We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a gem”
Review of Arawak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arawak Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Nassau B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 16, 2008

For great rates you can stay at this quaint 5 room inn, away from the 'resort crowd.' The inn is owned by a lovely couple, Lloyd and Ann Gay. They were very friendly and honest about places to eat, things to do and where not to go on New Providence. The rooms were clean, and our "pad" was outfitted with a kitchenette, including a refrigerator, a microwave and a sink. The grounds have character and beautiful flowers grow all over the place at the Arawak Inn. This place is a short walk from the zoo and a stone's throw from the Fish Fry at Arawak Cay. The guest lounge is a great place for a read or socializing any time of day and there's coffee and tea on hand until the innkeepers check in.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brightbiologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 34 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2008

The Arawak Inn has long been known as one of the three budget options available to travellers to Nassau, and at $80/night, the rate is certainly right. In comparative terms, however, the Arawak Inn offers only fair value for money, and most travellers would probably be happier at another property.

At the airport, our taxi driver was horrified by the thought that we were staying at the Arawak Inn, and tried to get us to stay elsewhere. After dropping us off (reluctantly) at the inn, we checked in with the pleasant owner, and made our way to our unit, all of which are named after Bahamian islands. Unfortunately, that was the nicest thing about our room, which was shabby, small, and really quite dirty. While the kitchenette was very convenient, it didn't look very sanitary, and the tiny bathroom was moldy and leaky. Beds were lumpy and uneven, and the entire room smelled very musty. Cable TV is a nice touch -- except when you can't get the unit to work. I note that management had thoughtfully provided a big pink feather with which one could theoretically change channels by "poking" the interior of the unit, but aside from possible electrocution hazards, couldn't they have just bought a unit that worked and had working buttons on it?

The Arawak Inn is minutes away from the undervisited Fort Charlotte, Botanical "gardens", Ardastra Gardens, and the Fish Fry, but it's let down by poor maintenance and shabby furnishings. Recommended only for true budget travellers.

Stayed: January 2008
2  Thank davidcalgary29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2007

No doubt PI and Cable Beach properties are expensive, but there are a few budget options elsewhere. Before we booked, I narrowed it down to three inns: Orange Hill Inn, Dillet's Guest House and the Arawak Inn. Both Orange Hill and Dillet's were full (holiday rush). I am very glad we got "stuck" at the Arawak Inn . Orange Hill Inn is very close to the airport, scuba diving and great beaches, but too far from town. I'd stay there if I was mostly scuba diving. Dillet's was near the Arawak Inn, but several blocks inland. The Arawak Inn had the perfect location. It's right on Bay St across from the water (no beach), 100 yards from the Fish Fry, and 20 minutes walking from downtown. The local Jitney buses pick up out front and will take you east to downtown or west to Cable beach for only $1. The five rooms at the Arawak Inn are dated, but have hot water, a kitchenette and are very clean. It didn't matter because we spent most of our time at the hotel mingling with other guests at the tables outside our room or at the covered cabana in front of the inn. Owners Ann and Lloyd were awsome. It was like we were guests in their own house. They gave us tons of great advice and even escorted half the guests of the inn to the Junkanoo parade on New Years eve. Great people. Their winter rates start at $80 (taxes included) and are some of the lowest on the island. It was also nice to see they don't jack their rates up during the holidays. Cash only.

See my complete Nassau on a budget report at:
http://www.geocities.com/jimlathom/bahamastripreport.html

Stayed: February 2007
7  Thank nakednavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2006

Above the norm low-budget lodging, perfect for cash-conscious travelors.

The most pleasing aspect of this basic, almost rustic guest house are the owners, Ann and Lloyd Gaye, who made my New Year's vacation an absolute pleasure. I was lucky enough to visit during "Junkanoo" (Bahamian carnival) and was given all kinds of advice about the best way to enjoy this unique festival. Ann and Lloyd really love their island, and are eager for their guests to have the best experience possible.

The room was clean, included a kitchenette, refrigerator, cable, air conditioning and fan. There was also plenty of common area where Ann, Lloyd, their pets (cat, dog and tropical birds) and guests can congregate.

The Arawak Inn is perfectly situated, as well. It's about a mile, or a 15 minute walk, from downtown Nassau, and only a couple of yards from other local attractions like the charming Bahamas Cricket Club and the Fish Fry, both offering typical and cheap Bahamian fare.

As the Arawak didn't have a pool or private beach, I made use of the Colonial Hilton's facilities (for $15 a day) in downtown Nassau. And don't miss the ample snorkling on New Providence - Stuart Cove offered exceptional service. All the more affordable, as I was saving so much on the room fee!

The Bahamas are home to some of the most friendly people on the planet. You'll have one of the best vacations, and most memorable experiences of your life!

14  Thank jayirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2005

I stayed at the Arawak Inn for 2 nights in February. The accomodation is in little chalet buildings. Each room has one double and one single bed. The rate was excellent at $60 per night (which includes any taxes). All rooms were clean and fairly spacious with a refrigerator and kitchen area with microwave, sink etc.

The beauty of the Arawak Inn is in it's location. You are directly across the street almost from the Fish Fry, an area where all the locals eat and hang out and a FABULOUS place to go for lunch and hang out yourself!! the food is fabulous and amazing value.

The #10 bus stops right outside for trips to cable beach and downtown and the beach is only a short stroll away.

This isn't for those looking for hotel accommodation and amenities, Arawak Inn is for those who are out to have an adventure and don't mind the absence of a pools/restaurants etc and are just looking for clean accommodation in a great location.

The owners are extremely friendly and will bend over backwards to make you feel welcome.

I wouldn't hesitate to return to the Arawak Inn.

23  Thank SoBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank veruska t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank liberaveramente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
7.9 mi away
Towne Hotel
Towne Hotel
#20 of 37 in Nassau
256 reviews
7.7 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#26 of 37 in Nassau
202 reviews
7.6 mi away
Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#6 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,659 reviews
9.8 mi away
Bay View Suites Paradise Island
Bay View Suites Paradise Island
#14 of 14 in Paradise Island
191 reviews
0.9 mi away
Orange Hill Beach Inn
Orange Hill Beach Inn
#19 of 37 in Nassau
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arawak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arawak Inn

Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nassau
Price Range: $82 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is a small 5 room hotel, nr. downtown Nassau and major attractions such as the Fish Fry, Ardastra Gardens Zoo, and Ft. Charlotte. Air conditioned, self catering rooms with cable TV, a family island atmosphere, and a 15 min. walk to the nearest beautiful beach. Complimentary tea/coffee is served daily. Rooms are decorated with Androsia fabrics and artworks by local artisans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Arawak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arawak Inn Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing