We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed”
Review of Junkanoo Beach

Junkanoo Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Full-Day Water Sports Package at Junkanoo Beach
More Info
$58.96*
and up
3-Hour Cultural Scavenger Hunt and Game Tour in Nassau
Ranked #14 of 123 things to do in Nassau
Attraction details
Hialeah, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

They're doing construction and it is barren. Most of the shacks are empty. There was a massage place open and two places for refreshment. I had heard so much and read so much I was disappointed. God's grace, peace, light, and love to you. In Jesus' Service Doreen ✞ ✞ ✞

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nestelluggybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    549
    382
    103
    50
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome public beach”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have been to Nassau 2 other times but this was the first time we went to this beach. Took about 10-15 minutes from the cruise boat. You will pass a dunkin donuts and a mcdonalds on the way. Nice crushed shell beach. Super clear water. Nice and flat when we went no waves. Bring snorkel gear, we seen schools of pompano and blue runners. Seen 3ft barracudas, some tiny little puffer fish, a stingray and tiny blue and yellow fish. You will be asked about getting your hair braided but say no and she leaves you alone. Did not use the bathrooms. You can rent chairs but just bring the towels from the cruise ship. I will go back to this beach again if its a port our cruise goes to. My kids 9 and 11 didn't want to leave even after 3 hours of snorkeling there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank LouLu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Junkanoo beach bar and grill is the best!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Junkanoo beach is a short walk from the cruise port. It is small but clean, safe and easy to get to. You can even bring your snorkeling gear and check out the tropical fish swimming right off shore. While there isn’t a reef there is still a lot to see! We go there every time we are here and our trip is never complete until we stop at the little yellow hut called Junkanoo beach bar and grill for some drinks and GREAT jerk chicken. Richard does a great job on the grill. The prices are great the views are spectacular and the people are friendly. So next time you are in Nassau make sure to stop by the little yellow hut and get the jerk chicken.... we do!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, georgia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Free public beach within walking distance to city sights.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Great addition to a day of sightseeing, museums, and shopping. Take a break here to swim and have a drink and then walk a little farther down for lunch. This is a good beach to spend a few hours but is by no means a resort type beach.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingbrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Lovely free beach close to the cruise”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We walked bay street and shoppped. Got to the beach, sat down. Move farther down. Do not stay by the bar. Whatever it is, like a margaritaville. Glass there and none farther down. Such a difference. Sat by the area where the local boys run and jump off the pier into the water. There are also huts that sell beer and food. Bring a towel they do not rent chairs. The chicken was unbelieveable!! Jerk chicken $5! Small but enough for the 4 of us for a snack b4 going back to the ship. Also tried the beer stand 3 beers and 3 bahama mama shots for $10. Noone selling anything walking around! Could see the cruise ships in port from there very close!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank jpinj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junkanoo Beach also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Junkanoo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing