We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and unique”

Ardastra Gardens, Zoo and Conservation Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.20*
and up
Ardastra Gardens, Zoo & Conservation Centre Admission Ticket
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Nassau Guided Bike Tour
Ranked #8 of 125 things to do in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Ardastra Gardens, Zoo & Conservation Centre is a peaceful 80 year-old retreat spread over 4 acres of lush tropical gardens. It is a boutique zoo that specializes in bird rescue & rehabilitation, education, preservation of history and conservation of natural resources. Ardastra is home to many native species of plants and animals - including the Bahamas National Bird, the beautiful and exotic Caribbean Flamingo. We are well-known for our animal encounters that allow visitors to get "up close "with some of our residents. We encourage all of our visitors to take a guided tour for a better appreciation of our residents and our property. To maximize enjoyment, we also encourage our guests to schedule their visits around our Signature Showtimes: 10:30am, 1:30pm or 3:30pm. You can participate in the "Flamingo Experience", a unique show of the glory and antics of these incredible creatures together with an excellent narration of their story. Guests can also hand-feed the colourful and playful South Pacific Lory Parrots and have numerous photographic opportunities during your visit. While walking the Gardens, friendly and informed staff will answer questions while two-legged feathered friends will freely entertain. Light refreshments are available at the "Parrot Pit Stop". "Toby's Treasures" is filled with gifts/souvenirs so that you can take a piece of Ardastra home with you.
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and unique”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Ardastra was easy to walk to from the jitney stop. The website for Ardastra didn't really do it justice.

The zoo portion was simply amazing. The habitats were numbered along a self guided walking path. We were able to feed the lorries and I was impressed with the way they really focused on the safety of the birds.

We also watched the "famous marching flamingoes" that was really more like the herded flamingoes, but the kids got to be part of the show and the emcee was very entertaining.

We also got our photos taken with beautiful parrots and cockatoos sitting in our heads or kissing us. The photo opportunities and concessions had no real schedule, but we didn't go for the concessions, and we lucked out with the photos.

It was well worth it!

Helpful?
Thank j0llynik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    359
    137
    28
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great experience for the kids”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Have been there more than once and our daughter loves it verytime. Don't miss the parrot feeding : your kids will love it !... and parents too

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrea6900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ardastra Gardens”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Lovely place to take a break from Downtown Nassau and the beaches. Be sure to catch the flamingo show and the parrot feeding.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GrammaMiMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ardastra Gardens, do it yourself, not an excursion!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This quaint little zoo and gardens is wonderful. Highly under-rated by some people. Its not a zoo w/ elephants and zebras, but a nice, low-key place w/ attractive enclosures full of smaller local wildlife, monkeys, etc and LOTs of birds. The 20 minute flamingo show is a must-see! The grounds are beautiful and relaxing to walk around. But dont do it as excursion, you wont have enuf time. We spent 3 hrs there and weren't rushed like if it was a cruiseline excursion. BUT dont beleive anybody if they say the walking part to get there is easy! It takes at least 30 minutes from a ship. The walk from any of the ships takes you on a very long flat walk for 100's of yards on the pier. That just gets you to the town! Then you have to walk a 'gaunlet' of merchants and vendors to get to the first city street. Then, if taking a bus, you have another 10 minute or more walk to a busstop. On a hot day, it could be enuf to make you wonder if its worth it! They you wait for a bus and go on a 10 minute ride to an empty corner and you have to again walk and walk for 10 minutes to finally get there! Coming back, don't get lost walking back thru town to the pier. We were bushed by the time we got back and it was only 1pm!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank KYFishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Ardastra Gardens - Better than ever!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This gem is one of the most fun activities for kids in Nassau, it's a short trip out of town. A taxi from Atlantis was $16 or you can take the #10 bus (or jitneys, any of the #10 busses) from downtown for just a dollar or so. Tell the driver you want to go to Ardastra, you'll meet lots of local folks and be dropped at the corner of Chippingham road. From there it's 1000 feet of walking down to the well marked first right turn across from the Humane society into the drive and parking lot of Ardastra Gardens.
Other people here said the walk was too long and complicated, nothing could be further from the truth, check Google maps to confirm.
Be sure to check their website for times before you go, you don't want to miss the Lorikeet feeding and the Flamingo show, our son got called in to participate in the show and had a great time. This zoo seems on the rebound, new animals, fresh paint and more workers and visitors since our visit in previous years, nice to see.
They have a snack bar where you can get drinks, hot dogs etc, seemed reasonable for a tourist spot. Unlike previous years they now take credit cards except Discover for the admission, we paid $40 for two adults and one child.
A nice 2.5 hour visit with show, feeding and seeing the animals and gardens, you can get as close as you wish with Flamingos and peacocks.
On the way back you can take a shortcut across the field at the corner of West Bay Street and walk up the slope to the side of Fort Charlotte, the entrance is very near and they offer guided tours of the fort, restrooms and gift shop, a nice 30 minutes tour.
The area felt very safe for our small group in the daytime and after the fort we grabbed cool drinking coconuts from Flo's fruit stand before catching the #10 bus back into town across the street.
If you wish, you can walk over to the many restaurants for fresh seafood at the Fish Fry area known as Arawak Cay or it's just a few minutes ride back into downtown and then a very short walk to the cruise terminal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank WallyFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ardastra Gardens, Zoo and Conservation Center also viewed

 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Ardastra Gardens, Zoo and Conservation Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing