We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Flamingo Parade is Special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardastra Gardens, Zoo and Conservation Center

Ardastra Gardens, Zoo and Conservation Center
Chippingham Road, Nassau, New Providence Island
12423235806
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$16*
and up
Ardastra Gardens, Zoo & Conservation Centre Admission Ticket
Ranked #9 of 118 things to do in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ardastra Gardens, Zoo & Conservation Centre is a peaceful 80 year-old retreat spread over 4 acres of lush tropical gardens and is home to over 200 birds, reptiles and mammals. The Ardastra Gardens is home to a collection of endangered land animals and features the Bahamas National Bird, the beautiful and exotic Caribbean Flamingo. Here you will participate in the "Flamingo Experience", a unique show of the glory and antics of these incredible creatures together with an excellent narration of their story. You will also hand-feed the colourful and playful South Pacific Lory Parrots and have numerous photographic opportunities with "Toby" the Cockatoo, "Jackie" the Snake and "Freddy" the Peacock. While walking the Gardens, friendly and informed staff will answer questions while two-legged feathered friends will freely entertain. Light refreshments are available at the "Parrot Pit Stop". "Toby's Treasures" is filled with gifts/souvenirs so that you can take a piece of Ardastra home with you.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Flamingo Parade is Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Layout and gardens are lovely and easy to find your way around. We really enjoyed the bird feeding of the Lorikeets. The parade of the Flamingoes was very special as they responded to their handlers commands. Well worth a visit

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    305
    111
    21
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun for the kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We took my niece (10) and nephew (6) here while in port from a cruise. The flamingoes unfortunately were NOT marching that day, since there had been so much recent rain in Nassau. However, we were given 20% off the price of admission and went in anyway. The kids had a great time--they still got to see LOTS of flamingoes and peacocks, which are all just walking around the park, free. And they got to feed the lorries, which was a great experience--they let you into the large cage and give you apples to feed the birds. Great photo opportunities and fun for all ages.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank QHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Had a blast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Visited Nassau on a cruise. The zoo was not advertised or offered as a cruise ship excursion but I had found it on my own before leaving home. We took the #10 bus to the road that the zoo is on and hiked the rest of the way. My husband and I were surprised that there were only about 15 other people in the zoo. We got to get up close and personal with a variety of animals. We fed the lorakeets apples, marched with the flamingos and took pics with macaws. Everyone was very friendly and we could tell that the animals were well cared for. Probably the highlight of our trip!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank workingclasslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenport, New York, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Walking with the flamingos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

On a recent cruise stop in Nassau, we stopped at the fish fry for lunch. After we finished, we decided to take our 7 year old son to the Ardastra Gardens (well within walking distance from the resturant). Not expecting much, we were pleasantly surprised. The highlight of the visit were the trained flamingos. They followed their trainers commands and marched around the enclosed arena. At the end of the show several guests were invited into the arena with the flamingos. As you could have guessed, our son was chosen. When his turn came, he was hesitant but stood his ground when surrounded by the birds. Needless to say we got some great pictures. My sons comment when it was all over? "That was great!" The rest of the zoo was run of the mill. But we'll never forget the flamingps.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Nice Diversion if you Want to experience nature, birds and small animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We really enjoyed the lorikeet feeding and the flamingo show. Great for all ages and beautiful shady grounds to stroll in on a hot day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank impkokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ardastra Gardens, Zoo and Conservation Center also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Ardastra Gardens, Zoo and Conservation Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing