this is what they know. Yes, the chairs are expensive, but we did end up with some nice drinks for $20 all day refills, and my husband and friends agreed, it was pretty watered down, but then snuck up on you later on (typical grain alcohol)... My only complaint was no bathrooms, as the surf is way too strong to get in. I saw many loose tops and bottoms, and some thought this was a European beach. Not a bother to me, but there was lots of kids for this sort of view. Recommended not to take your kids in the water, and if you are not a strong swimmer, don't go in. All in all, something different to do for the day instead of going straight to Senor Frogs to get wasted...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LarsonWifey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    258
    113
    57
    47
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, KY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“There has to be a better beach in paradise!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We visited this beach on Friday, September 13, 2013 while sailing on the Carnival Fantasy ship. We had completed a little homework before we debarked the ship and had made up our minds to pay the day fee at a local hotel for use of their towels, chairs, umbrella, pool and beach. We let a taxi driver talk us into a shorter ride, lower fare (by $1.00 per person) and dumped us off at the "Atlantis" beach. That was a bunch of crap - it was at least a quarter mile to one edge of the Atlantis resort where you could go "sneak" by the security guard and use their bathroom. Once outside of the taxi you have to walk up this creepy dirt path and when you get to the bottom of the path there are about 10 locals waiting to pounce on you to sell chairs, umbrellas, drinks, etc. Three chairs and one umbrella was $50 per day. You could buy a coconut drink for $20 and get refills all day -- this guy would even be the bartender - never saw him again. The drinks were from fruit punch canisters and had very little spirits. All day long people came by to sell rides on jet skis, banana boats, scarves, towels, turtles, cigars, etc. The beach was very busy by the afternoon. But, most of all, I would not recommend this beach is because of the under current suft of this beach. It is deceiving -- appears fairly calm and then boom, you are over your head with huge waves. It was almost impossible to walk out of the surf. I learned later that this particular stretch of beach is famous for riptide currents. I also learned that there are other beaches that have calm waters all the time, that are less crowded and cleaner (I had to trash to thrown away and couldn't find a trashcan). If I ever go back to Nassau, I will not let a taxi driver choose my destination.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clear water with beautiful beach”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The must see beach in Nassau, Bahamas.The water is very clear, and the sand is so soft and comfortable. Jetski is good price compare to miami beach or key west. Remember you can bargain the price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dirty!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were at this beach last Saturday and I was extremely disappointed. This beach was littered with garbage. The chairs and umbrellas were expensive and in poor condition. The garbage pails that are located on the path need to be moved down onto the beach and maybe, just maybe, people will actually use them. There are so many really nice beaches in the Caribbean, but this is not one of them (but it could be if it was cleaned up).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jcpatmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bird in Hand, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Perfect Public Beach”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

While on a cruise, we spent the day at cabbage beach (public beach in nassau...near atlantis). This beach is perfect...on our visit (first week of september 2013) we experienced warm tropical crystal clear waters, and minimal waves. The water was so clear it more like swimming in a pool rather than the ocean. We took a cab from the cruise terminal at a cost of five dollars per person one way for the approximate eight minute trip. The cabbe was very nice and quite the personality. The beach is meant for tourists and locals alike. So if you are looking for the homogenized caribbean experience, this isnt it. You will experience local people, all of whom were very very nice. Yes, there are those whom are selling souvenirs. A polite no thank is all it takes to be left alone. Other vendors were selling drinks (alcohol and virgin alike), and there is a small food shack that had the best fried conch fritters we have ever had. All at very reasonable prices. We were comfortable, relaxed, and most of all we felt safe and never threatened (like others have claimed). The beach was spotless clean, and very well maintained. If you are looking for an inexpensive getaway in Nassau...head to Cabbage Beach. Its absolutely awesome!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarzyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabbage Beach also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Cabbage Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing