We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Arawak Cay
from $85.00
More Info
from $33.60
More Info
from $257.00
More Info
from $150.00
More Info
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveler rating
249
237
82
26
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
237
82
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish fry conch salad oh andros cracked conch sky juice bahamian cuisine local fare local flavor kalik beer fries junkanoo beach taxi driver cruise terminal paradise island brothers twin frankie
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 610 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arawak Cay is a small spit of land off of Bay Avenue slightly west of downtown Nassau. There are many variations of Bahamian foods, especially seafood, and tropical drinks sold from colorful beach shacks. Both locals and tourists like this area so we are told. Most places are open from noon until midnight. There is plenty of parking, but the local bus system serves the area during daytime hours.

Thank CyndyandByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

Just beware of the folks trying to lure you in, they get commissions for getting you into the restaurants. The food is all great, just pick on your own accord, don't let them choose for you.

1  Thank raquelburtonesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

This place is remarkable!! Bright colorful clapboard buildings, great Bahamian food and drinks. Crack Conch, fry fish, coconut water and more to enjoy!! A must visit to experience Bahamian cuisine, culture and people!

Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018

No matter how much I tried to like this place (went there twice) unfortunately I did not feel safe there. I would not recommend to hang out in this place unless you have male companion with you. I've been catcalled every time walked around by drunk locals.

3  Thank NinkiNini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

This is a great place to go for the experience and try daiquiris and sky juice and conch fritters and some great Bahamian food in general many differently places to try

Thank Leonie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2018

This is an area of "local restaurants and bars although i use the term loosely as they are really drink dispensing outlets rather than Bars. You can get some very nice reasonably priced food in some of the cafe/restaurants but be warned it gets extremely busy especially when the passengerships are in. The good ones stand out because they are usually full and a lot of the customers are local. Try the sky juice that its well known for.

3  Thank lester p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2018

Visited Arawak everyday we were there, great food, good prices, a must during your stay, better than hotel food for sure.

2  Thank JonnyN_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018

A must-do in the Bahamas. It's like Mardi Gras Bahamian style. Very cool and authentic. Worth the trip!

2  Thank missmoe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2018

We stayed at Comfort Suites and the Fish Fry was a must on our bucket list. We shared a taxi with a family of 4 who were going to go to KFC for a late dinner. We talked them into going to the Fish Fry. We didn't get to ask the family if they liked it because we took a different taxi back to the hotel, but we really enjoyed it. There are so many restaurants to choose from and although some of them were a bit pushy about you coming to their place, most were not. I'm not sure if all of the restaurants accept cash only or credit cards. We went to Oh Andros and they were cash only.

I have seen reviews where posters say that it is unsafe there after dark but we never had a bit of trouble. We didn't stay long enough to check out the entire area, but we will certainly go back the next time.

2  Thank Coral D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2018

This place is dangerous past 5 PM. Most people are drunk by 5 PM. The restaurant solicitor's are pushy and rude. Food is average at best.

4  Thank Emil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews