We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ardastra Gardens, Zoo and Conservation Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.20*
and up
Ardastra Gardens, Zoo & Conservation Centre Admission Ticket
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Nassau Guided Bike Tour
Ranked #8 of 125 things to do in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Ardastra Gardens, Zoo & Conservation Centre is a peaceful 80 year-old retreat spread over 4 acres of lush tropical gardens. It is a boutique zoo that specializes in bird rescue & rehabilitation, education, preservation of history and conservation of natural resources. Ardastra is home to many native species of plants and animals - including the Bahamas National Bird, the beautiful and exotic Caribbean Flamingo. We are well-known for our animal encounters that allow visitors to get "up close "with some of our residents. We encourage all of our visitors to take a guided tour for a better appreciation of our residents and our property. To maximize enjoyment, we also encourage our guests to schedule their visits around our Signature Showtimes: 10:30am, 1:30pm or 3:30pm. You can participate in the "Flamingo Experience", a unique show of the glory and antics of these incredible creatures together with an excellent narration of their story. Guests can also hand-feed the colourful and playful South Pacific Lory Parrots and have numerous photographic opportunities during your visit. While walking the Gardens, friendly and informed staff will answer questions while two-legged feathered friends will freely entertain. Light refreshments are available at the "Parrot Pit Stop". "Toby's Treasures" is filled with gifts/souvenirs so that you can take a piece of Ardastra home with you.
Georgetown, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

A small zoo/conservation area - the primary draw would be the flamingos. You can interact with them and watch the flamingo march. You also have the opportunity to feed the parrots

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beachyhammock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    359
    137
    28
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Ardastra Gardens is a tiny zoo, but it has its own personality. The big attraction is the Marching Flamingoes and they were very entertaining. Some employees were very warm and friendly some were not. We fed birds, watched the show and walked around a while. Not a ton of stuff to see, but it was unique in that it was more of a natural setting rather than a concrete jungle. They had birds we had never seen before which was interesting. This kind gentleman let us hold large birds and he took our picture with my camera. They had a donation box, but did not require a fee to do this and he was very pleasant. I'm glad we went just not as elaborate as I expected, but worth a trip once.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dpetrowske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not free”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

we took the number 10 bus here, had read this was a free zoo. Nope,$16 for an adult. No way! The walk from the bus stop to the zoo was nice though!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank laura j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great family attraction in Nassau”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We decided to visit Ardastra Gardens during a stopover on a recent cruise. None of the cruise line's excursions really interested us. We had heard about Ardastra Gardens while reading reviews of cruises and decided to visit it on our own. A taxi from the port cost $10 each way. Tickets cost us $14 each and our almost 3 year old was free. It is by no means a fancy zoo, but it is a nice relaxing activity to do with younger kids. Lots of birds, including flamingoes and parrots, and a few small cats and monkeys. It is a wonderful way to spend 2 -3 hours away from the commercialism and tourist-driven madness in Nassau.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JourneymanCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Little Zoo”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

You can do this trip yourself as we did. Get the number 10 bus for $1.25 ask the driver where to get off (the zoo is sign posted). Then it's around $12 to get in (less for children). There's a flaminco show at certain times of the day but unfortunately we didn't get to see it. A nice day out.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ne081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ardastra Gardens, Zoo and Conservation Center also viewed

 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Ardastra Gardens, Zoo and Conservation Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing