We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island to your Saves list
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This location had great service! We traveled her for our Honeymoon and could not have asked for more. The no kids was really nice! It was mostly couples which was nice. The all inclusive service was wonderful and had other activities and excursions at little or no cost for the value. Clean and friendly with many activities rain or shine. Specifically, Lance was so attentive and our drinks were never empty. He was so friendly! Also, Damon was our dive instructor and he did a wonderful job making sure we were comfortable in the water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Bahamian, Dani. We are ecstatic to hear that you had an amazing honeymoon trip! It is great that you got to participate in many of the included activities and had such a fantastic time. Our staff members are a great group that will definitely go out of their way to make each day of your stay wonderful.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and will pass along your kind remarks to the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,218
    1,845
    813
    462
    361
See reviews for
173
6,054
22
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,812)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The overall opinion is positive. The level of service is good, choice of dining options decent. Be prepared to dine after 9pm in some of the restaurants. Preference is given to the butler suite guests along with concierge rooms. Plenty of chaises on the beach, the pool areas are limited if hotel at full occupancy. The island is great for solitude and snorkelling/swimming. The restaurant on the island is average with slow service. Not enough palapas or chaises. Rooms in the new tower are nice size but the lower floors would have noise factors due to the karaoke bar on the main floor,
The garden area rooms are housed in Old English style buildings with beautiful gardens, perfect for those seeking the quiet Old world charm. This resort is great for couples looking to spend "together" time in an all inclusive atmosphere with a-la-carte dining options. Pizza, Pub style for casual dining very good. Sitting by the fire pits overlooking the sea is a very romantic setting. The wedding ceremony location should be in a different location, the island would be more private and scenic.

Room Tip: Request floor 4 and above in the Royal Bahamian Tower facing the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Sandals Royal Bahamian, Jackie. We are pleased that overall you had a good time at our resort.
As hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process. Therefore, your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments for immediate evaluation and action as needed.
Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Whilst at your hotel we were delighted with all aspects of the service provided by the Club Sandals Team. It was a pleasure to speak with many of them who we found extremely helpful, polite and very obliging. It would insult all of them to just give them 5 stars in a questionnaire, they all deserve the very highest praise.

We would like to single out a few names for specific praise as they made our holiday/ anniversary the most enjoyable event we could ever have hoped for. We must start with Sandra Rolle, as the team leader nothing was ever too much trouble and her contribution was very much appreciated, a truly wonderful person and I am sure a friend for life. Then we have Erica, Angelique, Rashad and Unika each of them in turn playing a significant part in our enjoyment during our entire stay. We can not overlook Anton, our cocktail mixer, he is one live wire and great to have in any team( Sandra managed to keep him well under control). We believe he models himself on Axel F in the Beverly Hill Cops series of films, good luck to him. Finally on the staff front we can not forget Antonique, a superb girl who helped us celebrate our Anniversary with a Candlelight dinner for which we were both left speechless.
We know that the staff are only part of the picture and the food, facilities, rooms and the hotel all created that most pleasurable holiday that we truly will never forget. We have enjoyed food in many restaurants around the World and by Top Michelin Chefs in London and we have to say that the Food at Gordon's on the Pier, Baccarat and our Candlelight dinner was some of the Finest food we have enjoyed.
Were we lucky to get this 5 star treatment?. I think not, we look for a very high standard and the hotel certainly delivered.

Room Tip: Club Sandals Suite on 3rd Floor. Hear the sea rolling in and watch the sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NK752013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for sharing your lovely Anniversary holiday experience at Sandals Royal Bahamian with us! We are delighted that you had an amazing time and everything was perfect for you from start till finish. I can tell from your review that the staff members played an important role in shaping your opinion of our resort and brand. I am so proud of them delivering the excellence that Sandals is well known for, as we have set our standards very high! I will forward your kind remarks to the team!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another fantastic trip! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night get-away. This was not our first time in the Bahamas, we have previously stayed at the Atlantis and the Riu. Never felt the need to rate them because our experience has always been great, both hotels giving the service you expect from a 5 star.

Before going to Sandals Royal Bahamian, we did our research and even called the Sandals 1-800 number to ensure the room we booked would be exactly what we wanted. With the exact name of the room the Sandals rep. told us would be our perfect room given the criteria, we then booked that exact room online. ( what I asked for is a room with the best ocean view, not having to be ocean front and NOT overlooking any roads,mechanical or rooftops of other buildings and it had to be in the Balmoral building. What she said we would get if we chose that specific room was an unobstructed view of the ocean on the 5th or 6th floor and absolutely NO looking at roof tops, roads or mechanical.

When we arrived at the airport, Sandals has a reception 'booth' near the exit doors to welcome their guests, however, our names were not on the list. I was even asked if I was sure I was staying at their hotel??? Who travels all that way and does not know where they are staying??? Other people were greeted while we stood there and had to provide proof (our online booking papers) before we could get on the bus to drive us to the resort. Before driving off the driver looked in the van and announced that it was full of big people and he could not fit anymore. As insulting as that could have been it was more funny since the driver was bigger than anyone of us in the van. When we finally got to the resort's check-in desk, everyone else got checked in except us since, (again) they didn't have our names nor booking number. We again provided our booking information and we eventually got a room.

When we got to our room we could not believe it, it was like someone was playing a cruel joke on us. First of all it was on the forth floor, it had an ocean view, sort of, far, far away over the properties next door. On the 4th floor the ocean you saw was more like a horizon line. Needless to say, we were looking at the rooftops of the adjacent property and as an added bonus next door had some kind of mechanical that was running loud. Immediately we went to see if we had been given the wrong room and we were told that we should not have relied on the Sandals 1-800 for room info because they were not in Bahamas and they really did not know the rooms!!! Further more they were booked ( we even offered to pay for an upgrade) and that was all they had for us and maybe tomorrow they could check for something else. That night we went to dinner, one that was reserved for us at the front desk when we arrived, only to be told they did not have our names! Again???? No, wait, yes they did but we had missed our reservation by half an hour. The girl at the front desk had given us the wrong time. With a huff the girl said she would see if she could fit us in. At this point we felt like very unwelcomed guests of the Sandals Resort. Later that evening we happen to asked for directions from someone at the concierge desk and when she asked if we were having a good time, we were honest. I was ready to go home. She was really nice and told us she would have a better room (club level) the next day, at no extra cost ('sorry or the inconvenience').

First of all Sandals has a 'class' system not an all inclusive system. Depending on how much you pay (overpay) is directly related to the service you get. The next day, the girl who we spoke to wasn't there so the manager decided to help. She told us that we had to upgrade our room with an increased cost of $150/night which would get us to the 'club' level and get better service and better room. When we explained that we had been offered this at no charge 'manager' insisted that there must be some misunderstanding that it was not there normal practice to just give the upgrade for free. She grilled us asking if the girl had specifically said she would upgrade. At this point 2 other employees joined her, we had no idea who they were but they would give a comment every so often, it was very intimidating. We did not argue or ever become unreasonable, we were starting to think we were going to get the girl who offered us the room in big trouble. The manager kept repeating that she would be talking to her when she came in for her shift. All of a sudden the manager had a change of heart and gave us the upgraded room, claiming she just wanted us to be happy and 'sorry for the misunderstanding'.

The new upgraded room was on the 2nd floor, it was the exact same room, just on the opposite side of the building overlooking the pool, the ocean view from the 2nd floor was completely obstructed by all the palm trees. This room had a soaking wet carpet on the balcony side, the bathroom smelled faintly of urine, no robes, no umbrella, missing shampoos and soaps. We received a call from the manager 10 minutes after getting to the room wanting to know how it was... at this point we were intimidated enough we felt it was better not to say anything and just finish out our stay and never return to a sandals again.

Looking back at all the reviews, it seems that the people who had the best time were the ones that had butler service (the highest priced service) This class system that Sandals has created is an interesting way of making more money from their all inclusive resort. For all others, it is an expensive (double the price of Atlantis or Riu) way to be treated like a second class citizen!

Room Tip: To get a good room, you must stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TC0N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of Sandals Royal Bahamian.

We are saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We apologize for any confusion you may have experienced during your time with us. Regardless of the accommodation you choose, I assure you that our staff members are committed to providing the best service and quality to anyone walking through our doors.

We have many guests that boast of our luxurious inclusions, water sports, fine dining, accommodations and quality of staff but as hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and your feedback is appreciated.
We always encourage guests to inform our management staff on property of anything that does not meet your expectations and you should never feel uncomfortable to do so. We wish to provide the vacation of your dreams and will be happy to work with you so that you walk away feeling your stay was money well spent.

I would be happy to look in to this matter on your behalf and will be contacting you shortly for additional details. Thank you for your continued patience. I look forward to making contact with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

stayed 07/09/13 to 17/09/13. royal village deluxe room. room ok, just, washhand basin( cracked) in the bedroom, probably because it would not fit in the bathroom. reported broken bedside light not working, got fixed 36 hours later with help from the chambermaid. mini-bar replenished some days, some days not, the same with coffee and milk. six restaurants all built round one main kitchen,same food,different sauce, so the restaurants became just different seating areas.some restaurants were closed for private functions, no guests of the hotel allowed (Casanova).
spices restaurant was only open for dinner on two of eleven nights, shameful. The food is not five star, all very average and at times not very hot. Breakfast was the only meal that stopped me from starving, but the bacon was cold every morning.NOT WORTH THE MONEY.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bluesgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We regret to hear that your stay was not as expected. We strive to uphold the highest standards of service and quality. Our staff goes through 120 hours of rigorous training each year to ensure we are providing excellent guest experiences. We have many guests that boast of our luxurious inclusions, water sports, fine dining, accommodations and quality of staff but as hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and your feedback is appreciated.

We want to make sure future guests do not have similar feedback and will take action by notifying the appropriate departments of your remarks - including our food and beverage team. We do request that while on resort you notify us of anything that does not meet your standards. We are always willing to work with you to make sure you walk away feeling like your stay was money well spent.

Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just back from a great holiday.All we wanted to do was lie on the beach,swim,have a drink and go out in the evening for dinner.No problems doing any of this apart from the latter as in my opinion the Restaurants are just not up to 5 star standard in respect of food served.The quantities probable appeal to the guests from the US of A but as a Londoner used to the finest cuisine I was very disappointed with every Restaurant on the complex.It seemed that the food was all cooked in the same kitchen and a different dressing added to coincide with the menu offered by each restaurant.Apart from this all was excellent.We like to dress up for dinner and make an evening of it but the food was so poor that most nights we reverted to the English Pub with its constant American football coverage for yet more chicken wings.Maybe all Sandals cuisine is similar to this and I was expecting too much but still had a great relax for two weeks.

The quiet pool is better than the noisy one where they play name that tune from 11am in the morning.The American guests love this and I did too in 1970 when it was popular.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.

We are grateful for feedback, inclusive of TripAdvisor posts, as it allows us the opportunity to identify our strengths and weaknesses. Our response to feedback continues to be in word and deed. We hope that you would afford us an opportunity to demonstrate the same.

Regarding your concerns about the food and dining options, it is surprising to note that some of the food served was not to your expectations. This aspect of our operation is usually considered exceptional and very often received compliments from our guests. We are therefore sorry if you were not similarly impressed. I will be forwarding your remarks to the resort's management team for further review.

We do request that while on resort you notify us of anything that does not meet your standards. We are always willing to work with you to make sure you walk away feeling like your stay was money well spent.

Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Second Time at Sandals !! This is our new little getaway .. My husband and I love it here since were from NY the flight is not that long . The employees are so nice the rooms are clean . Just because were married doesn't mean we don't like to have fun , love the entertainment staff Bullet
is our favorite everyday he went out of his way to say hello even sat and had a conversation with us , we played volley ball with him and loved the shows at night. We def. made a new friend and will be coming back to our home away from home

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debbie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Sandals Royal Bahamian. We are so happy that our resort has become like a home away from home to you. It is wonderful that you have such fond memories of our staff members and I will forward your kind remarks to our team.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
5.5 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
5.1 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
5.7 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
0.7 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach Resort
3.9 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Property: Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#1 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing