We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isn't what it used to be!”
Review of Brussels Bistro - CLOSED

Brussels Bistro
Price range: $18 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located at the heart of Old Downtown Nassau, Brussels Bistro is a charming european bistro featuring the best of belgian cuisine, beers and wines with first class service. Our specialite is the Fresh mussels and belgian beers, of course don't forget to check the menu.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Isn't what it used to be!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a disappointment; nothing like our last visit!

A nicoise salad with canned tuna, rather than seared tuna, and no egg is not a nicoise salad!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jgl8b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    31
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of The Best Souffles”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This restaurant presents itself as offering belgian cuisine. So you expect rich cream sauces, light pastries, deep flavors. And your expectations are exceeded.
My wife enjoyed chicken breast with mushroom sauce en croute. It was delicious, cooked through with perfect, flaky puff pastry shell.
I decided upon their Pork Calvados. The chop, essentially a bone in rib-eye cut, was grilled and seasoned to perfection. Cooked white, but completely moist. The sauce was apricot calvados with cream. I could just eat the sauce. And there were some sliced apples which had been macerated, but not so much that they were soft, so the sweetness was there, but so was the tartness of the apple. Very impressive.
Finally, we had their guava souffle. The first one fell, so they made us a second. It was perfect. Presented simply with creme fraiche.

I would go back in a hearbeat.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

we found this place on a friday night in a side street in a beautiful building off the main street. the tartar and lamb chops were great as well as the salad...servioce was also friendly and fast!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mitre34438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Always good, and GREAT today!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were here for lunch with friends from the U.S. I had reserved our favorite table in the corner near the blackboard menu plus 2 Gulden Draak Belgian beers (10.5% alcohol by volume), our favorite, with Max, the very personable and accommodating Manager. Today, in addition to the regular menu, the chef prepared shrimp kebabs, which were OUTSTANDING by anyone's standards. The shrimp were cooked to perfection, neither over nor under done, and the sauce was incredible, the perfect complement to the shrimp. The kebabs came with very tasty vegetable rice on the side, which also contained baby shrimp. I congratulated (hugged and kissed!) the chef in person. My companions had the romaine hearts salad, the Caesar salad, and an omelet. All were very pleased, but I was ecstatic. My only problem is that the shrimp kebabs were a special, not on the regular menu. If only that could be changed!

We plan to return for dinner at some point to try the French duck terrine with raspberry sauce.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glad2BDone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful French/Belgian cuisine!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent menu with something for everyone, great atmosphere.. Small, quiet, easy-going, classy. It's a little on the pricey side, but the food is exceptional, and the wait staff are polite, responsive and cheerful. Great place for a romantic dinner for two.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank b&gp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brussels Bistro also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing