We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!”
Review of Graycliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Graycliff Hotel
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We are frequent cruisers who recently decided that when we visit ports we have seen before , we will try to try to seek out something different to experience. I pored over websites and came up with a short list of things that could be reached on foot within the limited time we had available during our upcoming cruise to Nassau. One was Greycliff. We disembarked, strolled up and down Bay Street to buy some gifts for those at home and then, we we reached the British Colonial Hotel, turned up the hill and walked through what appeared to be a quite disressed section of town. We were not sure if we should keep going, but we had been advised that Greycliff wat at the "top of the hill".

Sure enough, when we got to the top we saw some well-dressed ladies coming out of an opening in a stone wall right along the street. They were carrying what appeared to be bags with food containers. We poked through the wall and saw magnificen thand-carved mahogany doors that opened to a lobby of exquisite craftsmanship. Several dining rooms were serving what appeared to be delectable lunches to the guests. The hostess greeted us kindly and allowed us to explore the other rooms that were not then in use including the incredible antique cognac museum. We had heard that there was a cigar factory and wine cellar on site and asked where they might be. Our hostess directed us to walk through the garden grounds until we reached another large building on the opposite side of the property. We had no idea what we were in for!

Stepping out the back door of the restaurant, we entered a tropical paradise with two large swimming pools made from hand-painted tile, a modern and state of the art fitness center, a wonderful pergola with a mahogany dining table underneath set for a party, a Brazilian-style steak house restaurant, hotel rooms that were nearly invisible from the garden and lo and behold, the "cigar factory" in which workers spoke, joked and laughed happily while they fabricated cigars by hand.

We had to leave Graycliff all too soon. If when we visit Nassau again we have only a few hours, we will be sure to reserve a spot for their special wine lunch. If we have a few days, I can think of nowhere more exotic and luxurious to spend that time.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 808foodfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    52
    11
    14
    14
See reviews for
22
104
19
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at the Graycliff hotel and it was absolutely fabulous. The people there are extremely friendly, the food and drink are over the top and the facilities are extremely comfortable and elegant.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Recently stayed 5 nights at Graycliff. A special experience. I felt as if I were a guest in someone's home. It is quiet and private. This place has character. I mean REAL character. It is within walking distance to the high street for shopping, restaurants, 2 blocks. I stayed in a room called Baillou which also had a comfortable and spacious sitting room. Serious a proper size sitting room that could seat 6 people with space to spare! Staying at Graycliff was not cheap but it was not ultra expensive either. If you are tired of cookie cutter room hotels, Graycliff is the place to stay. I was shown a couple of other rooms and none of them looked remotely the same. Stately but not uptight and stuffy. The pools are excellent and quiet, no kids running amok here! There is a cigar company on property to tour, and in addition to the high end Graycliff restaruant, there is a Brazilian churrascaria which was fantastic and tasty! The owners Enrico And AnnaMaria Garzaroli REALLY know food and anything that goes with it. You can even book classes at the Graycliff Culinary Academy. Oh, and they offer FREE wi-fi to its guests. How common is that. Highly recommended

Room Tip: check the pricing on the rooms Mandarino or Baillou, great and comfortable with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2012

It was unique our stay at Graycliff hotel and its exquisite cuisine, my husband was impressed with the meat and I had the seafood which was superb, We were impressed with the cigar factory, wine cellar and the employees were wonderful , The New Years party that we were there for was memorable.This historical hotel and restaurant is hard or impossible to find one alike.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Twice a year, before Christmast and at the begining of the summer time I spend some days in Nassau. Twice a year since 2009 I stayed at the Graycliff in Nassau. Graycliff is one of the more charming hotels in the Caribbean area. Unique. Excellent food, excelent wines, nice live music... Expensive, of course, but it is worth it. Enrico and Annamaría Garzaroli are experts in hospitality.
Another cheaper opcion for dinner is The Churrasquería, and its amazing meats.This is another restaurant run by them.
I do not smoke, but I love to smell the fresh tobacco leafs while Raul is rolling cigars every night. The atmosphear of this hotel is highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed 4 nights here. The room was wonderful. The staff was very responsive and took care of everything very quickly. The pool was just wonderful and very beautiful. The hotel is one block off the main strip in downtown so you can walk to everything, including the straw market, shops, restaurants, etc.

Some of the reviews mention the smoking, and it is true that you'll smell cigar smoke in the hallways on the side of the hotel that is above the cigar shop. We don't smoke, but we didn't find it that unpleasant and there was no smoke in our room at all.

The prices of the food in the restaurants are pricey, but so is every other nice restaurant on the island, plus this hotel is a very nice hotel so that is to be expected.

Overall I highly recommend it and would stay there again. Find out the nights that Pam is playing in the piano room... she is wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I just returned from a 2 nite stay at the Graycliff Hotel and Restaurant. Two excellent dinners with the wine pairing selected by the proprietor himself, Enrico Garzaroli. I'm a foodie and appreciate the quality of the ingredients, presentation, taste of the meals I had there. After each dinner I enjoyed an excellent Graycliff cigar with a single malt scotch.

They have a great chef's table set up in their kitchen that I want to experience sometime. Instead of simply putting a table down in front of the "pass through "counter, they have set up a private cook station and tiled dining area inside the kitchen.

The Garzarolis are experts in two things: Hospitality and anything that goes into one's mouth: food, wine, spirits, cigars, and chocolate. If you want to get away to indulge your food and wine fantasies or cigar habit, the Graycliff is a great destination.

I experience it as a Jumbo B & B. I was treated like a guest in someone's home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjshibata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
2.2 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
3.4 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
4.1 mi away
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graycliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graycliff Hotel

Property: Graycliff Hotel
Address: West Hill Street, Nassau 10246, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nassau
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Graycliff Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next door to Government House and only a few minutes away from white sand beaches, Graycliff Hotel offers an enticing world tucked away from the casinos and glitter Nassau is known for. This AAA Four-Diamond hotel boasts twenty elegant guest chambers and spacious pool cottage suites. The ambiance at Graycliff is to make each guest feel as if they’ve returned home. Upon arrival, guests are invited to sit and relax in comfort of the lounge while checking in.The rooms are all individually decorated in various styles with names that evoke all the charm and romance of the tropics. Graycliff’s decor features an alluring blend of the old and the new. To experience the old there is the Pool Cottage where Winston Churchill used to stay or the Baillou, the original master bedroom in the main house. To experience the new, there is the Mandarino Cottage with its extra large bathroom with whirlpool. All rooms are air-conditioned with private bath. Breakfast is served to hotel guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Graycliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graycliff Hotel Nassau
Graycliff Hotel Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing