We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort but over-priced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort but over-priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

In general, a very good experience but when we found out they had recently jacked up their prices, we feel the resort does not match up to the prices it charges. Agree with previous reviewers in that there are many restaurants but not all are open at the same time so depending on the day of week/time of day, you may have 3 to choose from, not 10. Service overall is very polite and professional. Some individuals are simply outstanding (mostly outside servers at the Cricketers' Club - fantastic and very personable). We had a pretty room but in a terrible location - north side of the Windsor building - this area of the resort was undergoing construction and we had bulldozers and yelling workman from 9am to 4pm every day, including Sat.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room on the "construction side" (north side of the Windsor b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amg954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,562
    1,980
    878
    485
    392
See reviews for
204
6,565
23
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,948)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle WA/Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Overall a very good experience but:

The room we were allocated was adequate but if you book an ocean view we generally expect it to not be 50% ocean view and 50% complex.

The resort maintains there are 10 restaurants but only 4 are usually open at any given time, limiting options and forcing you to wait to be seated. We also noticed that whilst they claimed 30mins waiting time there were at least 8 tables free in a 'walk in' venues that were not being used. This may be a staffing issue more than anything though. Food is excellent however and fresh in all venues. Don't miss the teppanyaki!

Drinks are plentiful and good quality, so no complaints there apart from at a premium price the room supplies could be of a premium nature not no name generic brands (not that we used much of that stock).

Very annoying though - at one stage of our stay the resort was inundated with dozens of travel agents on a 'survey' visit doing their best to grab whatever free drinks and food they could get their hands on - paying guests couldn't access bars or even food outlets during this time which was ordinary and extremely annoying. This needs to be policed.

Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful throughout and service was excellent. Cannot commend them highly enough.

The private island is an absolute must and we would suggest getting over there as often as possible - it is spectacular and secluded.

All in all a great experience but at a premium as it's not the cheapest or best value all-inclusive. Would still recommend though.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MMK08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We arrived and our first experience of the "5* luxury hotel" was..... we got given our room key after a long wait of people trying to change rooms and was told where it was and the number we was in. it seemed like another large party was been given a guided tour around the complex.
We then headed up to our oceanview (Premium) level room in the balmoral tower. the toilet flooded on the first flush. we phoned house keeping several times before getting any response to come clean the mess. all they did when they did arrive was soak the dirty toilet water with a towel.
we then realised the room was not what we had payed for but they was no apparent available rooms so we wasn't offered an appropriate exchange.
The reservations for baccarat, kimonos and spices are few and far between. without any reservations the food is terrible. it is all fried and it just looks uncooked. the tea and coffee are always cold. We had to dine out every night we couldn't get a reservation. (cmme out the resort turn right and Olives is a good choice).
The majority of staff go out their way to say hi, good morning and so on and are very pleasant.
Our last day we did.t leave until 10:30pm and asked at reception if we could have our room for the extra day $80 charge of course. they told us they was expecting a large group of arrivals and had no available rooms........ At 8 pm that night they gave our room key to a couple sat next to us to go change their clothing!! we had to sit in the lobby all morning and day when clearly the room was available.
I have never written A review on here but I would strongly recommend not booking the sandals royal bahamian and on advice of locals go to the other sandals on the island.
This was not worth half the price we had pay'd for it.

Room Tip: Don't come to this hotel this is not 5*
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jamie e e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I'll adjust as the week progresses... We're in the Windsor tower which most reviews have already mentioned is the more dated of the two. Dated is okay, but rundown is completely different. There is no attention to detail on this side of the resort. Doorknobs are loose if not broken. Light fixtures are crooked/falling off the walls. A fresh coat of paint is warranted in more than one common area. The worst part of the Windsor tower is the construction. Be advised. The construction is constant. Starts around 8/9am and is continuous throughout the day. Around 10am we had to close the balcony door to avoid the smell of diesel from some of the power equipment. When calling about a room change, the staff was very pleasant but confirmed that nothing was available until tomorrow. We'll see how this plays out.

The staff has been great so far. Everyone is really accommodating. Although tips are prohibited(?) I feel like I should have brought some cash to at least show my appreciation for the hustle that much of the staff provides.

Food has been good so far and I'll update at the end of the week.

Room Tip: Avoid the Windsor Tower. The construction is constant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review, Robert.
I am sorry to hear that you are having a bit of a rocky start to your vacation. I am positive that our staff will make all efforts to assist you and see that you thoroughly enjoy the rest of your trip.
I will be contacting you privately for a few more details and to follow up with you. We always want to ensure that all of our guests are having a wonderful vacation and it would be nice if we were able to turn things around for you.
Thank you so much for your continued patience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed in the Royal Village area of the resort and I highly recommend it for the privacy as well as peace and quiet. Vanessa went out of her way to make sure we were completely satisfied. The butler Ekrom also did an excellent job and although we did not have butler service he made us reservations at Gordon's On the Pier. We will definitely get the butler suite next trip. As for the food.... I have stayed at many all inclusive resorts and found this one had MUCH better food than any others. The food was always fresh and service was impeccable. We had a dinner at the Kimono restaurant and Theodore put on a great show and even serenaded us! Our nights usually ended with a drink at the piano bar. Fuzzy and Dion took great care of us and they both Rock at making martinis!! We had a very relaxing time and cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: We chose to stay in the Royal Village due to the fact we had our own pool/ whirlpool right outside o...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review, Stacey.
We are thrilled that you had a wonderful vacation at Sandals Royal Bahamian!
Our staff is always happy to go the extra mile to make sure that you the trip of your dreams!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

If this is a 5 star hotel it must have been rated out of ten. Thats all I would give it... a 5 out of ten.

This hotel is dated, and run down.

Old decor.
Old funriture.
lights hanging of the walls.

How about a swimming pool not heated.

Staff was mostly friendly. However a good 20 percent of the staff was down right grumpy.


The food was good half the time.

The restaurant service was also good half of the time.

The "premium liquor" is a joke. No top shelf alcohol at any bars.

We paid about 600usd a night to stay.

We vacation a few times a year. So we have seen the good and the bad in hotels.

This isnt the worst hotel ever... just so far from a great place to send a week.

Look elsewhere to vacation.. We will never return to a Sandals, nor would we ever recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paulvan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review of Sandals Royal Bahamian.
We regret to hear that your stay was not as expected. We strive to uphold the highest standards of service and quality. Our staff goes through 120 hours of rigorous training each year to ensure we are providing excellent guest experiences. We have many guests that boast of our luxurious inclusions, water sports, fine dining, accommodations and quality of staff but as hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and your feedback is appreciated.

We want to make sure future guests do not have similar feedback and will take action by notifying the appropriate departments of your remarks. We do request that while on resort you notify us of anything that does not meet your standards. We are always willing to work with you to make sure you walk away feeling like your stay was money well spent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine , FL
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I have been to this property many times in years past years. It has come a long way and that is exciting. The room and staff were wonderful. Sandals Cay is beautiful and I had a lot of fun in the sea and pool. Very easy to get to from Orlando with non stop service.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for your review, Kelly!
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the updates and improvements we have made to Sandals Royal Bahamian during your absence. We are always striving to provide our guests with the perfect vacation experience and our resorts are constantly evolving in order to reach this goal!
We look forward to welcoming you back for an even better time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
5.5 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
5.7 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
5.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#4 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
0.7 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
3.9 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Property: Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#1 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing