We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
SLS Baha Mar(Nassau)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,415)
Filter reviews
9,415 results
Traveler rating
5,132
2,243
1,008
572
460
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,132
2,243
1,008
572
460
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrystal roombutler servicewindsor buildingwindsor poolroyal cafebutler suiterolls royceour honeymooncricketers pubstew fishred lane spapiano barspices restaurantbutler guestscandlelight dinnerquiet poolglass of champagne
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8,455 - 8,460 of 9,415 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2006

My husband and I stayed at Sandals July 10-15, 2006 for our honeymoon and enjoyed every minutes of it! Ignore all the bad reviews, you can't please everyone, but it is the best trip I have ever taken. There are plenty of excursions (at an extra cost) to keep you busy if you choose, but it's a great place to do alot of relaxing and laying in the sun as well. you can get involved in all kinds of resort activities with other guests, or find a place to just relax as a couple if you wish. The food was amazing!!! I think I gained 5 pounds while I was there, our favorite was the Crystal Room. Amazing food, great service! Make sure you book dinner reservations as soon as you arrive. 3 of the 8 restaurants require reservations and we waited until day 2 to try and book and they were full all week, so we didn't get to try Baccarat or the island restaurant. We also really enjoyed Kimonos, great atmosphere, lots of fun, be prepared to sing-a-long there. The staff was so friendly! They will great you everytime they walk by and very accomodating and willing to help with whatever they can. Always refilling drinks and food. Make sure to visit Keno in the piano bar, very funny guy! We also loved Shavon, the photographer, very friendly! We went to the staw market a couple days to bargain for souveniers, interesting place. We took the ferry to Paradise Island to see Atlantis, too big of a resort for us, it takes way to long to get from point A to point B, but a great place to see with your own eyes, it's incredible!! We went to the nightly shows at Sandals, comedy, magician, honeymooners night, fire dancers and limbo show, we enjoyed them. We tried sailing for the first time too, wish an instructor would have come with us, they teach you the how to's for 30 minutes or so then send you out on your own. We didn't make it far, I was scared of becoming shark bait so I made my husband turn us back around. The grounds are incredible, beautiful landscaping, flowers, trees, etc. The pools are awesome, lots of room, both large ones have swim up bars. Plenty of beds at the beach, but we occasionally had trouble finding a bed at poolside, so lay your stuff out early if you want to find a bed later in the day. We had a mini bar in the room that was filled daily. Accomodations were great. Large room with a beautiful 4-poster king size bed. We were in Frangpani which was one of the village rooms,, like a cabin with 2 rooms in it. we had a patio with a nice view of the pool area, but it was still private enough that we did't feel out in the open. We loved the resort, had a great trip and would definately recommend staying there. It was a great honeymoon!! Lots of other honeymooners, but ages ranged from 20's to 70's there. Lots of fun, lots to do! We also tried the Majestic Lady dinner cruise, the food and set up of the boat we awful, but there was a good show and nice view of the harbor around Paradise Island, it was about a 3 hour cruise. I woulnd't recommend it though, not for $55/person. Everything else was wonderful, you will enjoy it!!!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank tara246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lancaster, PA
18
Reviewed July 14, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Sandals Royal Bahamian on our honeymoon from February 21-28. We had a perfect week! Our room was gorgeous with a beautiful view of the ocean and Sandals Cay. It was always kept immaculately clean by housekeeping and the bar and mini-fridge were always kept fully stocked without us having to ask!

The restaurants are all wonderful and there is something to appeal to everyone's taste. I would recommend caling the concierge on your first day there to book reservations at the restaurants that require them as they tend to fill up quickly. We arrived on a Tuesday and couldn't get reservations at Baccarat until Sunday night, but it was well worth the wait. All of the food is delicious and I can't say enough about the friendliness of the staff. They are all so friendly and happy to help or answer questions.

The beach is beautiful as are all of the pools. Actually, the whole resort is beautiful and kept up vey nicely. Very clean! Watersports such as kayaking or jet-skiing are free so take advantage of that! Our favorite thing to do was to go to the nightly piano bar sing-alongs. Dwight (the pianist) knows just about every song ever written and everybody always had a great time at the sing alongs! I would highly recommend this esort to anybody. We had a great time and would love to go back every year!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2006

My husband and I went to Sandals to celebrate his 70th birthday. Although 75% of the guests were honeymooners and younger couples, we did not feel out of place. In fact, our only complaint was the quality of the nightlife. But I'll talk about that later. We arrived to rain but after checking in, they directed us to one of their restaurants while we waited for our room. We quickly ordered a Bahama Mama and ate from the buffet and relaxed. Our room was beautiful--four poster bed, large bathroom with our own robes, fully stocked wet bar and a patio overlooking a tropical garden. We could see the ocean and pool in the distance. We had paid extra to be in the Windsor Bldg. and initially were disappointed not to have a poolside or oceanfront room. But we found our location was quiet and peaceful and were glad to be just where they placed us. We stayed seven nights and the time flew by. We ate in all the restaurants. The Crystal Room was our favorite--luxurious with great food. We also enjoyed Kimonos. But overall, we liked all the restaurants. We didn't have one bad meal. In fact, I gained seven pounds and they were well worth it. While we were there, we lounged by the pool, snorkeled off the beach and along the offshore island, went to all the shows offered, danced to their regular band and relaxed as we never have before. We took a trip to the nearby casino which was okay but not our cup of tea. We also took a trip into Nassau to the Straw Market. We found a few souvenirs but made most of our purchases from a lady working off the beach. She made amazing jewelry at a reasonable price. We were very impressed with the personnel working there. They treated everyone like royalty. They were helpful and friendly. The hotel personnel here in the States could learn from this experience on how to treat people. We aren't drinkers per se but found ourselves sampling all the tropical drinks offered at the poolside and other bars. The drinks were good and strong but we never found ourselves inebriated. They just helped add to our relaxed state of mind. Our only complaint has to be the quality of the nightlife. We were expecting to stay up late and dance. The DJ that started playing after 11pm catered to the younger crowd--a lot of rap music which we couldn't dance to. The nights the band played, we were able to dance. The band was adequate although the one male vocalist we heard was horrible. A few drinks solved that problem. There was a very funny comedian and an entertaining musician. I really felt for the price that they could have had better entertainment and a better nightlife. We did have one bad experience which we didn't find out about until we got home. We bought 25 postcards and made them out the first day we were there. We were told that they didn't sell stamps and to bring them to the front desk where for $1 each, they would make sure they were mailed for us. To this date (almost two months later), not one of the postcards has reached its destination. We feel our $25 was pocketed and the postcards discarded. It seems the only explanation.
Overall, our Sandals experience was wonderful. We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2006

We stayed at Sandals Royal Bahamian between May 7 and May 12, 2006. After staying at several other Sandals Resorts 8 times in the past, we were delighted to find that this Sandals was all that we had hoped it would be and more. The grounds are beautiful and the 2 main pools were huge with plenty of seating and room to move around. The playmakers were attentive, however not too pushy. The food was wonderful… a step above all the other Sandals we have visited. I highly recommend this resort, whether you are looking to just sit back and relax, sightsee, gamble, shop, or all of the above

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nanfar525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
UK
114
Reviewed July 10, 2006

We booked the 'Royal Bahamian' for our honeymoon as we had been to Sandals Antigua and were Signature Guests. We booked and paid for a St James Suite - very disappointing - and no mention of an upgradewhen we complained about the view and general poor state of the room. Many reviews say they were upgraded to these suites after they paid the basic price - we were not offered an alternative despite paying the full price . We paid for an 'ocean view' which was only achievable if we looked over an apartment block ! The concierge was very unhelpful about the room and did not assist us with booking the 'reserved restaurants' Apparently these can only be visited on one occcasion and at the times chosen by the concierge. We were married on the Bahamas and wanted to have a special meal that evening - the concierge said ther was no space at the restaurants for the evening of our marriage.
Thus we were very disappointed and would not recommend this resort. It needs updating and atttention paid to the restaurant arangements. Our meal at Spices had to be returned twice as the food was cold and the steaks tough. Two days later it was closed! The beach is very small and not enough sunshades. Sadly we felt let down by Sandals and do not consider it to be a 5* resort.

Stayed: June 2006
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews