We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old mattresses make for an uncomfortable night”
Review of Nassau Palm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nassau Palm Hotel
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
St Louis
1 review
“old mattresses make for an uncomfortable night”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

i have stayed at this hotel during the holiday season for over 10 years. This Dec 2012 i had significant back pain sleeping on the mattresses, which were warped. i had to get up and sleep in the soft chair for 2 of the 3 nights i was there. Do they ever rotate out old mattresses?

The service was poor, received a call from yound lady at the desk stating i had long distance charges. She demanded that i come down and pay them immediately. I pointed out to her i have a credit card imprint and would not be coming down.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmehines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    35
    86
    58
    154
See reviews for
42
86
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

i ordered this hotel at booking com.
at the picture it looks much nicer;
if you go already to the beautiful Bahamas choose a better hotel.
the furniture is very dated and the room make you feel sad.
i always sleep in not expensive hotels but this one i paid 100 $.
For this price you have much better places to sleep!

Room Tip: choose an other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LONDONRUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nassau hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This place was a little bit scary with some of the rooms. The resort is pretty run down and needs a lot of work done to bring it up beyond being the cheap motel option. If you're just looking for a cheap place to lay down at night only this place will do, but I'm sure there are better places to stay for just a little bit more.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sportfishtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

When you pay these low rates, do not expect a five star hotel. Expect clean sheets, clean bathroom, and pleasant people (should not have to pay for that last one!). Nassau Palm is a perfect place to sleep over before going on to another island. There was a coffee maker, hair dryer, shampoo, a continental breakfast, and CLEAN sheets. There is no ambiance of luxury. The staff is very accommodating.Bed was comfortable. Carpet looked new since last year. IF you want to walk downtown, the staff will securely store your luggage after checkout. The only frustrations were lamps that did not work and no remote control device. If you are island hopping and need an overnight stay, Nassau Palm will suffice. NOT five star but satisfactory. Oh...if you are a sleeper who needs a dark room, the drapes are too thin. Light pours in all night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank platelet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

During my 3 day stay at this resort, the room I was assigned was very dirty, filthy and has little ants crawling up and down the tub in the bathroom. The mattresses has bed bugs, not comfortable, springs popped on your back and carpets had cigarette butts burnet. I did an inspection upon arrival and found the carpet was stained and parts of the room was run down. Hotel staff did not comply or care about my complaints related to the room I was assigned.

When I confronted a situation with the hotel manager related to wifi charges, the hotel manager, was not very friendly. The manager was very unprofessional, extremely rude, had an attitude, belligerant and aggressive spoken.

BREAKFAST AND LOCATION GOOD.

I DO NOT RECOMMEND STAYING AT THIS HOTEL. AVOID STAYING HERE. ITS NIGHTMARE. STAY AT A DIFFERENT HOTEL IN NASSAU.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ava W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hueneme, California, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

The Nassau Palm is a basic hotel, located in downtown Nassau, near the marinas. There is a pool, but no concierge or tourist shops in the hotel. However it does offer clean adequate rooms at a good price. WiFi service is available in some locations for a moderate fee. The continental breakfast consisted of toast and oatmeal. The staff was friendly and helpful. This is a nice place to stay if all you need is a room and are not looking for a restaurant and tourist facilities.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kew, North Caicos
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I visited Nassau Palm Hotel for a conference for 7 nights, having selected it because it received the fewest "terrible" reviews of the three hotels in the area. Thus, I was not expecting much. I did a thorough room inspection upon arrival (looking for bugs, etc) and found that although the carpet was stained and parts of the room run down, it was otherwise clean and workable. Room included a refrigerator, safe, and the usual coffee maker, cable TV, air-con, all of which worked fine. The telephone needed to be replaced but I forgot to tell the hotel that; its wires were worn so it frequently hung up itself.

The hotel desk staff made my stay -- they were personable and very helpful. They directed me to nearby restaurants and sites I needed to access, and everything else I needed while there.

Some basic cautions:
1. The hotel does not have free or in-room Internet, which was a major inconvenience. Where I live, this is standard in all hotels now. Options were either lobby wireless for a precious $60 credit card payment, or a cantankerous, non-private desktop machine in an alcove off the hotel restaurant that demanded constant and exorbitant feeding of bills (US$ only) and worked very slowly. The hotel uses "conference centre" in its title but makes Internet communications difficult -- not the best way to attract business travelers. I'd recommend an update to the 21st Century and install open access Internet in all rooms. No in-room free Internet was the one reason I would not choose this hotel again and the primary reason it got an "average" rating.

2. Room keys get demagnetised if you keep them close to electronics or credit cards, or if they get wet. That's a pretty poorly thought out design on behalf of their manufacturer and probably a poor choice of manufacturer by the hotel. I frequently had to get my card re-printed but the desk staff was very helpful with this and I thank them. I'd just rather not have had to run up and down to get it done so much...

3. The stairwell needs a thorough cleaning. When the lift was down briefly for maintenance, I got some rather rude shocks on the walls and floor of the stairwell. It's nothing a thorough scrubbing and mopping and bleaching (and continued vigilance) wouldn't help.

If you're visiting Nassau on a budget and aren't interested in extreme luxury -- if you just need a place to zonk out after days outside, this hotel is fine. It is not a resort, but not everyone wants a resort. In fact if the Nassau Palm updated their facilities a bit (like Internet!) they might be able to appeal very well to the independent/ budget traveler and backpacker crowds, along with attracting more business clients. Again, my compliments to the staff for making the stay pleasant.

Room Tip: Bahamian friends told me to avoid the first floor rooms (though I didn't see any) as they have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bnaqqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nassau hotels
0.1 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#27 of 37 in Nassau
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Towne Hotel
Towne Hotel
#20 of 37 in Nassau
244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arawak Inn
Arawak Inn
#4 of 14 in Nassau
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nassau Palm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nassau Palm Hotel

Property: Nassau Palm Hotel
Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nassau Palm Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy a relaxing stay at our newly renovated Sunset Resort Bahamas hotel,situated on one of the most desired locations in Nassau Bahamas with excellent views of the turquoise waters of the famous Junkanoo Beach. Our brand new 201 rooms hotel features 3 separate guest elevators, a fitness center,restaurant, bar, lounge,concierge desk and ample secure parking. Stay connected with complimentary wifi; while luxuriating at one of our two outdoor swimming pools. Located just moments away from Down Town Nassau, with it's world famous Straw Market and historic forts; Sunset Resort Bahamas is at the heart of it all!! Surrounded by beaches, restaurants and Shopping, there is never a shortage of fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nassau Palm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nassau Palm Resort
Nassau Palm Hotel Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing