We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't that great....won't recommend.”
Review of Cabbage Beach

Cabbage Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Nassau Bahamas Highlights Tour
More Info
$175.00*
and up
Nassau Fitness and Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Parasail Over Cabbage Beach
Ranked #11 of 125 things to do in Nassau
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wasn't that great....won't recommend.”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

The beach itself was ok, typical Caribbean beach with the exception of the large amount of people peddling goods up and down the beach. After a few hours we became so annoyed with guys yelling if we wanted water or soda, ladies selling jewelry and this one guy with wooden flutes who would play them right in your face even after you told him no that we had to leave. Then on the way back to our cruise ship our cab driver was rude and obnoxious. Not a good trip, I would not recommend this beach or Nassau based on our experience here unless you are booking a trip through a cruise ship or in an all enclusive resort.

Helpful?
3 Thank Christy840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    266
    114
    58
    50
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beyond Paradise”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

It is a wide beach and white white sand, the water is tourquise and it's incredibly picturesque. We parked where some locals park on the far end (east end) and the bottom steps were washed away from the hurricane. We did have to jump down 3/4 feet to beach. Everyone is walking with a conch shell that they found. When i went hardly anyone was there, had beach to ourselves, but surf was a bit wicked from aftermath of Hurricane Sandy, so we couldn't properly go for a swim...more like a quick dip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LJA_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An ideal beach”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Postcard beach, white sand, blue ocean.
Free public access.

Things to note;
-a few (10-15) locals trying to promote and sell water sports etc (polite and do not overbear). Paragliding, wave runners, massage tables, drinks on beach etc
-some seaweed floating and on shore in parts. (Really not a big issue in my view, though my Gf got creeped out at times )
-waves and currents strong the day I was there (November - week after hurricane sandy)
-crowds near main entrance but plenty of room after a walk down beach to quiet parts.
-$10 taxi ride from centre of Nassau (plus $1 bridge toll). Lots of taxis waiting to take you back in evening.

Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Easy to find”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I stumbled across Cabbage Beach when we were in port for our cruise. We took a water ferry over to Paradise Island from Nassau and very easily walked to the beach. The water ferry was $4 per person, each way.

We walked pass the Atlantis resort, pass the Sheraton (I think it was the Sheraton at least), and turned down a side road that had a little sign that said "Beach <--". It was probably a 20 minute walk from the ferry, but we weren't trying to walk fast or hurry.

The beach was beautiful. We were offered beverages in a coconut, a massage, and beach chairs, which we declined but appreciated the offer. The sand was super soft, it wasn't too crowded, and we didn't have to pay to sit on the sand and soak up the sites.

If you don't want to walk there were quite a few taxis that stopped to ask us if we needed a lift. We felt very safe the whole time we were there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank chinchillafiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlehurst
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Blue Waters”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

It was a little steep going down to it.They were real helpful getting chairs and umbrella and finding a place to set everything. Even had a massage for only $30. We took taxi Taxi from Senior Frog was only $4 a person. Had a wonderful time!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank countryboy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabbage Beach also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Cabbage Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing