We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights for pleasure a great location for seeing Nassau had a fabulous curry (very mild) but extremely delicately spiced at Aqua.Relaxing poolside ambiance beds were very comfortable .Drawbacks were quite expensive however if you wanted free wifi or a cheap breakfast McDonald's or dunkin donuts were across the road.Good service and very pleasant helpful Bahamian staff . Would recommend to others.Great poolside entertainment watching the cruise ships manoeuvre into port!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiganthorpewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,794 - 1,800 of 3,377 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

No love here. One of our cruiseline port stop. Was recommended to go to British Colonial Hilton for a beach/pool day use. Besides the unattentive front desk person, the fee now is $65. Ridiculous specially of you see the small pool and patch of beach they have to offer.
Better go walking further down to JUNKANOO BEACH. $10 all day umbrella rental and tons of places to buy food and drinks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank virtuaplyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The view is amazing. It's localtion is perfect for moving across Nassau. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I want to recognize the work of concierge Adrian Kelly, bartender Benedict and room-service staff Delvera. Will be coming back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felix R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Great hotel and ammenities. I enjoyed the pool. The food is also great. I loved the breakfast; a whole spread. The same with dinner. The food is just as good as the food served in any good South African hotel. Just don't forget anything in your room when you check out. I forgot my hat in a drawer and it is just gone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The view of the bay was pretty, but that was the best part of our stay. Public areas were supposed to have free wireless, but my husband and I never got online. We complained to a woman at the front desk and she just shrugged. They charge to use wifi in your room, but I doubt it worked much better. We had dinner in the restaurant where we ordered the "fresh catch of the day". We got a piece of "frozen" grouper for $27.00 per person. Our server verified that it was frozen. What a rip off! The room had cold marble floors and showed signs that some renovation had been tempted unsuccessfully. Room rates are expensive and not worth it!
Sandy, Peachtree City, GA

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hallway, facing the water.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sandy1432014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Staff is all very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and is perfectly located. The pool and beach are immediately accessible, as is downtown. The pool bar tends to close a tad early but that can be worked around. You can download a cruise ship schedule and watch them turn around right at the hotel beach. Overall quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank WIlliam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was my first time in the Bahamas and I was very excited upon arrival to see the beautiful lobby area. We enjoyed the view from our harbor side room, it was beautiful. We were able to watch the cruise ships come into port on Friday which I thought was great until I had to share the "private beach" with paying cruise ship visitors and their very loud children. We had to get our own drinks from the beach bar because what staff they did have on the beach were busy taking care of cruise ship excursion guests. On Friday night there was a private event that kept the hotel guests from utilizing the bar and the band music rocked the rooms. Saturday found even more excursion guests on the beach as well as a children's birthday party at the pool. This night had a private event that closed off the beach and pool area to hotel guests. The booze cruise music blasted from the boat well into midnight as it cruised just off shore. Let's not forget about the added expenses that you get at check out. There is a $10.00 a day housekeeping gratuity, 15% gratuity on all services and an energy cost. We were charged $77 for three days. We loved our stay in the Bahamas but this was definitely not the Hilton experience that we are accustomed.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the harbor view room. The view of the city is not great and the street is very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meka0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
2.1 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#6 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,643 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
3.0 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
3.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#2 of 37 in Nassau
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#3 Family Hotel in Nassau
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range: $199 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing