We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Well Worth the Walk From the Cruise Ship Pier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Fincastle

Fort Fincastle
Book In Advance
$56*
and up
Nassau Land and Sea Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #22 of 119 things to do in Nassau
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The top of this 126-foot fort offers spectacular panoramic views of the ocean.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Walk From the Cruise Ship Pier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It's only a 10-15 minute walk from the cruise ship pier to the Queen's Staircase and Fort Fincastle, both of which are interesting and fun to visit. The fort admission fee is just $1 and we spent a good 20-30 minutes exploring the 3 rooms and enjoying the view from the top. Plus it was a fun walk!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    188
    190
    45
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1,183 reviews
758 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 964 helpful votes
“For the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Any visitor in Nassau has to go there for the view . The fort itself is o.k. , worth the admission fee of $1 but the main reason to go there is the view of the city and the port !
If you go there by car , have a look at the Queen's Staircase about 150 meters from the parking area

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank belleretraite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not worth a stop!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

It is only $1 to get in but, not worth it. It is a very rundown fort. You walk in, turn around, and walk out. Our tour guide literally told us two facts about the fort and then said we were welcome to tip him. Sorry guy, not today. Walk down the road and go to the Queen's Staircase instead of coming here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachse, Texas
Level Contributor
466 reviews
336 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“OK!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

It was OK. Beware of shaky neighborhood. Our family used a rental car to visit the place late afternoon. There is few things to see. The businesses were closed after 4 PM and nobody walked in the town. We didn't feel safe so we returned the car near our cruise. You may visit in the morning with a group. The beaches were clean and excellent. It may not be safe at night.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BangkokSachse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

It's a one dollar admission. But it is a well spent dollar! :)
The view once you get up there is to die for! I fell in love with it. Make sure you visit Queen's Staircase, which is located right in the area!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mszxleli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Fincastle also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Fort Fincastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing