We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Junkanoo Museum”

Junkanoo Expo Museum
Ranked #52 of 124 things to do in Nassau
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum showcasing the costumes and floats from the annual Junkanoo parade.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Junkanoo Museum”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Arlene Nash Ferguson is a wonderful hostess at the Educulture Junkanoo Museum at 31 West Street, the house that Arlene grew up in. If on foot, you climb up to the hilltop to find the museum. We had emailed Arlene to make sure she'd be open and we were the only two on the tour. She told us so many interesting stories during the tour, answered all of our questions, and let us pose in several of the hats that are worn during the Junkanoo festival. It was the highlight of our time on the island, visiting 11/2/12 via the Disney Dream cruise ship. I'd recommend this museum to anyone who loves island culture and learning new things. Plus it was one of the most colorful museums I've ever been in.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneyZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    13
    6
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
293 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“A wonderful museum!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a wonderful museum! We were able to tour the repurposed home by Mrs. Arlene Nash Ferguson herself. She and her family run the "Educulture Mini Junkanoo Museum" she and her family have a long history of maintaining and keeping the Junkanoo traditions alive. The exhibits go from room to room and the history is very interesting, including all the materials used to make the costumes. They are stunning. I really enjoyed it and would recommend it as a great history stop while visiting the rest of the island. Everyone made us feel like family, we were very warmly welcomed. What a great place! it is small so don't expect to spend more than 20 min. going through it, however, we were lucky and were given a tour and history lesson from Mrs. Nash Ferguson so it took a bit longer, something like 30-45 min. very interesting!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank boo2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
255 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“A MUST SEE if you want to have a real Bahamian cultural experience”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Following some reviews here on Trip Advisor and other indirect website notations, we were able to find this GEM of a museum. Royal Caribbean does not sponsor an excursion here, and that is a shame (I believe right now only Norwegian and Disney do!). The tradition of Junkanoo dates back to the slave era, where they were given 3 days off for Christmas to celebrate on their own. The celebrations now include a huge, colorful parade of many Junkanoo teams who all create their own theme and costumes, and march playing loudly on drums, whistles, and bells. There seems to be some confusion on the actual location of this museum, as it has moved over the years. But the one at 31 West Street and Delancy is the one we visited. It is actually on West Street, where Delancy starts/dead ends, about a block just behind and on the same side of the street as the National Art Gallery of the Bahamas (NAGB). They need a larger space to do justice to this story! (And I believe they are working on achieving that.) The founder, Mrs. Arlene Nash Ferguson, and her family who runs the "Educulture Mini Junkanoo Museum" has a long, close history with maintaining the Junkanoo traditions. The exhibits go from room to room in their repurposed home, and the history is well explained. One room has fantastic examples of each type of material traditionally used to make the costumes – everything from newspaper to sponge! We were there when, in their large back room, they were teaching school children about the tradition. Each made their own Junkanoo hat, and then was shown how to play an instrument. Then we were treated to a mini-Junkanoo parade, as the children marched through every room of the house several times! The owners really take great pride in telling this story, and are more than happy to answer questions. We only paid $5 each to see this, and by the end donated them double that to honor their dedication to their culture. You can tour this place fast, or take your time and really enjoy the intricacy of each costume and read each informative placard. At the port you can see a few examples of Junkanoo costumes, but they do not compare to what you will see here. This was THE highlight of our single day in Nassau – and we also toured the NAGB, Pirate Museum, and Fort Charlotte. We even bought a small Junkanoo mask from the NAGB gift shop as the sole souvenir of our cruise. Fantastic story, fantastic people, fantastic visit!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank MyTwoCent s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Junkanoo!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Junkanoo is so much fun! If you like Toronto's Caribana and other types of west indian/caribbean carnivals, you'll love Junaknoo! They're elaborate floats, costumes and live bands are something to be seen! It only happens twice a year so make sure you check it out!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 242Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Always a good time.”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

THe shops as usual were great. New location because of the fire.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junkanoo Expo Museum also viewed

 

Been to Junkanoo Expo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing