We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach”
Review of Junkanoo Beach

Junkanoo Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Full-Day Water Sports Package at Junkanoo Beach
Ranked #13 of 123 things to do in Nassau
Attraction details
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The waters at this beach were amazing and calm. The people at the seaside shops were super friendly and the local food was delicious. Can't wait to go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    545
    373
    101
    48
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was ok and free.”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

After being stranded by a no show on our Bahamas Segway tour, we walked to the beach. We met a lady leaving who said, "watch out there is broken glass everywhere." We did see several pieces of broken glass on the beach but the water was clear and the sun was bright and it was a cheap way to spend the day in Nassau.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jc45_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but hurts your feet”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Water was calm, beautiful.. But it was rocky and lots of broken glass. Homeless onlookers.. Wear shoes and enjoy the visit!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank flygirls2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
167 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pretty local”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We went to the tourist beach the first time around and it was crowded but beautiful and had a lot of things to do aka purchase but we decided to stay local and explore the area on our own so we decided to come here. It was pretty local, you won't find many tourist in the area. The beach is beautiful and the color is breathtaking. The had side area were many trees stood and a lot of the leaves and other things were there so be careful if you want the shade because there a lot of glass and leaves and other things that might injure you. The site of the ported cruiseships was pleasant. They have shopping areas around so enjoy it if you ever get hot or bored, but be careful because the stuff is quite expensive.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beach_swimmer_tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you're the picky type, go to your private island. If you want to walk to the beach from the cruise ship, listen to rasta music while sipping a freshly-made coconut drink or Kalik, and interact with the locals, this beach is paradise. We've been paying through the nose for Carnival excursions and ran across these reviews about this beach and decided to give it a try last week. My wife had the time of her life and we enjoyed it so much that we're jumping on a disney cruise with our daughter and her hubby in 3 months just to return to Junkanoo Beach. My recommendation is to hang out at the Junkanoo Beach Bar and Grill "hut" and get some jerk chicken from the guy at the smoker grill and get him to chop off the top of a coconut for you so the hut tender can blend up a nice rum drink for you. Glass on the beach? I specifically looked for it because I'd read about that here before the trip and found none. My wife said she saw one piece. Rocky? The Bahamas is a limestone shelf...duh. This is a public beach and they aren't going to rake it for you. I had no trouble at this free beach but hurt my left foot the following day at Peterson Cay after paying through the nose again for an excursion. Just wear water shoes. Bathrooms? Looked fine from the outside but had too much fun to remember to go inside and look. A storm came and we had to run so never had to go while there.

Attempting to link my pictures...
https://www.box.com/s/64elk52sr6jksrum05te

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junkanoo Beach also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Junkanoo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing