We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and tasty”

Frankie Gone Bananas
Ranked #53 of 286 Restaurants in Nassau
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Port Washington, New York
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Authentic and tasty”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Authentic Bahamian cooking at a fair price with a nice view of the Harbor. On the far right side of the Arawak Cat Fish Fry, be sure to also enjoy some Bahamian cocktails from Durie Smith's bar

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichBrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    105
    58
    16
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broomall, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Down Home Bahamian Cooking!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

If you want true Bahamian food you must go to the Fish Fry. Although I thought it was 1 place until our cabbie cleared that all up for me. It is a chain of restaurants called Fish Fry. We choose Frankie Gone Bananas because a lot of locals we spoke to Highly recommended this particular place. The Mahi Mahi was succulent, a must try !!

Helpful?
1 Thank DiGi2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good local food”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Authentic Bahamian fare. I had the whole grilled snapper with plantains and veggies--delicious! The margaritas were small for the price ($10), but yummy. Service was solid.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank atlpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent Bahamian food”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

If you can't get in to Twin Brothers, go here. Their fish fry and conch dishes are excellent. Sit upstairs on the outdoor balcony, sip from frozen cocktais and people watch, well worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced and mediocre service”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Prior to stopping in Nassau as part of a Carnival cruise, my husband and I researched places to eat. Based on reviews, we went to the "Fish Fry" area. We thought Fish Fry was the name of the restaurant, but found out it was actually an AREA where many different restaurants/food trailers sell conch, seafood, etc. We finally chose Frankie's because it had a restroom, was large, and was right on the water. Neither of us had ever tried conch so that was a "must". The meals were pricey (mostly $25-$30) for a quick lunch, so we selected two appetizers - conch fritters and conch salad. Both were large portions and pretty good, although we have nothing to compare it to. The service was pretty slow, and because we had asked for air-conditioning we were seated in a small room upstairs where the only light was from the windows. Not great ambience for sure. As for that restroom they were so proud of....one unisex toilet (and NOT air-conditioned).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbsbabygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie Gone Bananas also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Frankie Gone Bananas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing