We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and intimate Sandals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Small and intimate Sandals”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This resort is compact, so if you want all the amentities of a Sandals, but walking is a concern, then this is the place. There are ramps through out, as well, if you need them.

We booked our vacation through NJTravel.com and got a complimentary upgrade to the club level (used to be concierge level) in the Balmoral tower. Our travel agent was able to use our Signature points to pay for part of the vacation, as well.

The rooms are a decent size and have a balcony or patio. They have some nice Villas in the back of the resort that are private. There is even a pool back there, that no one was in, kind of like having your own pool. They were recently renovated, as well, so everything is clean and fresh. The entire resort is spotless. The service at Sandals is impeccable. Everyone I encountered was willing to help and direct you to where you needed to go.

My favorite part of the resort is the Private Island. There is a ferry that takes you over every hour. On the island is a pool, hot tub, bar service and a restaurant. There are also 2 beaches and many places to just to sit and do nothing. This resort has everything…restaurants, pools, hot tubs, shopping, entertainment and water sports.

You can get any drink you want as many times as you want. Towels and chairs were plentiful and the guests there were welcoming and we made some good friends. The food was great and they did not make you feel that you were inconveniencing them if you asked for a cup of coffee in the middle of the day.

There is a bus that you can take outside of Sandals for $1.25/pp that will take you to various parts of the island or you can take a taxi too, but that is more money.
There are lots of places to sit and just do nothing. There are a bunch of restaurants to eat throughout the resort. There is a brick oven pizzeria, that has some of the best pizza on the island and with a great view, as well.

Room Tip: They have some nice Villas in the back of the resort that are private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripsIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,785
    2,084
    924
    504
    407
See reviews for
216
6,924
27
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,065)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Quick trip in December. Balmoral walk out a perfect room. Food and service and Junkaroo show were great. Staff friendly. Rooms a but smaller than I expected but overall I loved it. The offshore island is great and it is nice to have it to to to. Even if stopping for a day from a cruise, I recommend getting a day pass.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summersault12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have been to 7 different all-inclusives spanning Mexico, Dominican Republic, and the Bahamas. We paid for this trip (more than most all-inclusives) and expected service that was commensurate. Instead, it was one disappointment after another.

Yes, the Bahamas are beautiful. That's where the impressiveness ended.

When we checked in, our room had no robes, no water in the fridge, and there was coffee still in the coffee maker. After apologies from the staff it took THREE PHONE CALLS and 45 minutes to get 2 bottles of water. You should have seen how inconvenienced the waitress at the Italian restaurant was when I asked to switch my next drink from wine to a vodka drink. You would have thought I asked her to carry my bags for the rest of the trip.

At every turn, the staff was disinterested (with a few exceptions here and there) and couldn't care less that we were frustrated. When we complained, someone from the desk called the room to "make sure we were happy now"... when I said "no", they said, they were sorry and they hope everything will be ok today. What the hell that meant, I'm not sure.

Finally, when we returned home, we re-read the services we were supposed to receive (phone call each day from a concierge dedicated to us, etc.), we realized that we did not receive many of these services. For twice the price of going to the Dominican Republic where people bend over backwards to try to make you happy, I will not be going back to any Sandals resort. Ever.

One final note: some of these disappointments wouldn't be such a big deal if we hadn't paid a total of over $5500 for this trip. For that price, I do not expect to work so hard to get people to care.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Sunscape80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We were disappointed to learn that your stay at Sandals Royal Bahamian did not quite meet your expectations. It is quite disheartening to know that you returned home with an unsavory impression of the resort or our staff and we apologize for any shortcoming on our part. This is certainly not the vacation experience we wish for our guest to have when visiting us and we will be looking into the concerns you mentioned promptly. Your feedback is a helpful tool in evaluating our performance and we will be sure to make the necessary improvements to ensure that we are delivering the exceptional service for which we are known. We hope that you will afford us the chance to make things right during a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We just returned from 6 days in the Bahamas at one of my favorite resorts, the Sandals Royal Bahamian Resort & Spa. This resort is located in Nassau, Bahamas. This was a great chance to really relax & my husband was able to join the fun on this trip. He is not a beach person, but he loves Sandals! Some of us get our exercise at our happy place, paddle boarding out on the ocean & others enjoy the gym with a gorgeous ocean view!

This resort has an offshore island that is part of the resort, so if the resort’s peaceful location isn’t peaceful enough, you can go over to the island and continue to be pampered with dining & a beautiful secluded beach.

From our photos you will see we received great hospitality from the locals - even the resort’s cat! The food is varied ranging from a Japanese steak house & sushi bar, to an Italian restaurant with a nice antipasto bar & we even had high tea one afternoon. The staff is very well trained & though Bahamians are usually a bit more reserved than in some other islands, I know the trick to connecting with them. Just ask!

At Sandals, since it is a very romantic couples’ setting, you will see some beautiful weddings. We met a groom who told us the sweet story of getting to know his bride after dating for a time 20 years ago & now reconnecting. Later we saw his beautiful bride being escorted by her handsome son, so that was a sweet moment. We saw another sweet beach wedding & marveled at how beautiful the bride was despite the July heat! We also saw them setting up for their romantic candlelight dinners on the beach one evening. Pretty romantic!

We had a beautiful room with the wonderful club level of service & took a photo as well as others to show the variety of areas. Some rooms are back in the quiet Royal Village, while their newest rooms have their own pool that you step directly into from your room. We were able to meet some of the staff face to face that we work with all the time to make sure requests are handled, such a dietary restrictions & to coordinate special events. If you visit, you must meet LaToysa, the lady who reigns over the Spices Restaurant. Such a sweet lady who shows all such hospitality!
So many on the staff told us what we always hear from the Sandals management, which is that they really prefer guests come to them through a Certified Sandals Agent, as opposed to booking themselves. When booked with a Certified Sandals Agent, the resort can adequately prepare for taking great care of the guests, especially when there are dietary needs or special events. Everyone we met who seemed confused about something or didn't know about how the meals can be customized to their dietary needs had booked themselves online somewhere. We had to answer lots of questions & always told them when they got home to find a Certified Sandals Specialist to help them.

One treat was that we got a ride in the resort’s Rolls Royce. That was a very nice ride & a complete surprise. If we book you to one of their top suites, that is the car that picks you up from the airport & returns you. We were not in that suite, so were surprised when they offered that to us for our run into town.

While we were there, the entire island had a power blackout one night for a few hours. We were in the building that had a very new generator, so guess what? We had lights, AC, wi fi & TV. It was good to see how the resort handled a problem. They really scurried around ( my friend, Patrick Drake, their general manager was up the entire night making arrangements for people to be comfortable ) and the next morning when they had to rearrange breakfast venues because of problems that the power outage caused, they were on top of things & made us feel like royalty! The islands all have these power glitches, due to all that salt air. It’s good to see how a resort handles unexpected events & I think they did a good job!

Lastly, my selfie is to show you that unlike the brochures & Sandals ads you see on TV, you don’t have to look like a super model to come to a Sandals resort. You will return with a relaxed smile on your face after lots of relaxation & fun!

Find a local Certified Sandals Specialist, such a myself when you’re ready to plan a weddingmoon, honeymoon, family reunion (at one of their Beaches resorts), friends’ getaway or a romantic escape, even if it's just for two!

Room Tip: Check with a Certified Sandals Specialist as there are numerous room types. They know the ins &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We went there for a honeymoon and it was the best decision we've ever made.
We are new to the all-inclusive-resort and the rule of 'no tipping' (excludes shuttles, butler services) made me uneasy at first. People were super friendly and genuinely nice.
Food was better than we expected and water sports (including scuba diving and snorkeling was awesome!) We didn't do any extra activities outside of the resort, but there were plenty to do! (we stayed 5 nights) Offshore island was a definite plus and view of the beach was so gorgeous! I definitely recommend to the people who are new to Bahamas! We definitely want to go back, but also want to explore other Sandals resorts in different locations :D

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dblove86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Second time to a Sandals resort and thinking this will be our last ALL INCLUSIVE. Service at restaurants were horrible. Ex. It took 30 minutes to get a diet coke!! Food was subpar - 2nd day we had powdered eggs! We ordered Absolute Vodka when we arrived and after 2 days of waiting we called Concierge and told them never mind. A/C and mini bar fridge were on the fritz and had to call several times to request maintenance - I even went down and demanded to speak to a manager and was told she would handle immediately - but still had to wait over almost 2 hours. We figured it out that you prepay and NO ONE cares about you. Looked to be very limited staff in restaurants and around pool area. This resort does not even begin to compare with Atlantis quality and service. Next time around definitely will spend the money for Atlantis!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MWLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello and thank you for your review.

We were disappointed to learn that you did not fully enjoy your stay at Sandals Royal Bahamian and felt that proper attention was not provided to you during your time with us. I assure you this is certainly not the norm for us and we do care about each of our valued guests. We are known for providing high quality vacations with top notch service and unfortunately, during your experience, it seems we did not meet those expectations. Your remarks will be shared with the resort management team for immediate review and thorough follow-up. We hope you will reconsider and allow us the opportunity to make this right on a future visit to one of our lovely properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Absolutely the best stay we could have hoped for on our anniversay. We have been to other locations in the Caribbean and this was by far the best yet. The staff was gracious, helpful, friendly and really made the stay wonderful. The food was varied and delicious; we did not have one bad meal during our visit of 4 nights and 5 days. The accommodations were very nice, well appointed, and maintained. We will be back and if this is an example of a Sandals Resort, they have earned a repeat customer for this and other Sandals location. Absolutely a FIVE rating.

Room Tip: Balmoral Beachfront was perfect location for room on the ocean front. Perfect view of the beach, pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
6.2 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
5.2 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
4.1 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
5.3 mi away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Property: Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#1 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing