We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Olives Meze Grill

Olives Meze Grill
Ranked #43 of 278 Restaurants in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pottsville
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Ate here while staying at the former Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort. A short, safe walk from the hotel. Arrived with no reservations on a very crowded evening. Took a seat at the bar and the hostess was very accommodating - we were seated in no time. Food was delicious, service was awesome. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    128
    40
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Menu”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Enjoy terrific Meditteranean food in a casual, but pretty setting. Fairly priced and good service add to the ambience of this nicely adorned part of the Olive's chain. Especially if staying around Cable Beach, well worth the visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichBrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we found!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The food at our hotel was horrible so we took the advice of the concierge and tried a restaurant within walking distance - Olives Meze Grill. The place is very metropolitan looking inside, extremely clean and a great treat. The servers were all very nice and prompt for island time :)

For food, everyone was having the Saganaki (greek cheese flambed with brandy) which was quite fun to see. Being that I couldn't have alcohol we had to pass it up, my husband very upset about it! We instead had a ceviche style lobster appetizer, served in a martini glass. It was good, but I think we were stuck on the idea of the cheese. For dinner, I had the Grilled Octopus which was very good. The grilled char taste on it was perfect, not too heavy, and really gave a great flavor to the dish. My husband had the Lamp Chop, which was thick, juicy and just out of this world. It may have been the best meat dish I've had in a while! We then had the greek salad which although not exciting had a very fresh and crisp taste to it. Lastly, I had the espresso ice cream which was very good but I will admit I wasn't use to the thickness of the cream in it. My husband had the gluten free blueberry cheesecake and wasn't impressed.

Despite the deserts, we felt this was the best meal we had on the island and would have gone back again if we had the time. I would very much recommend this to anyone in the area!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank i_love_cupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, Bahamas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Why no local fish?”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This restaurant is conveniently located in the Cable Beach area and is frequented by tourists and locals alike. It is newly expanded and has lots of potential. We live in the area and are happy that the restaurant does takeout. On a recent takeout visit we ordered two fish dishes to take home. Surprisingly, for a restaurant located on a tropical island, and within a block of the ocean, no local fish were on the menu. We ended up with one salmon dish and one made with a mediterranean fish called spigola. Both fish were dry and disappointing and had an unpleasant texture. Perhaps they were cooked while frozen. Had we been seated in the restaurant, we would have sent both dishes back to the kitchen. It is hard to understand why the lovely, fresh and plentiful local fish (and lobster) are not on offer and the restaurant owners instead get fish from overseas that have travelled further than many of the restaurant patrons.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IMBAprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,741 reviews
1,088 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,502 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

15 minutes walking from the sheraton, walking west. Close to a roundabout, near a starbucks.
We had a few appetizers.
Humus was just ok and and comes with 4 small slices of flat bread. Grilled Octupus was the best dish, but could be a bit softer. Prosciutto mozarella rolls was average. Spanakopita was heated in the microwave, and it really did not taste fresh. We paid 50 bucks for these appetizers and felt the food was very underwhelming. We came because of TA and would not recommend that you go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olives Meze Grill also viewed

 
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Olives Meze Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing