We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“One of the most awful night of my life” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Arawak Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arawak Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Nassau B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the most awful night of my life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

The place looks bad and dirty from outside, it is just on the main road and we could hear the cars and the music so loud in the room until 3:00 am. Did not feel in a clean place inside, and it smelled the dog so much

I felt so bad in there that I though about changing of place at midnight.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clementine-Tiptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
2
15
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nassau
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

I have really enjoyed my stay here. Arawak Inn is close to the Fish Fry, the Cricket Club and right on West Bay Street. The bus runs frequently so it is easy to get arround. You can walk to the beach at Arawak Cay or to the newly renovated Saunders Beach. The food at Cricket club is great-breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Bahama Grill is very close and lunch and dinner are great and reasonable. The rooms have refrigerators and four have microwaves and sinks. The weather is wonderful here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed in this inn in the april of 2010.
Pros : room is and bathroom is big and spacious.good and comfortable outdoors.
Rooms are well cleaned everyday.
Cons: The diggest drawback is the bathrooms.The water is nothing but salt water.
The moment you switch on any of the taps,there is this awful odor like that of rotten eggs
that lingers for hours after using the bathrooms.we would dread switching on the taps
and used cans of drinking water for brushing ,making tea etc.
I would never recommend this inn to anyone of make the mistake to staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roopa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

We are frequent travelers, used to roughing it when we need to, and love to find a good deal, but our experience at the Arawak Inn was not one of those "rustic yet charming" experiences. At $75 per night, it was cheaper than the nice hotels, but not at all "value for money".
Pros: Located near the Fish Fry, walking distance (15min) to the downtown area, A/C worked well, TV, our room came with a fridge and small counter space
Cons: Rooms pretty run-down and very dated. Patches were made to wood trim and bathroom tile with left-over wood pieces and plywood panels. Water smelled very sulfurous. It was like bathing and brushing your teeth with eggs! Also water cut off halfway through a shower... took some time for owner to fix it.
No private beach and the closest public beach is just a small strip of sand with a busy road a few feet away.

Bottom line: I would not stay there again. Horribly overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtv10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque new mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

While not luxury accomodations, Ann and Lloyd Gay are great hosts. It's not luxury but you are not spending much money here. Simple rooms and a real good location. Just outside the city but easy to get there. Homey atmosphere, people make friends here, more like a hostel environment.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Putnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

For great rates you can stay at this quaint 5 room inn, away from the 'resort crowd.' The inn is owned by a lovely couple, Lloyd and Ann Gay. They were very friendly and honest about places to eat, things to do and where not to go on New Providence. The rooms were clean, and our "pad" was outfitted with a kitchenette, including a refrigerator, a microwave and a sink. The grounds have character and beautiful flowers grow all over the place at the Arawak Inn. This place is a short walk from the zoo and a stone's throw from the Fish Fry at Arawak Cay. The guest lounge is a great place for a read or socializing any time of day and there's coffee and tea on hand until the innkeepers check in.

  • Liked — The friendliness of staff and the eclectic surroundings
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brightbiologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace River, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

The Arawak Inn has long been known as one of the three budget options available to travellers to Nassau, and at $80/night, the rate is certainly right. In comparative terms, however, the Arawak Inn offers only fair value for money, and most travellers would probably be happier at another property.

At the airport, our taxi driver was horrified by the thought that we were staying at the Arawak Inn, and tried to get us to stay elsewhere. After dropping us off (reluctantly) at the inn, we checked in with the pleasant owner, and made our way to our unit, all of which are named after Bahamian islands. Unfortunately, that was the nicest thing about our room, which was shabby, small, and really quite dirty. While the kitchenette was very convenient, it didn't look very sanitary, and the tiny bathroom was moldy and leaky. Beds were lumpy and uneven, and the entire room smelled very musty. Cable TV is a nice touch -- except when you can't get the unit to work. I note that management had thoughtfully provided a big pink feather with which one could theoretically change channels by "poking" the interior of the unit, but aside from possible electrocution hazards, couldn't they have just bought a unit that worked and had working buttons on it?

The Arawak Inn is minutes away from the undervisited Fort Charlotte, Botanical "gardens", Ardastra Gardens, and the Fish Fry, but it's let down by poor maintenance and shabby furnishings. Recommended only for true budget travellers.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank davidcalgary29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
0.1 mi away
Towne Hotel
Towne Hotel
#21 of 37 in Nassau
3.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
1.9 mi away
Orange Hill Beach Inn
Orange Hill Beach Inn
#15 of 37 in Nassau
3.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#4 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 stars 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#23 of 37 in Nassau
3.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arawak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arawak Inn

Property: Arawak Inn
Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is a small 5 room hotel, nr. downtown Nassau and major attractions such as the Fish Fry, Ardastra Gardens Zoo, and Ft. Charlotte. Air conditioned, self catering rooms with cable TV, a family island atmosphere, and a 15 min. walk to the nearest beautiful beach. Complimentary tea/coffee is served daily. Rooms are decorated with Androsia fabrics and artworks by local artisans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Arawak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arawak Inn Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing