We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good location, but the hotel needs help”
Review of Nassau Palm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nassau Palm Hotel
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pretty good location, but the hotel needs help”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

You can walk to a fish market area with some good restaurants, and you're pretty close to downtown. The hotel staff was generally friendly and seemed on top of things. The rooms really need to be updated, though. In general, the hotel needs a makeover. Very low water pressure in our room. The toilet barely flushed. The hotel was moderately clean. As for the continental breakfast, if you want fruit, toast, or coffee it's free. If you want hot food you have to pay for it. Internet service is $10/hr or $16/day. There is a convenience store downstairs, but they only take cash.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaytonDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    35
    86
    58
    154
See reviews for
42
86
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife, sister and I recently stayed 4 nights at this hotel and I will go over the good nd the not so good. First the hotel is about a 20 min. drive from the airport and is located about three blocks from the town center. We rented a car on arrival and that worked out well. keep in mind they drive on the left unlike un the U.S. and Canada. A taxi one way will run about $40 so the car was better for us and alloed us to move about at will to go to the casino and eateries at and near the Atlantis resort and then leave on our terms when headed back to the airport. We did not use much gas and it ran aboat $5.50 a gallon. The car was $63 a day (small car) with Thrifty. On arrival at the hotel, the reception people were nice (Melanie was wonderful) and processed our chec- in in good time. Many travels complain about service int he Bahamas as many pay you little attention especially goverment workers but that was not our case checking in. We were given a room with two full size beds and a view, similar to what I booked on line at $113 a night plus all the add on's (extra person fee, maid fee, electrical surcharge, facility fee and tax) making it about $160 a night. All hotels do this within the city limits or at least I have not found one that has not and I was told that some of the charges are requred by contracts and unions. It would make it less painful if all but tax were included from the start in the price. The elevator to our 3rd room floor worked but is run down just like the entire place, the first day there was half of a dead lizard on the floor in the elevator, not sure where the other half was but this half was gone by the next day. There is no question the hotel it needs a facelift. It is a large place but almost verything is past it's time of being replaced or fixed up. The building needs a good scrubbing and paint job, the ice machine on our floor was broken, the pool, pool area and furnature are in need of help, big help. I was thinking that a $5-10 million dollar facelift would do it wonders. Once in the room, I checked for bed bugs and ants, roaches, but found non or signs of any, the carpet was not bad, the bath needed a facelift and our toilet paper holder was hanging sideways by one screw and then fell onto the floor eventually. They nly had signle ply paper and that needs to change. The tub had been repainted and was peeling in some spots. We had clean towels that were not spotted or ratty looking, the beds looked clean and were O.K. to sleep in. All the lights worked in the room and there was a working small refrigerator and a safe if needed. There are pay internet/computers stations in the lobby area but nothing in the room. The hotel is right accross the street from a decent public beach of which we went to. Towels were avaiable at a stand near the pool where a guy stayed all day doing not much of anything as very few people were around. Also, the pool falls in the shadow of the hotel by mid day so the beach is a better choice for sunning and swimming.There are a few bars on it for a drink if you so desire while on the bech. Crossing the street to the beach takes a bit skill as traffic is busy there and there is no walkway overhead so be careful and keep in mind what direction the cars come from. Near the hotel are some decent eateries and McD's about 2 blocks away and lots of places down town during the day of which is only a 10 min. walk to eat and shop on Bay St. The hotel had a breakfast that was included and had this available for a reasonable time period in the morning. It included, coffee, tea, juice, one cereal, muffins, toast, and one type of mellon. For us it was O.K. If you desired more food, a small table and grill was set up for orders of beacon and eggs, etc. There is a small store and bar in the facility and both had basic items to buy or order. I got the sense that many of the people staying at this hotel were from the Bahamas being close for business down town. In closing, the location is good, the place needs a makeover for sure, the people at the reception desk were fine and even stored a bag for us for two weeks while we visited a family island. For a lower cost place and if you can turn your head and not let the worn out facility get to you, it works. I never saw any bugs in the room or walking about the facility although it woud do good if they picked up all the trash (litter) in the lot next door as it looks nasty from up above. We will stay here again as it fits our needs and budget and we can tollerate the issues it has that I pointed out even though it would do wonders if they would spend some money on it. Your room and experience may be different from ours but we stayed there twice in one month (five nights total) and it was about the same experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TramBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nassau hotels

St Louis
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

i have stayed at this hotel during the holiday season for over 10 years. This Dec 2012 i had significant back pain sleeping on the mattresses, which were warped. i had to get up and sleep in the soft chair for 2 of the 3 nights i was there. Do they ever rotate out old mattresses?

The service was poor, received a call from yound lady at the desk stating i had long distance charges. She demanded that i come down and pay them immediately. I pointed out to her i have a credit card imprint and would not be coming down.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmehines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

i ordered this hotel at booking com.
at the picture it looks much nicer;
if you go already to the beautiful Bahamas choose a better hotel.
the furniture is very dated and the room make you feel sad.
i always sleep in not expensive hotels but this one i paid 100 $.
For this price you have much better places to sleep!

Room Tip: choose an other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LONDONRUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This place was a little bit scary with some of the rooms. The resort is pretty run down and needs a lot of work done to bring it up beyond being the cheap motel option. If you're just looking for a cheap place to lay down at night only this place will do, but I'm sure there are better places to stay for just a little bit more.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sportfishtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

When you pay these low rates, do not expect a five star hotel. Expect clean sheets, clean bathroom, and pleasant people (should not have to pay for that last one!). Nassau Palm is a perfect place to sleep over before going on to another island. There was a coffee maker, hair dryer, shampoo, a continental breakfast, and CLEAN sheets. There is no ambiance of luxury. The staff is very accommodating.Bed was comfortable. Carpet looked new since last year. IF you want to walk downtown, the staff will securely store your luggage after checkout. The only frustrations were lamps that did not work and no remote control device. If you are island hopping and need an overnight stay, Nassau Palm will suffice. NOT five star but satisfactory. Oh...if you are a sleeper who needs a dark room, the drapes are too thin. Light pours in all night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank platelet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

During my 3 day stay at this resort, the room I was assigned was very dirty, filthy and has little ants crawling up and down the tub in the bathroom. The mattresses has bed bugs, not comfortable, springs popped on your back and carpets had cigarette butts burnet. I did an inspection upon arrival and found the carpet was stained and parts of the room was run down. Hotel staff did not comply or care about my complaints related to the room I was assigned.

When I confronted a situation with the hotel manager related to wifi charges, the hotel manager, was not very friendly. The manager was very unprofessional, extremely rude, had an attitude, belligerant and aggressive spoken.

BREAKFAST AND LOCATION GOOD.

I DO NOT RECOMMEND STAYING AT THIS HOTEL. AVOID STAYING HERE. ITS NIGHTMARE. STAY AT A DIFFERENT HOTEL IN NASSAU.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ava W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nassau hotels
0.1 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#27 of 37 in Nassau
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Towne Hotel
Towne Hotel
#20 of 37 in Nassau
245 reviews
9.6 mi away
Coral Harbour Beach House and Villas
0.5 mi away
Arawak Inn
Arawak Inn
#4 of 14 in Nassau
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nassau Palm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nassau Palm Hotel

Property: Nassau Palm Hotel
Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nassau Palm Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy a relaxing stay at our newly renovated Sunset Resort Bahamas hotel,situated on one of the most desired locations in Nassau Bahamas with excellent views of the turquoise waters of the famous Junkanoo Beach. Our brand new 201 rooms hotel features 3 separate guest elevators, a fitness center,restaurant, bar, lounge,concierge desk and ample secure parking. Stay connected with complimentary wifi; while luxuriating at one of our two outdoor swimming pools. Located just moments away from Down Town Nassau, with it's world famous Straw Market and historic forts; Sunset Resort Bahamas is at the heart of it all!! Surrounded by beaches, restaurants and Shopping, there is never a shortage of fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nassau Palm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nassau Palm Resort
Nassau Palm Hotel Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing