We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Thumbs up!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I have stayed at many nice hotels all over the world, however this hotel was the most relaxing and most friendly hotel that I have ever stayed at. This hotel is a must for the business person or individual that is looking for a quiet, clean, and safe retreat from the busseling noise and activity of the island. quiet rooms and a private beach made my trip very relaxing and productive. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelor1a1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,826 - 2,832 of 3,444 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2010

We found the hotel to be very clean. The reception staff were very friendly. The housekeeper who maintained our room for the week was Delvera and she provided excellent service. The dining room had very good food and service. We found the location to be very handy to shopping, dining and sightseeing - we walked everywhere. The hotel facilities including pool, and private beach were great.
Vicki and Shane
Canada

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickiandshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

The staff members at the hotel are incredibly nice. I stay at this hotel frequently for business, and I am always greeted with a smile. Andrea in the hotel restaurant always stops by to say hello during breakfast. She epitomizes the local charm and spirit of the Bahamas, which as a solo traveler is much appreciated!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericsilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

The hotel facilities were wonderful and the staff went out of their way to ensure that our group was well cared for. If I was going to go for a short trip to see Nassau for the first time, I couldn't think of a better place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingJim45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton while attending a wedding which was being held at one of the large Cable Beach hotels. We are so glad we chose to stay at the Hilton rather than the wedding hotel. The Hilton has a great location, is close to great restaurants and shopping, has a nice beach, and is well-maintained. We stayed on the executive floor and took advantage of the lounge for breakfast and evening drinks -- it was very nice. The wedding hotel was run down and distant from anything else we would have wanted to do while on the island.

But most importantly, the staff at the Hilton were exceptional. They were uniformly friendly and helpful throughout our 3-night stay. I am especially grateful to them for one thing, though -- I left my camera in a taxi returning from the wedding to the Hilton. Naturally, I did not have a taxi number or driver name. The Hilton staff (Executive Lounge staff, front desk and bell stand) all jumped into action and managed to help track down the driver and my camera, which was returned about 2 hours later. I can't thank the Hilton enough, and my nephew and his bride now have a couple of hundred wedding photos which would have been lost without the efforts by the Hilton staff.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NC-Troublemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

The Hotel is very clean, staff great, and good bar and restuarant. We were travelling with an Infant and I am a Diamond member so we had access to the executive lounge. However in the evening we were not able to take our daughter. This was disapointing as we had to tag team to use it (we were not told this at booking or check in),. or use the hotels baby sitting service, which we did to go out for dinner elswhere. Location in Nassau is great for walking around (however the pavement (sidewalk) is a bit of an off road experience with a stroller).

All that being said I think pretty much all the staff were great with our infant and helping out (even leaving extra bottles of water for us to make up formula).

The bar area and beach furniture definately need a make over, especially being in such a great location. We also enjoyed watching the daily cruise ships come in and out.

We were on a points stay so we were covered, but I would say the room rates were high unless you can get a deal.

It was still a good experience though.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamingelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I have been staying at this hotel for 3 years and since the refurbishment it has made it a must to stay at! Beds and pillows are the best in the world outside of my own at home and wow, one really gets a great nights sleep. the staf are easily the friendliest from housekeeping to management everyone is willing to help! Personally, having stayed at some wonderful properties, this matches and often exceeds the best anywhere. you MUST give this a try!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinh2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
2.1 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,672 reviews
3.4 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#1 of 37 in Nassau
409 reviews
3 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
1.8 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
Price Range: $216 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing