We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historical” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Charlotte

Fort Charlotte
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Nassau Guided Bike Tour
Ranked #18 of 123 things to do in Nassau
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Underground passages and dungeons lie underneath this old fort, built in 1787.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Historical”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great place to visit if you like history. If you visit in the hot months it get very stuffy in there. It costs a $1 to get in.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jlequin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    143
    97
    23
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“If this is a Fort them I must be a King !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Sorry but this is about the . . Best and the . . . Only thing you are going to get in Nassau apart from The Victoria Steps and a . . . Water Tower ! All of which are clumped together here. It took us about half an hour to see the lot ! If you are hoping to go exploring and sight seeing whilst here, forget it ! I am sorry to tell you that there is nothing here. Take my advice and just have a pleasant stroll around. One thing is worth a visit and that is a local bakery where you can try the delicious cake and even buy some to take home. Apart from that there are the bars and restaurants but if you are on a cruise, why pay when you can just step back on board ship ? The designer ships are just the same as home and I am afraid that you are cash to the locals and they will make the most of you. I am sorry that I cannot be more positive about the place but you can still enjoy yourself just walking around the back streets and taking in the atmosphere. Enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laird Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

For $1 it was pretty good. I wish I would have had a bit of a tour but for a doller what more can you ask for? Great view!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
1,278 reviews
360 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 784 helpful votes
“GREAT VIEW OF THE HARBOR”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Though this fort was never engaged in a battle, it's worth a visit. It was constructed in the late 1700s and named for the wife of King George III. There's a moat, now without water, and a drawbridge. The ramparts provide a great view of the harbor. There are period cannons on their carriages. A stroll through the dungeons below is worthwhile.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Bunmaster2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
541 reviews
305 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Worth the hike up the hill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Fort Charlotte is set back from the downtown port area, but its right across the road from the fish fry area. If you are on a cruise ship and made a trip to the fish fry, you should walk over to the Fort.
Its only a $1 admission to walk through the interior and go up top. There are some great views from the top of the fort. There actually happened to be a cricket match taking place on the field below that we watched a few minutes of from the top of the fort. You can walk through the interior and see some of the barracks and storage areas. Also keep a look out for the graffiti on the walls. We were able to find graffiti dating back to the 1820's. Make sure you walk through and read the boards with some history and info about the fort. This would be a great place for kids to look around and burn off some energy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Charlotte also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Fort Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing