We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite a true boutique hotel”
Review of Graycliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Graycliff Hotel
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Laleham, Middlesex
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not quite a true boutique hotel”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Its got the drapes and the furniture of a real boutique hotel, but the service is too patchy. The staff are courteous and willing but lack the depth of training that marks out real quality. At breakfast we had a struggle each morning to get our tea made in the pot with milk and sugar. Almost every morning we would be offered four pieces of toast but only one or two butter balls. We had two basins and a bath with a shower in our bathroom, but only one piece of soap. This not not what I expect of a hotel charging more than £250 per night. Service in the restaurant was first class, so they know how to do it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    53
    12
    14
    15
See reviews for
23
106
20
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed there after my wedding and the place is absolutely fantastic! You can have the opportunity to swim in the first pool even build in Bahamas ( Churchill himself was there) , there is a restaurant right inside the hotel next to the reception where you can have perfect dinners!
Lots of green everywhere, silence and safety! There is a bodyguard watching the gate always after 4 pm

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razvan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

To avoid street noise we requested a Garden Suite, Bamboo II, reached by a meandering path through tropical gardens. The second floor suite had a covered front porch overlooking swimming pool and gardens, a sitting room with refrigerator, and a large bedroom. The concierge was unfailingly friendly, polite, and efficient, meeting each request with a genuine smile and immediate solution. The night we arrived, for example, I had had time to read only TripAdvisor restaurant rankings, not the detailed reviews. We asked her to make reservations at Montagu Gardens and call a taxi for 8:00. "I believe they have a pick-up service, " she said. Sure enough, within a few minutes she had not only secured our reservation, but also eliminated the $30 taxi fare with the restaurant's complimentary shuttle.

Room Tip: The hotel generator, noisy and frequently needed, is located about 100' SSE of the garden entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Travelling, working, living in dozens of countries over 50 years allows me these comments:

Extraordinary! A caring, elegant, historical retreat in Nausea brings exceptionalism to new heights. Over in the making, the property is splendid, with gardens, Koi pools with resident turtles and two charmingly lovely pools.

Yes, there are imperfections, but those only highlight the treats that are in store for you. A long Romantic Weekend here is worth its weight in gold (pirate gold!!). Anna-Maria and Enrico, the proprietors, have continued an historical tradition of hospitality.

The staff made our stay a fun filled joyous experience--our 30th Anniversay last weekend was even better than our Honeymoon (In Ixtapa)!!

Our Culinary Lesson from Chef Elijah Bow was a "trip" on its own! A terrific guy, who makes the Bahamine Cuisine shine (a bit of moon too!!). We now are experts in Conch Chowder and Blackened Grouper--all the tricks of a pro!!

We dined, danced, drank brilliant wines (one of the largest and best Wine Cellars in the world)! don't smoke, but had a couple of made-on-premise cigars--smooth! The Brazilian Grill had enough choice to satisfy even the most lustful carnivores; and the Pizza took me back to my early days in Napoli where the pizza was super good and a new experience.

Our special Anniversay Dinner was varied, tasty, bibulous and served by a fab group!

The challenge of Graycliff is to appreciate perfection whilst realizing that imperfection is what makes that appreciation possible, not every little thing is perfect, but our experience was.

This journey paid for itself in my wife's appreciation of our stay. Could not recomend anyplace better than the Graycliff, Nassau! Will we go back? An emphatic yes!

Breakfast requires a special mention: great choice, super service and HOT coffee/espresso!!

The weather happened to be a challange, however, we hardly notcied it due to the overwhelmingly hospitable welcome of all those who work at Graycliff and all the local people who were so gracious.

The streets of Nassau could use a bit of a clean-up, but with so many ships unloading, that is hardly surprising.

Room Tip: There are not a huge number of rooms, however the 'Bamboo II' suite was home for our stay. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paolo882016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Spent two nights in this hotel. Staff could not have been more helpful and the restaurant was superb if a little pricy. The accommodation in one of the cottages on one night was fine and for the second stay we were in the main building which is perhaps something on the lines of faded elegance. I would have loved to see this hotel 50 years ago but worth a visit now.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Yes, Graycliff is showing its age. But it is still really beautiful in an old world way, and the service and food are excellent. The owner was kind enough to let us stay in the pool cottage when we needed a place that would permit us to keep our cats with us, since the pool cottage is completely and privately separate from the rest of the property. The cottage had marble floors, murals on the walls, top-drawer Borghese bathroom amenities and incredible towels, and there was also a walk-in closet area that had a fridge in it as well. It was a treat to tour the extensive wine cellar (if you're into old antique-ish areas), and to see the very interesting rooms and their furnishings on the ground floor of the main building. The main dining room food was excellent, and the bread was the only REAL bread fresh-baked in Nassau: crusty, chewy, and flavorful. The property also has a cigar-making shop which you can tour, and where the cigar rollers are glad to explain every step of the process. The location couldn't be better, since it is just removed enough from the downtown area to be convenient to everything. In fact, the National Art Gallery of The Bahamas is practically across the street, and that is another place that is really worth seeing.

Room Tip: If you really want privacy and a little world of your own, I recommend the pool cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glad2BDone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went to Nassau for our first time to escape the cold of Canada and decided that we would like to stay in a hotel in the old part of Town. The Graycliff was the perfect solution from the friendly reception to a very attentive and friendly staff all round. We stayed in a room called PGX which we discovered is named after one of the cigars that is made at a small cigar making factory located on site. The room is in an annex that was nicely situated so that there three rooms that shared a huge balcony that overlooked one of the inner courtyards. The buildings oozed with history but the rooms were very large, comfortable and modern as far as bathroom and electronics were concerned. The free wi-fi was a bit spotty but we were on vacation and didn't need it that much. The main swimming pool is large and beautifully situated. We took advantage of a complimentary use of the Blue Lagoon to be able to swim in the ocean and we would recommend at least a day there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnsr55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
2.2 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#4 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
4.1 mi away
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
1.4 mi away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graycliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graycliff Hotel

Property: Graycliff Hotel
Address: West Hill Street, Nassau 10246, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nassau
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Graycliff Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next door to Government House and only a few minutes away from white sand beaches, Graycliff Hotel offers an enticing world tucked away from the casinos and glitter Nassau is known for. This AAA Four-Diamond hotel boasts twenty elegant guest chambers and spacious pool cottage suites. The ambiance at Graycliff is to make each guest feel as if they’ve returned home. Upon arrival, guests are invited to sit and relax in comfort of the lounge while checking in.The rooms are all individually decorated in various styles with names that evoke all the charm and romance of the tropics. Graycliff’s decor features an alluring blend of the old and the new. To experience the old there is the Pool Cottage where Winston Churchill used to stay or the Baillou, the original master bedroom in the main house. To experience the new, there is the Mandarino Cottage with its extra large bathroom with whirlpool. All rooms are air-conditioned with private bath. Breakfast is served to hotel guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Graycliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graycliff Hotel Nassau
Graycliff Hotel Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing