We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great water nice sand”
Review of Cabbage Beach

Cabbage Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Nassau Bahamas Highlights Tour
More Info
$175.00*
and up
Nassau Fitness and Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Parasail Over Cabbage Beach
Ranked #12 of 125 things to do in Nassau
Attraction details
Jackson, Mi
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great water nice sand”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

From The cruise ships you can get a taxi for $4 a person. It is a short 10 minute taxi ride. The beach is very busy. There are people that want to rent a chair or sell a parasail ride or bottle of water. We were only directly approached once on the rental chair. No one was pushy or rude. Very kind. Never felt imposed on and with me that's not hard to do :-). The sand was wonderful and the water was a beautiful color and crystal clear with a smooth bottom. Only place I would go back to in Nassau.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank justjoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    267
    116
    58
    50
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a very nice beach. It's pretty busy and if you wanted to find a quite spot you'd have to walk down it pretty far and the white beautiful sand is deep! Bring water! We were with 4 other couples and all had beach massages that were awesome and very affordable. The waves were wild here, I was too afraid to go in!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SteamyRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman Brac
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Busy Beach”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

While this is a beautiful beach, its much too busy for my liking. All of the bus tours drop off the cruise ship passengers for the day so its crazy with kids and screaming parents. NOT for me!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DMRankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful & Volatile”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The reviews that mention the strong currents are not exaggerating, but they're manageable. If you're bringing children or weak swimmers, never let them out of your sight though. There are shysters abound on this beach. Start your countdown timer in front of the jet ski proprietor. If you don't have one, use your phone to run the countdown timer app and store it in the trunk of the jet ski.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MakoSharkEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice beach- watch out for the locals”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited this public beach during a cruise on March 8th. The beach itself was very nice but the water was very rough that day- my husband had to pull 3 different women from the water because they were being swept up by the huge waves. The day after we were there a man died trying to save another female swimmer. The locals were selling all you can drink coconut drinks and a chair for $30/pp- we thought this was a great deal until when we went to leave and give them a tip they accused us of stealing thier money. The police were there watching the entire incident and instructed us to pay the locals $50 and be on our way so we did. I am sure this is a frequent scam. After getting in the taxi to go back to the ship we realized that our camera was missing from our bag. I would highly recommend finding another beach or at the least- do not deal with the local people trying to sell you anything.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabbage Beach also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Cabbage Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing