We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but I excepted nicer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice but I excepted nicer”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here for honeymoon and I have mixed reviews. While the staff was friendly beyond anything I can imagine there are some cons as well. Our room which was in the tower that I heard recently had the renovation looked like it was very old... With the kind of money that we went I was excepting much more: it just looked run down. I wanted a out honeymoon to be amazing right down to the room and it looked a little dingy. the food was excellent and there was a verity to choose from. We spent a variety of nights in the pub and they are some the the nicest and entertaining people you will ever meet.. Meeting he "ref" from the pub was one of he highlights of out trip and he is a real assets to the sandals team. I can say enough about how good he really was... All in all this was out honeymoon and we don't splurge like this often if ever and it left me wanting more.. I want to feel like I was going to paradise and it fell short to me..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kmbloom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Bahamian.
We regret to hear that we did not meet your expectations for service and quality. We have many guests who feel the direct opposite and have boasted of our luxurious accommodations. As hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process so we thank you for your review.

We strive to meet our motto: Luxury All-Inclusive Vacations for Two People in Love. We are in a constant state of evolving our resorts and updating our amenities so I will be sure to send your feedback to the relevant departments.

I hope this message finds you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,658
    2,028
    901
    498
    399
See reviews for
208
6,727
24
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,000)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicopee, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Sandals Royal Bahamian offers a romantic property; wether you are honeymooning, vacationing or spending precious time with that someone special!
The Royal Bahamian will make this an unforgetable experience.
With beautiful room views of oceans, pools or secluded hideaways..you will feel like you are in Paradise!
Offering 10 restaurants with 5 star food service, you just can't go wrong with this resort!
There are 2 large pools, hot tubs, and firepits in the P.M. with wonderful entertainment.
8 bars, including swim up pool bars...with a staff that will treat you like Royalty!
There are everyday activities to join in, or just watch and do nothing at all;but enjoy the sun, cocktails, and beach.
The grounds are beautiful as also the upgraded renovations to the property..new furniture, comfy seating, and beautiful rooms and amenities.......relax or party, it's your choice...but you will definetely want to come back for more!! Don't pass up this lifetime experience at the Royal Bahamian!

Room Tip: Views from the Balamoral or Windsor buildings are stunning overlooking the ocean and pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, Essex
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This Sandals wasn't at all like Sandals in Antigua and we kept comparing the two resorts. That was our mistake. Bahamas has a small beach where Antigua had a long beautiful beach, it was also spread out more. Bahamas has an island where we spent many hours relaxing and swimming and the local food style food on the island although a bit spivey for my wife I thought was excellent. Book early for your evening meal on the island or you will be disappointed.
Lunch time food was no better than OK although in Spices restaurant was good but mainly spivey food as the name suggest. All evening meals we had were very good although there were occasions when the service was slow and on one occasion we waited 40 minutes for a drink in the restaurant. This was very quickly rectified when the manager was informed.
Bar staff were nowhere as professional as in Antigua. Delays did occur and their knowledge of Caribbean cocktails was limited. I had to tell the staff in most bars how to make a rum sour. There wasn't the same attitude to please the customer. If we hadn't been to Antigua then we may not have noticed.
The cricketers did give a very British Pub atmosphere with the food being fish and chips , shepherds pie etc but the Tv showed American spots and no English football that many of the Americans I spoke to were interested In.
The rooms were excellent and the cleanliness couldn't be faulted. Plenty of sun beds available although maybe a bit too shaded on one side of both pools. The beach had to be cleared of sea weed daily but I enjoyed my daily dip in the sea that was pretty warm and pleasant.
'Shaggy' was playing in a charity gig on the island and although too pricey this was a good show with an excellent fireworks display.
In all an enjoyable relaxing week where my wife and I recovered from an energetic trip to Orlando.

Room Tip: Suggest ocean view room in The Windsor block. The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRFossil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Bahamian.
As a returning guest of Sandals, we know you are aware of the high standards we set for our staff and the services we provide our guests. Our service has been the highlight of many reviews on Trip Advisor, which leaves us quite disappointed that your recent experience was not indicative of the norm. For this, we apologize.
We are grateful for feedback, inclusive of TripAdvisor posts, as it allows us the opportunity to identify our strengths and weaknesses. Our response to feedback continues to be in word and deed. We hope that you would afford us an opportunity to demonstrate the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our vacation We stayed in room 315 at the Balmoral and had an Oceanview Grand Luxe room. The costs was $684 a night and offered an incredible view but the room itself was certainly not in the "grand luxury" category. The service was very disappointing - although there were bright spots here and there. Airport transfers were as promised, the check-in process was flawless and included a cool facecloth, champagne, and pastries. In general, the wait service was pretty bad, ranging from non-existent at the pool and beach, to slow and painful at the swim up bars and rushed at some restaurants. The service at the piano bar was an exception, very competent and pleasant. The food was certainly not "world-class" as promised. Spices restaurant offered a lot of options and was pretty good most of the time. Cricketers pub was pretty bad and smelled like stale beer. We tried to have breakfast at the Baccarat, but with no one in sight to seat us. Casanova for dinner was good, but not great if you have ever eaten in the North End of Boston. Gordon's on the Pier, Stewfish, and the private dinner were not an option due to weather. Of course eating at Gordon's and the private dinner will cost you $150-$170 extra. The cleaning staff was always pleasant but don't believe for one minute that the mini-bar is restocked every day - even when you ask for it to be restocked, it doesn't happen. All-in-all, the staff needs training or maybe they should just get out of the service industry.

Room Tip: Balmoral is very nice, stay away from hot tub end - too many partiers making noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We regret to hear that your stay was not as expected. We strive to uphold the highest standards of service and quality. Our staff goes through 120 hours of rigorous training each year to ensure we are providing excellent guest experiences. We have many guests that boast of our luxurious inclusions, water sports, fine dining, accommodations and quality of staff but as hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and your feedback is appreciated.

We want to make sure future guests do not have similar feedback and will take action by notifying the appropriate departments of your remarks. We do request that while on resort you notify us of anything that does not meet your standards. We are always willing to work with you to make sure you walk away feeling like your stay was money well spent.

Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Pros:
Accomodations
* We were upgraded to a Butler Suite without butler service in the Royal Village. This meant we received a fully stocked bar and free wi-fi. Very private area with its own pool and hot tub.
* Beautiful room and resort in general

Dining
* Many restaurants to choose from. Only two were above average. The Crystal Room and Baccarat.
Loved the outdoor pizza oven. Really good pizza!

Customer Service
* It was hit and miss. Sometimes it was great, other times, we were met with a lot of attitude.

Other
• Short distance and easy drive from airport to resort (10 minutes)
• The off-shore island was great and it had a fairly good restaurant too. (Stew Fish)
• We took the bus downtown (Cost $1.25 one way). We had lunch in a great area called the Fish Fry. The bus, although very run down, was still okay as we got to meet some of the lovely locales.
• Entertainment was great. They had some really good bands playing at night near the fire pits. Dancing underneath the stars was great!

Cons:

Accomodations
* Although we were upgraded to a private suite, it was near where the maintenance crew were working every day. They were talking loudly and working at 5:00 a.m. every morning!

Restaurants
* 2 restaurants closed down and were not available as choices throughout the week. Reasons: not enough people on resort and renovations.
* For the money you pay for a Sandals vacation, the dining aspect should be exceptional and it was not. The Italian restaurant (Casanova) in particular was the worst. Most of the others were just okay.
* One restaurant (Gordons) was not included unless you had butler service. The extra charge to dine there was $140.00/couple

The Spa
* It was not a great experience with the customer service. I felt rushed through the whole time I was there.

Other
* Every other Sandals we've been to, no matter what room you choose, you get a fully stocked bar of all kinds of beverages including alcohol. You also get concierge and room service. At this resort, if you get a basic room you do not get any of these things.

• The layout of the resort is very confusing and there are too many stones and steps for me. Since I have visual limitations, this became quite challenging for me.

All in all, we still had a great time and we may consider coming back someday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolina1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, Nicolina.
We regret to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations. Because of that, please accept my apologies. As hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process. Therefore, your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments for immediate evaluation and action as needed.
We are grateful for feedback, inclusive of TripAdvisor posts, as it allows us the opportunity to identify our strengths and weaknesses. Our response to feedback continues to be in word and deed. We hope that you would afford us an opportunity to demonstrate the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We knew we wanted to go somewhere warm and beachy, and our travel agent, Amy McHugh of Dream Makers Vacation Services, recommended the RB, and she was right on! She was a great help before, during, and after our stay, and I can't recommend her enough! She had great advice about what room to pick and what activities to try! She recommended that we try one of the concierge rooms in the renovated Balmoral building, and we loved it!

The room was lovely with a beautiful view of the azure sea (yes, the ocean really is that color!!!) and I loved the lighted mirror in the bathroom! We visited during reunion week in April 2013 and really enjoyed the extra activities they planned for returning guests. The piano bar is a must do, and dinner in the crystal room was very romantic. We never made it to the offshore island-- the weather was iffy the week we were there and the boat was either cancelled or left from elsewhere on the island.

I recommend the snorkeling trip and taking the bus to go into town. I don't recommend the pirate museum-- it sounded kitschy but it was just kind of sad.

Rooms were always clean and all of the staff we interacted with were incredibly warm and friendly. The GM was out and about all week, and he was so nice and was always asking what the resort could improve. We don't often go back to the same place twice, but we both said we would consider returning just because of the very warm welcome.
We were scheduled to go on a bowling trip for reunion week, and they had to cancel it because not enough people showed up. That was fine, and no big deal, but they called and apologized and insisted on treating us to a dinner at Gordons on the pier. Very nice gesture and much appreciated!

The only major negative we experienced was our couples massage. the couples massage room is sandwiched between the mens locker room and the women's waiting area, and it was kind of loud and you could hear the men talking in the locker room the entire time. Our masseuses were also only so-so. The spa manager, however, was a delight. I recommend getting a solo massage rather than the couples one.

Also, if you are a trivia fan instead of a drinking game fan, avoid the main pool. We found that the scheduled trivia/name that tune events often didn't happen, and instead there was a drinking game or just music played. Not a big deal, but good to know.


I would definitely recommend a trip to the RB if you are looking for a relaxing week with friendly staff. We felt like part of the family when we were there.

Room Tip: Balmoral building is renovated, and the rooms facing the pool have a great view (and it is the quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calbear94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Bahamian. Reunion week is full of fun and it is great that you enjoyed all the activities! The staff will be happy to know that they were able to add to pleasant experience and we are happy to have you as a part of the Sandals extended family!
We appreciate your feedback and I will be sure to pass along your suggestion in concerns to the spa couples' massage room to the management.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The all-inclusive Sandals Resorts are excellent. We visited the Royal Bahamian in the Bahamas with butler service and it was over and above our expectations. From the time we arrive at the airport for the car to pick us up to the check-in at the resort, it was all extremely pleasant. If you want to be pampered and taken care of be sure to book your room in the butler service category, it is well worth it.

Room Tip: Get a room in the Windsor Building, they are more spacious with a separate living area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rretc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Bahamian.
We are thrilled to hear that we were able to exceed all your expectation and that you had a fantastic time! Our Butlers are phenomenal and always make sure that our guests leave feeling completely relaxed. They are always happy to take care of all the details so that you can take in all the beauty of the island!
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
6.2 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
5.2 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
5.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
0.7 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
4.1 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Property: Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#1 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing