We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the Caribbean we see in pictures....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabbage Beach

Cabbage Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Nassau Bahamas Highlights Tour
Ranked #15 of 123 things to do in Nassau
Attraction details
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This is the Caribbean we see in pictures....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Clean white sand and crystal waters!

We use the public access furthest away from Atlantis on Paradise Island (near PI Beach Club).

Very steep staircase leading to the beach but worth it when you get there!

Occasionally there has been a bar/refreshment stall set up at the bottom of the steps but seemingly on weekends during high season or public holidays. Don't rely on it though - we take our own snacks/refreshments.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cerddinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    237
    106
    53
    47
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice local beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We didn't go in the water so can't comment on the current but it didn't look to bad watching the swimmers. The beach had some trash but was decent for a public beach. Nice soft sand. Violas at Sunside is nice to grab a drink. Fairly easy to get to. Not as nice as Atlantis beaches but we didn't expect it to be. It's a local public beach.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Santorini06252009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, little bit of everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a great beach that is just the right amount of touristy, but not over the top. There are restaurants, vendors selling their wares, bars, massage tables, jet ski rentals, banana boat rides. I recommend this to friends coming in on cruises rather than expensive, overpriced excursions. Take a cab from the cruise ship terminal and catch one back. Great way to spend the day and would recommend this over Junkanoo Beach.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank LivinginNassau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Go as far east as you can for more privacy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We first found this beach after walking as far as we could around Paradise Island, before coming to the gated community, into which we could not enter. The "locals" enter Cabbage Beach through an alleyway that appears to be private and associated with a beach club. However, it seems that they are just trying to make it appear private, even though it is actually public access. You need to park near the Paradise Island Beach Club on Ocean Club Drive to find the alleyway. There is lots of street parking if you are driving, but watch out for the private parking as well, which is clearly marked. The actually beach is huge and quiet, but the waves are rough and we would be nervous about a child or weak swimmer going there. The most unpleasant part of Cabbage Beach is the section that is closer to Atlantis. The area if rift with taxi cab drivers and souvenir hawkers and the vibe is a bit sleazy. If you are willing/able to go a bit further into the surrounding neighborhood, it is worth it to find more privacy. Note: no services and no food on this beach.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank skytre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great beach for swimming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

There are lots of sunbeds available but parasols are charged for. The sea can be a little rough, so it's not great for snorkelling but super for swimming and water sports. There are jetbikes, kayaks and banana boats at a charge plus parascending. Traditional arts and crafts are sold there and you can have an amazing foot massage from Big John for around $40.00 (well worth it) After my foot massage, I didn't think I had feet anymore; they were on Cloud Nine! The beach is clean and tidy. Drink sellers are around but they are not obtrusive and nor are the sellers. Calmer snorkelling areas are within the Atlantis as they have built coves so the waves don't stir up the sand too much so we found it much clearer. If you're looking for a booze cruise, use James Brown's boat the Majestic 2 (I think) it starts around noon with collection from the hotel and then after snorkelling near the coral reefs, lunch is provided; chicken and ribs with rice and peas, free drinks for the entire voyage. The cruise stops at a small beach for around thirty minutes and for an additional charge watersport activities are offered. Then it's back onto the boat for more free drinks and a cruise along the coast, arriving back around five pm.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazz001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabbage Beach also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Cabbage Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing