We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Experience Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Lagoon Island

Blue Lagoon Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.00*
and up
Blue Lagoon Segway Safari Tour
Ranked #3 of 123 things to do in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: These trained dolphins are playful and friendly, specializing in giving visitors a ride on the "dolphin surf," where one of these gentle creatures pushes you through the water with their snout.
Newport, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Experience Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

My family and I just got back for our first cruise to Nassau. We had a great time. Do not have one complaint. From the time we got to the port to the time we got off the ship everyone was great. We had so much fun. For are excursion we did the dolphin swim at Blue Lagoon on Paradise Island. They were great and very helpful with my elderly mother. She was in a wheel chair and they took great pains to make sure she seen everything as an observer to our swim. Great experience we all had a blast.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,359
    501
    183
    67
    44
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Timnath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So Fun!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We did the Dolphin Encounter and it was worth every penny. We were pleased and surprised at how much interaction we got with Andy the dolphin. Everyone got to do everything - hugging, kissing, dancing, and feeding Andy. The trainer was personable and funny. We had such a fun time that we'll definitely pay the extra money to swim with the dolphins next time.

The island is beautiful with gorgeous sandy white beaches. Lots of water toys, games like ping pong, and hammocks for relaxing. Plenty of lounge chairs on the beach. Didn't partake in the bar, but the lunch was tasty and filling.

The worst part of was the return trip only because we were having so much fun we weren't ready to leave.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MartaJTimnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We chose this tour because I was looking forward to a little beach relaxation time after the hustle and bustle of being on a cruise ship. The boat ride to the island was very scenic and enjoyable.

The island was a tourist mess! If you can imaging what was once a beautiful cove covered and cluttered with blow up water slides (only available for an extra fee of course!) a blaring loud speaker with frequent announcements you have a pretty good picture of what goes on at the Blue Lagoon Island. Not sure of the definition of 'private' because the island was full of people from 5, count them 5 cruise ships.

The tour is very expensive for what you get and I do not recommend this tour.

We had lunch on the island and it was okay. The only water available was expensive bottled. Bathrooms were in okay condition.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank JeannePlantation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knob Noster, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Great Time with the Dolphins of Blue Lagoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is one of the "bucket list" items that our recent Carribbean cruise helped us acccomplished. We booked this excursion through the cruise line as our time in Nassua was very short and we did not want to risk missing our ship. The overall experience was truly great and absolutely a once in a lifetime opporunity to swim with dolphins. The staff at Blue Lagoon Dolphin Encounters clearly enjoy what they are doing and after a brief educational talk about dolphins and the ocean's environment, it was time to head to our dolphin encounter. Getting in the water means reallygetting up close and personal--we were part of a small group of ten visitors and the dolphins seemed ready to show off. The "foot push" is the highlight--being propelled across the lagoon for about 30 yards is breathtaking. If there is any down side to this adventure--it is the nearly 45 minute (one way) ferry ride out to Blue Lagoon. Between the wait on the dock next to our ship and the round trip on the ferry, we used up nearly 2 1/2 hours of our in-port time. And, Blue Lagoon has a lot to offer that we did not get to experience. So, was it worth it--YES. Just be prepared to use up about 2 1/2 hours of shore excursion time if you visit Blue Lagoon.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Marty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun Day in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

While on a cruise aboard the Carnival Dream we took a shore excursion at Blue Lagoon Island and did the dolphin encounter. While we had made 2 previous stops in Nassau on past cruises and were not overly excited about returning we were very pleasantly surprised by this excursion. The beautiful white sands of the private beach the knowledgable dolphin training staff and the large number of dolphins, sea lions, and the cove where they feed the local fish population makes this well worth returning to a port that we would have otherwise been more than happy to pass on.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna and Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lagoon Island also viewed

 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Blue Lagoon Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing