We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best relaxed fun filled environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Junkanoo Beach

Junkanoo Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Full-Day Water Sports Package at Junkanoo Beach
Ranked #11 of 123 things to do in Nassau
Attraction details
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best relaxed fun filled environment”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My friend and I took the bus that was heading out to cable beach, then we saw Junkanoo and we got off the bus, at first the beach was semi empty but we could see food houses, bathrooms and the jammin started, so we headed up to join the fun, the Locals treated us very well, enjoyed local foods and beer in buckets! We are going back this March and yep..we will head straight to Junkanoo beach..hoping to re-connect with some local bahamia friends we made that day last year! Many families playing in the water and enjoying the fun filled air...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Cindi Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    525
    353
    91
    45
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cocoa fl
Level Contributor
114 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nice beach walking distance to cruise ships”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a perfectly nice beach that you can walk to from the cruise ships. It is NOT one of the private resort beaches but it is perfectly nice, When we were there it was clean, a bit crowded but no worse than a busy day on the beach in Florida...The turquoise water is crystal clear, the sand is white, it is quite lovely. Drinks are in shacks behind you...There were a few strolling beach vendors but NOTHING like what we have experienced in latin america and south america. We parked ourselves in the middle of this area...the vibe at the end further from the cruise ships seemed a little sketchier (we walked down that way when we were done swimming)...and closest to the cruise ships it was a little rowdier. Do keep an eye on your stuff...we did not have any problems but know to keep an eye on our bags even when we are in the water--on ANY beach in ANY country...and don't have anything really costly with you.This area exceeded my expectations in both cleanliness and safety

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank taylorbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go To Paradise Island Instead”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This beach is near the port and convenient. Most people could walk here rather than paying a cab $20 to take you. Thing is, the beach is a little close to a shady part of town and you'll be accosted by a bunch of kids trying to sell you stuff. They don't like to take no for an answer. The beach itself is okay, but nothing special.
Do yourself a favor and go to Paradise Island where Atlantis is. It's touristy, but the beach is very clean, beautiful, and relaxing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mcm0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We saw a couple get robbed.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The couple was in the water with their things laid out on a towel on the beach. Two suspicious guys came up and snatched their bag and then ran off. The policeman who saw this did nothing, not even a report. It is a nice beach, you should be mindful of your things when coming here. It is on the outskirts of downtown Nassau and the populated hotel area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Junkanoo Beach”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Junkanoo Beach is a beach that is frequented by tourists and locals. Locals man drink and food shacks. We visited on a Sunday afternoon and there were many local families swimming and playing on the beach. The beach was nice, but definitely not as clean a beach as you would find adjacent to the Atlantis. Junkanoo Beach is close to some of the older hotels in Nassau.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junkanoo Beach also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Junkanoo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing