We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Time”
Review of Junkanoo Beach

Junkanoo Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Full-Day Water Sports Package at Junkanoo Beach
Ranked #12 of 124 things to do in Nassau
Attraction details
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun Time”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Advantages:
Can go without booking
Only cost is chair rental for I think $5 each
Friendly atmosphere
Beautiful beach
Disadvantages:
Lots of solicitation
expensive food/drinks and not included of course
must pay for round trip transportation and wait on it (which took like 15 minutes after we wanted to leave)
get crowded quickly!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lacye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    536
    363
    99
    47
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Beach”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I went on a cruise for our honeymoon, and we didn't want to spend a fortune on the islands, so after doing many days and nights of research I came upon this beach, and let me just say I LOVE THIS BEACH! It was awesome. It was a nice walk to the beach from the port. You get to see the life of Nassau locals, and it was just beautiful. Upon arrival we noticed a sign that said "3 Beers & 3 Shots for $9.99" OMG, that is WAY better than on the ship so that's where we stopped first. The locals were very welcoming and nice, and it was a great experience. After purchasing our drinks we looked for a place to sit. The area near the "bars" were pretty crowded, but if you keep walking you will find beautiful white sand with barely anybody around. The water was beautiful and inviting. We stayed there basically the whole time on the island. The best part about the beach is it is absolutely FREE! No hidden costs.. nothing! I recommend everybody come to this beach for a fun inexpensive time on the island.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BahamaaMamaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
748 reviews
592 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 712 helpful votes
“January might not be a month for the beach”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We arrived in the port of Nassau on a very windy January day with some showers pending. We had a beach excursion planned, but no one in our group wanted to go into the water as the air was chilly (74 degrees) and the water even chillier. Since the wind had churned up the water at the shoreline, it looked milky...conditions that barracuda like we were told. The waves were also quite strong at the shoreline. When it began to rain we definitely decided to head back to the van and that was the end to our discovery of the beach waters in Nassau. Too bad as the white sandy beach against the water color would have looked very inviting had it been a sunny day.

The van drove past Junkanoo Beach on the way back to the cruise ship. This beach certainly was a place that the locals use with lots of local eateries. The feel was definitely "island like". This beach also had lots of soft white sand. Back from the shoreline, along the road, vegetation provided some shade. This beach which is open to the public seemed to be right next door to the Hilton's which would require a day's pass for cruisers to use. What would be nice about the Hilton beach is that Hilton's clients use it so it would not be that crowded. Plus a day's pass gives you access to their loungers and facilities. Hilton's beach is just a bit closer to the port, too. The distance from the port is a short walk away. By not committing yourself to a beach activity, you are more flexible on what you can do when in port on a stormy, showery day.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank retireeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice laid back local beach near cruise port.”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

If you're looking for a beach within walking distance of the cruise port in Nassau then this is the beach for you. Nice laid back vibe going on with a few beach shack bars selling all sorts of libations. There was a new-ish stage there the last time I went with a small band playing. There are also public restrooms.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aragon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great beach within walking distance from cruise port”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I figured out we should utilize the kids club on our cruise and we could have some adult time. We wanted to go somewhere within walking distance. You walk right by Senor Frogs on the way to Junkanoo beach. I wanted a t-shirt so with that purchase they gave us a coupon for a buy one get one margarita, we took advantage of this. Then, we finished walking to the beach, it's not a long walk, maybe 15 minutes or so. There was a Fat Tuesdays right beside the beach, the guy let us sample all the flavors of frozen drinks. We just walked up, found a nice place in the sand & enjoyed the beautiful view. You can take awesome pictures of the lighthouse from here. Yes, there was some broken glass (we didn't wear shoes & we were fine), but the sand was pretty cool. It was made up more of broken shells & coral, different than other beaches. There are not enough words to describe the water, it was great, which most of it is in the Bahamas. We had a wonderful time here & will definitely go back. It's free, within walking distance & beautiful, you can't ask for much more than that!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVEtheBEACH0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junkanoo Beach also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Junkanoo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing