We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Incredible Stay”
Reviewed April 14, 2009

More information can be found on www.traveltheories.com
We spent our honeymoon here in August 2006. This is an adult, couples-only, all-inclusive resort, and the guests were almost exclusively couples on their honeymoon or celebrating an anniversary. As explained in our orientation, Sandals has a sister chain of resorts, Beaches, for those couples once they start families.

A great bonus to booking with Sandals is a free transfer to the airport, and the resort has plenty of shuttles, so there is little or no wait to leave the airport. Upon arrival at the resort, we were greeted with champagne, a little gift bag of shampoo and lotion, and a schedule of available activities for the week. Tips are included, and the staff is not allowed to accept them, so you can just put your wallet in the safe and forget about it all week. We stayed in a Royal Village Luxury room with a garden view. It was not one of the more expensive rooms, but it was nice to walk out into lush gardens, and we were only a minute’s walk away from the breakfast buffet.

The food was absolutely delicious. I highly recommend the duck at the Baccarat and the entertainment at Kimonos. Dinner is formal at most of the restaurants, with the women usually wearing dresses and the men wearing business casual (a little dressier than the khakis and polo shirt you can get away with at other resorts). At least one restaurant is open at all times, with Cricketers Pub being the late night option.

For the most part, we relaxed in the pools and had drinks at the swim up bars. However, there were a number of activities available and for the most part no pressure from the staff to take part. We played beach volleyball, went to a comedy show, and took advantage of the free tour to the Bacardi plant. The tour was a only a short bus ride away, consisted of about 15 minutes of actual explanation of the rum-making process, and ended with all the free samples you could want, including a delicious banana rum in a frozen strawberry drink.

Overall, we had a wonderful time at Sandals and enjoyed just the right amount of sun, pools, activities, and food. I cannot wait until my next Sandals experience.

Summary

Favorite things about this resort: romantic atmosphere, great food, Bacardi tour.

Least favorite things: getting called up on stage during the comedy show.

Recommendations: Check the forecast carefully before scheduling. We got great prices by going during hurricane season, but Sandals no longer offers the guarantee of a new vacation if a hurricane hits as it did when we were there. Fortunately, we only ran into a few hours of rain that happened to coincide with the first Saturday of the football season, so we were able to watch our game and then get back outside.

If possible, avoid scheduling your flight with US Airways. It felt like a second class flight the entire time, and there is nothing quite like watching your belongings spill out all over the baggage claim carousel because the baggage handlers decided to tear apart your bags (yes, those are footprints on the bags in the pictures).

Ratings (10-point scale):

Room 7
Pools 9
Food 9
Cleanliness 10
Service 10
Activities 9
Overall 9

www.traveltheories.com

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelTheories23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,611
    2,002
    888
    493
    393
See reviews for
206
6,643
23
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,970)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
westchester, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

When I read some of the negative reviews I was a bit concerned that we had made a mistake. Not so! It was the best all inclusive vacation ever. We arrived early in the morning and the welcoming staff had a cold towel (wouldn't want a hot one) and a drink ready as we came into the lobby area. We were told to enjoy our lunch and take advantage of the beautiful day. We had our bathing suits packed in a carry on and enjoyed the beautiful beach and pool. It was not crowded and there are plenty of lounge chairs but the pool can get crowded early so we just put our towels on a chair and went for breakfast. The off shore island is beautiful, a bit rocky on the north side but the south side was sandy. Beautiful zen garden, pool and restaurant on island. There were some sand fleas on the off shore island but the Insecticide worked well. Back at the main beach it was busy with sailing, kayaking, glass bottom boat/snorkeling boat,- inclusive. Jet skies were extra $- all of which kept us entertained. It was windy the day we reserved the snorkeling boat so the trip was canceled and we had to leave the next day but heard it was fun.
Speaking of entertainment- great- jazz music, shows in the lounge, entertainment at the fire pits, limbo/fire show, etc.
The food at the 8 restaurants was very good. My favorites were Kimonos, Crystal room and Casanova but the others were very good too. All top shelf drinks too. Bartenders are sweet and funny.
The whole staff was just wonderful and treated us like a king and queen.
Everything, pools, public bathrooms, beaches were spotless and every morning the staff would be raking and cleaning up the beach. 5 days ended too soon but I am already thinking about my Sandals vacation for next year.
To Sandals- terrific job. A++

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waterandsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

What you might expect from a 4 star. They seem to specialize in weddings but this is not intrusive. The island - Sandals Cay- is a very pleasant and more quiet retreat if you don't like the busier poolside atmosphere.We enjoyed the Hobie-cats even though the Sunfish boats advertised in their brochure do not exist. The history of the "Balmoral Club" is still apparent around the Manor/Piano Bar -if you are interested.The staff seem generally and genuinely pleasant.
The wrinkle- our last night -dinner at Cafe Goombay on the cay. Waitress pours my wife white "wine" from a half full bottle and then freezes. She says the wine doesn't look right.My wife sips and confirms it's water.Waitress brings back another glass of wine which tastes full strength.
Now why would the staff half fill an empty wine bottle with water.? This waterdowned our experience and impression a bit. It was our last night - we didn't pursue it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2009

We have just returned from a lovely week at Sandals Royal Bahamian (March 28- April 4), flying WestJet direct from Calgary (wonderful). We were very hopeful that the recent negative reviews were wrong- they were! Keep in mind that Bahamas is a very expensive destination , which I believe is much the reason many people expect more for the price you pay. We loved out entire stay there, however, we found a few minor things that could be improved upon to live up to the Sandals standards.

We have traveled to several all inclusive, “Adults Only” throughout the Caribbean, and we found this resort to be comparable. One previous reviewer mentioned the Excellence Punta Cana, a resort we have also been to. The only difference between the two resorts in our opinion was the drink/food service around the beach & pool which was better at Excellence. However, Dominican Republic is a very poor country and you do get more “bang for your buck”. We encountered many of the same concerns throughout many of our other trips as we did at Sandals (towels, dinner reservations, mini bars, preferential service at bars, non-heated pools in the winter).

The hotel itself is stunning. We never found it was “tired” looking as many previous reviewers have mentioned. The décor is British Colonial, which may seem outdated to some, but we thought the whole atmosphere and décor was charming. The gardens and fountains are stunning. We loved the Manor side, the side of the old Balmoral Beach hotel. The lobby and piano bar area provided many historical documents, which added to the charm of the property.

This resort is listed as non-smoking resort, in fact we found many people around smoking - even rude ones who would butt their cigarettes & leave them on the sides of hot tubs/pools. Not pleasant for us non-smokers.

We visited several public bathrooms on the property, all were very clean. The ladies room in the Windsor pool area (under the Royal Lounge) was beautiful., and completely automatic. They had benches to sit or put any items down on.

Twice throughout the week, artisans set up shop in the Cassanova Terrace. There is also a shack beside the watersports hut that sells souvenirs. Because the beaches are public, you may find these beach vendors asking you to look at their wares. We would just say “thank you, not today” and they would leave us alone.

Check-In: We arrived with several other couples, given sheets to fill out and had to wait until everyone was checked in and then we were all taken to the Windsor building together. Quiet frustrating to wait when all we wanted to do was change and eat. Although this did give us a chance to get acquainted with several couples from our flight whom we continued to make friends with throughout the week. You are required to give your credit card for any room charges (normal practice for any resort) and said there would be a $400 deposit charged however, no deposit charges were ever made on our credit card. Sandals is a “cashless” resort- even for the gift shop, you can only charge your room or your credit card.

Room: We were in Winsor Building , 1427 (4th floor facing Cable Beach Manor Apartments). We loved our room, clean, decorated in a colonial elegant fashion. Two separate seating areas and a lovely balcony. We had requested a oceanview room, which we received. We did overlook the parking lot/apartments next door, with an oceanview in the distance we knew this would be the case due to our previous travels in the same room categories. Should you want a full frontal view of the ocean, we would suggest booking an oceanfront or beachfront room. Beware if you are in the Windsor Building facing the pool/Cricketer’s Pub, the Pub, your view might be better but the party goes on until very late and night and I would think the loud music would hinder sleep/relaxation. Bar/Fridge was full of pop, juice, water, beer, red & white wine & champagne & stocked with vodka, rum, scotch and gin. Clean towels in our room was never a problem. When we wanted the room towels changed, we simply put the dirty ones in the tub. If you leave them hanging, they won’t replace them as to conserve the environment, as per typical practice in all large hotels. Our room was always made up by the time we got back to our room in the late afternoon (4:00-5:00).

Concierge Service: We visited the concierge almost daily requesting things for the mini bar (water, beer), or to change restaurant reservations. Once we even requested an extra bed sheet as we had had a spa service which taught us how to massage each other and were given massage oils to practice, didn‘t want to lay down on the bed and get massage oil all over it. Each request was filled within ½ hour. The concierge is at the entrance to the building, each time we entered the building we were greeted by the concierge on duty.

Pool/Beach: The beach is rather small, but absolutely stunning. There are many chairs anytime of the day we went down. They are working on the beach on the Manor side which in previous reviews people have found to be frustrating. However, they only seem to work during the am and take several long breaks throughout this. If there are weddings the work is stopped and machinery is well hidden. Should you be close to the machinery, and it is working, use this time to listen to your Ipod.

The water temperature of the ocean seemed to vary from day to day, even on the warmest day was like an Alberta lake in the summer (cool). We enjoyed our daily swims. Both Windsor and Manor pools are beautiful. We spent most of our time on the Windsor side. Again, the temperature varied from day to day, but the pool was swimable.

There were always chairs around the pool, getting chairs was never a problem whenever we arrived. There are about 25-30 chairs down the dock area. We never saw any of these being used. Many of the chairs immediately around the pools or under umbrellas were saved by butlers for guests (until 11 am), However, if there is just a rolled up towel on the chair with no name this is a service the pool staff has provided, help yourself to the chair & towel. We never had any problems with our pool towels- we always kept our towels overnight to ensure we had one in the am. We kept an eye on the stock of towels and when there were fresh ones there (usually am), we replaced them.

Service at the bars was relatively good. We liked that there were jugs of non-alcoholic juices and fresh brewed iced tea to help yourself. We did find that by the end of the day the beach/pool bars would run out of canned beer.

Things that could be improved upon in this area are:
pool/beach drink service. We did see some of the bartenders going around at times with fruit kebabs, but this was only enough to serve ¼ of the pool area.
bottled water at the pool/beach bars (we have always carried bottled water from our rooms, on every trip we have been on).
The pool could be cleaner more. The pool did seem to be a bit dirty, but this could be due to the closeness of the beach and the wind that the Bahamas constantly experiences.

Sandals Cay:
A lovely area. It is really like having two resorts in one. We found the ocean water to be a bit warmer on the back side of the island. It is very quite private and quiet here. Lots of chairs and shade. We loved it. I got bit quite bad by sand fleas, despite using repellent (or maybe not enough). However, my husband did not get one bite. Benadryl was available in the pharmacy across the street. Snorkeling is very good right off the shore. The beach is rocky in areas, therefore water shoes should be worn.

Restaurants:
YUM. YUM, YUM!!!!!! We loved the food at Sandals. The Conch was very good. The menus were quite varied and loved every meal we ate. From our previous travels, we knew to book the ala carte restaurants that needed reservations upon arrival, which we did. This was not a frustration for us. We did have several later reservations, but we were just sure to have a late snack in the afternoon. As many of the previous posters have said, restaurant openings vary from day to day. They are all listed on the daily activity sheet. If you don’t get one in your room the night before, they are at the concierge desk.

The night we arrived, our only option was to eat at Cricketers (which serves food until 7:00am). We waited for quite some time for service until we were told that you had to order near the front entrance of the restaurant. The food was very good. You could get food “to go” to take back to your room anytime throughout the night. Cricketers was very LOUD, more like a dance club than a pub, it is self serve seating.

We loved the pizza in the beach/pool area. You could order a full pizza or just stop by for a slice whenever you felt like it. There was also popcorn in the theatre each day which made for a nice afternoon snack.

Our favorite restaurants were Baccarat and the Crystal Room. Both meals were fabulous. We tried Café Goombay for both lunch and dinner and it was very good. For breakfast we would do the buffet in Spices or Cassanova. We never found that there was much of a wait at the food stations. Breakfast consisted of mostly fruit, oatmeal, cereals, breads with omelet, pancake and French toast stations. Found the selection was best if you got there early. We never did make it to breakfast at Baccarat, but we did hear from friends that it was very good. We only had lunch once at the Royal Grill, it was good. We were invited to the returning guest dinner by our new friends. This dinner was absolutely fabulous. They treat their returning guests there very well. You did not need reservations at night for Spices, Cassanova or the Royal Grill and they had ala carte menus at night. There were at least two out of the three open each night.

We did hear of a few couples who did get severely ill throughout their stay, which they did attribute to the food.

Entertainment:
The Piano Bar is the place to be. The entertainment is great, and a fun place to sing along with all of your new friends. We did find the service at the bar to be a bit slow, but once you got to know the bartenders, and chatted them up a bit, the better the service was.

There were always several entertainment options each evening, ranging from live shows, to movies (Slumdog Millionaire) to music. One night they hosted a chocolate buffet on the Cassanova Terrace (YUM!)

Spa:
We had two services at the main spa. On our second day there, we had the In Each Other’s Hands, an 80 minute service ($170) where one of their professionals massage you and teaches you & your partner how to massage each other. This is a skill we will now use for years to come. They give you a bottle of massage oil to practice on your own too. I also had a mini massage and body scrub on the day we left- fabulous. If you use the spa anytime throughout your trip, you are welcome to come back at anytime and use their shower facilities, steam room or sauna. Our last day, we went to use the spa facilities to shower and change before we took our transfer to the airport.

The facilities were clean, the changing areas well stocked for anything you may need to freshen up and Red Line has a wonderful line of signature body treatments/lotions etc.

Staff:
We never encountered any rude staff. Many of them to have a nonchalant attitude which we have encountered all over the Caribbean and is just their way of life there. We would just relax, have another glass of wine and enjoy each other’s company. You are on vacation, you are there to relax. Treat people with respect, they will treat you the same.

Michael who is the new manager (started in November) from St. Lucia was always present, roaming the resort and talking to guests and we had the opportunity to speak to him several times. We also spoke to Michelle, the night manager several times at length throughout her property tours.

Checkout:
Checkout is at 11:00 am. We had a late flight (8 pm, transfer at 6 pm) we had called the concierge to ask about a late checkout. We were told a late checkout was to keep the room to noon and it would be $80. They do offer you a room for ½ hour to shower/change should you have a late flight. We checked out on time, and enjoyed the resort for the rest of the day. We showered and changed in the spa. When we arrived at the bell desk at 5:30 to await our transfer, our luggage wasn’t there. We were listed as a late (6pm) check out and our luggage was still in our room. We are not sure how we lucked upon this, but we didn’t get to use it (we were not charged).

Off Resort:
We left the resort several times. We loved that you could exit the resort and hop right on to a bus (#10 jitney). For $1.25 each leg you can go anywhere from Cable Beach to downtown. It stops at all the major hotels on the way into Nassau (Sheraton, Wyndam, Breezes) the Fish Fry and downtown. We always felt safe wherever we went.

Of course we had to do the Straw Market. This was fun, although we didn’t find any deals. I was excited at the prospect of getting some knock off purses, however, I found them to be of poor quality. We enjoyed walking around downtown, going in and out of the shops. Many of the sales people we found to be on the aggressive side.

We ventured over to Paradise Island one day. We took a ferry over ($6 return). This was a great ride. For the 10 minutes you are on the ferry, the guide gives you some history, points out places of interest etc. The best part of Paradise Island was the harbor. The yachts there were AMAZING. One can only dream. We had ice cream at Ben & Jerry’s- was $18 for two cones!!!!

Right out side of Sandals resort, there is a little jewelry store called Jewels by the Sea. I went in to purchase some jewelry cleaner as I forgot mine from home. They offered to clean it for free. We ended up making a small purchase. We found the prices in this shop to be very good. They were very friendly and not aggressive at all. There were many locals who ventured in while we were there for services or purchases.

Across the street from Sandals there is a Subway, Dominos pizza, Pharmacy and Burger King. Further back (towards Marley Resort) there is a grocery store. We took the 10 minute walk down to get some snacks for our room. Grocery store prices are very expensive ($4 for a tube of toothpaste that is .99 at home, $4.19 for a bag of Doritos) Everything on this island is imported.

We had heard rave reviews of the Poop Deck restaurant. We ate lunch there one day. We had a fresh tuna sandwich and various conch appetizers. Food was very good, albeit expensive. We loved the harbor view and all the history whereby stars have signed posters which hang on the wall. We found service here to be the same as the resort.

We were a bit disappointed when we left Nassau airport. We didn’t buy any alcohol as we thought we would get it at the duty free after we went through security. However, there was only a few shops, none with liquor. No cheap booze for us L The only food available was chips etc. Make sure you do all your shopping before you get to the airport as there is not much.

We would travel to Sandals again tomorrow if we could. We had a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mrs-MrA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2009

First and forest, I'd like to say that my husband and I travelled to the Sandals Royal Bahamian for our honeymoon for 10days. Since it was our honeymoon, we wanted to go all out, get the best in everything. We opted to book on of the top suites with butler service to ensure that we would have an unforgettable time. Upon arrival at the airport, we were picked up in a Rolls Royce, as promised and we estactic. Once we got to the resort we waited about an hour and half for the room, which was no big deal, we just couldn't wait to see what we were getting. Finally the room was ready, and they set us up the the "villas" which anyone who has been to this resort knows it isn't the "glmaorous" side, and seems to be much smaller. Well, we thought, okay it will be really peaceful over here no big deal. Key word: "THOUGHT" Apparently, they weree doing construction in the villas and we were up at 7:30 am the next day, not a good way to start off your honeymoon. We contacted the butler and said we were unhappy since we paid so much money we wanted to relax, even if we had to pay to get a better room, we would do so.. Well, apparently the entire resort was booked. So we decided to enjoy our stay and make the best of what we had. We have dinner early that night and go enjoy the entertainment at the resort, then go to the firepits and watch the beach. We return to the room around midnight to go to bed, and there is no water in the entire villa. Both of us wanted to shower, brush our teeth, and wash our face and sorry that was not available til the next day. Okay, I let it go then but what really sent me over the edge was in the top 4 butler category suits you can have 24 hour room service, so I called one night for 30min and no answer. Don't get me wrong I understand people get busy, but when you shell out all that money to have a butler and be in one of these so-called exclusive suites, you should be accomodated properly.

I made a complaint to the butler, and by the next day she took care of everything and upgraded our room to the Windor Building in their top suite. This room was absolutely gorgeous. I mean breathtaking. So I'll move on to the good stuff, the food was always great, I never really had a complaint about the taste. Service was definitely lacking, but that is Sandals fault since they just laid off 140 workers. The drinks are great, you really don't have to ask for that "extra shot". The good thing about the butler service is that if you are down by the pool and you want them to come and make you a cooler with drinks in it they will, however, its hard to find them to refill it, and for the price you pay, they really should provide a cell phone to connect you to them at all times like they do in other Sandals Resorts (ex: Sandals Negril). If you have butler service, and instead of going out to the restuarnt tat night, you want to have the dinner choices sent up to your room, they will go and get the dinner for you and set it up in the room, which is also great. The unpacking and packing of clothes was never offered, and I felt awkward asking.

Sandals Cay, their private island, is a must-see. I mean it is paradise. The views, the privacy, and peacefullness are everything you could ever hope for.

I think the restaurants in order of best to worst are: Gordons, Crystal Room, Baccarat, Kimonos, Royal Cafe, Cricketeers.

Spices the buffet always has a choice for everyone when it's buffet style. My husband and I went for dinner when it is a la carte and we didnt like the menu so we left. The candlelight dinner on the beach is another story... they say "white glove service" ... not so much..

Overall, the resort itself is very pretty, and enjoyable. Is the butler service worth it there... I say no, other sandals.. definitely.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babigirlgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2009

Before leaving on our honeymoon my hubby and I read a bunch of the reviews and saw that they were split between people who loved it and people who hated it. After being there I can understand why...and I think the best way to explain the split is as follows:

The Bahamas is a place where CRAZY RICH people vacation...if you want swanky rooms, plush comforts, beautifully updated bathrooms - this is not the place for you. The hotel definitely needs a big update but the AMAZING staff and food, crazy strong drinks, activities, beautiful beach and pools more than make up for it, at least it did for us. Almost everybody we met complained about their rooms, we thought ours was alright but the GORGEOUS view of the ocean excused all the things that were lacking.

One of the things that I especially liked was that we really felt like we were in the Bahamas, they had a steal pan player that would play music for you as soon as you got off your tour bus to check in. They played reggae, calypso, and Bahamian music by the pool, the staff had wonderful sing-song accents - it really felt like you were in the Bahamas. Because to be honest, once you've been to one all-inclusive, you've pretty much been to them all. The only difference is the staff and the food...which again WERE AMAZING HERE.

Now for the true test question: would I go back. Probably not for a while, but then again my husband and I like to go to different places every time we travel. Maybe in a couple of years, but I would definitely recommend it to couples, young and old.

FINAL NOTE: This is NOT a party place. We had a blast at the Cricketers Pub and at the Piano bar but that is because we are party people and could have fun in a closet if you played the right beats for us. Some people felt that there was nothing going on at night to those people I say: It's a COUPLES resort, I'm pretty sure most of the "partying" is going on in the rooms anyway ;)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JondyZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2009

The service was great, all of the employees we came in contact were friendly and very helpful. We upgraded to a deluxe village room, and it was very nice. The decor was a little dated, but overall we were very satisfied. The location is great the beach is very nice, the island is worth the visit, very nice and secluded. All of the bar service was great, you definately need to make reservations for your dinner, would not recommend the Japanese steak house, the other restaurants were either okay or good depending on what you wanted, but the buffet breakfast at spices was excellent, and the daily pizza was great. The place is a little dated, but clean. The landscaping is beautiful, and lush. For the price and location, and being able to vacation without our kids or anyone else's it was well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjtravelerMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
5.5 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
5.2 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
5.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
0.7 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
4.1 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Property: Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing