We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Everything was simply wonderful. Good to be able to getaway sometimes with out having to actually leave the island. Had a wonderful stay. Food was good, environment was clean and the staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,872 - 1,878 of 3,377 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

wi fi should be complementary. the rodant problem on the grounds outside needs atenation. overall, a great place to stay. love the pier, pool area, and lounge. nice restaurant. staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank 291albertam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed here for a week for business. The location downtown is quite nice, but a few cautions and one excellent note. First, the breakfast buffet was quite wonderful. The staff very attentive, the food very good - fruits, selection, excellent omelets. So very happy on that front. For the room...it was a bit small. The water pressure very poor and water out of the tap, not so tasty. No complimentary water provided - even for a Hilton Honors. The beach area is clean..but i worry about the water a bit...i swam everyday and there is a pipe discharging warm water from under the parking lot next to the hilton into the bay. I didn't notice until the last day while swimming - the water was cool because of weather and swam into the warm spot which it to the left looking into harbor. Also with all the ships, etc., not sure how clean. At any rate, if you want to sunbath, enjoy the view, swim in pool - quite nice. The hotel fitness center is okay. Just enough to get a small workout..but not a full gym with lots of equipment. The staff at reception is okay, but could use more people. A caution about the costs....I tipped the room attendant and was surprised at checkout that the hotel automatically charges you $5/day tip to the person. Also there is a resort surcharge 10%, an energy tax 10% - that I wasn't aware of...adds quite a bit to your bill. All in all...decent location for central area for business. Be prepared for taxis to atlantis or other spots...and taxis are expensive. Breakfast great, room good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globalreviewer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed one night with our pre-teen son and changed hotels after that. Our room was high up, but faced the street. Lots of traffic noise late into the night. The double doors in the room didn't have a solid closure...there was daylight showing through, I'm glad it didn't rain. Walls are paper thin it seems...our bed banged and vibrated from the couple next door, not ideal. Also lots of noise from the room on the other side - the one with the connecting door. The faucet in the tub had corrosion - seemed to stick out away from the tiles - which had some mold in the grout. Beach area is as described from others - sandwiched in an industrial area. The front desk staff was very kind and cancelled our other nights at no charge. It would be nice if the hotel could be updated.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank mydoghatestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations and sorry we did not have an opportunity to correct it prior to your departure. Please accept our apology.

Should you decide to decide to return please contact me directly so that I can make all the necessary arrangements. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I were extremely happy we chose the Hilton for our wedding. It was the best decision ever! Thanks to Shambula Hutcheson and the Banquet Staff at the hotel who helped to make our day beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tammara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The British Colonial Hilton Nassau to celebrate such special occasion. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will let Shambula Hutcheson and the banquet team know they contributed to your one-of-a-kind experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Kara Armbrister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We were married here in December 2013. Travelling on a cruise ship we decided to change things up and get married at a hotel along the way and not the boat. WHAT A MISTAKE. Extensive research was completed and my now wife and she chose this hotel over others in Nassau.

The biggest shock for us was that it was known that we were travelling with 20 of our close family members who wanted to share in our wedding day. When we arrived at the hotel, THEY DEMANDED THAT WE PAY AN ADDITIONAL $65.00 PER PERSON TO ACCESS THE BEACH ONTOP OF OUR WEDDING COSTS !!!!! THIS WAS NOT LISTED IN THE CONTRACT ANYWHERE !!!

Our guests had to wait over 1 hour in the lobby before we were finally allowed on the beach.

We arrived at 12, service at 5:20, left to board the boat at 7:30.

Way more negatives that positives here, no support at all from staff except one gentleman at the front desk.

Have stayed at Hilton hotels many times but after this experience, never again.



Shuttle to hotel was hard to find.

Room Tip: our room was dirty, hadn't been vacuumed that day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxury_traveller_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The British Colonial Hilton Nassau to celebrate such special and memorable occasion. We are sorry disappointed to learn of the inconveniences experienced as outlined. Please asscept our apologies

At your conveience, can you kindly contact me directly so that we can further discuss.

We certainly appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We booked this trip through JetBlue Getaways. Positives: The hotel is located on the coast in the downtown part of the city which makes it easy to venture out into the area. The lobby is beautiful as well as the hotel restaurant. I also appreciate that room service is open for 24 hours.
However, the windows to our room sat on an attached rooftop. When you look out of the window it is as if I could open it and step out onto the roof of the lower part of the building. It was anything but romantic. My suggestion to the hotel is to use that lower roof top by turning it into a balcony for the rooms that rest on top of it, which would convert poorly-placed rooms into desirable balcony rooms with a city view. It would also eliminate the depressing feeling the rooms currently have. Alternatively, if that's not a option, cover the attached rooftop with tile or grass and potted plants, or anything else attractive. Additionally, the faucet to the tub was corroded and our toiletries were not replaced when the room was cleaned the next day. We asked to be switched to a room with a nicer view and the next day at 4pm we were switched to a corner room overlooking the ocean that was beautiful. (Thank you Patricia!) The faucets on the tub and sink were in perfect condition and our toiletries were replaced every day after that.
The hotel is located on the beach which is nice, but the placement of the hotel has a negative impact on the beach experience. When you are on the beach or in the water, next to the portion of the beach sectioned off for the hotel, there are concrete corroded walls and on the other side there are large cruise ships docked. If you look straight ahead it's a beautiful view but if you turn your head either way, it's less than ideal. Moreover, while swimming in the sectioned off part of the water, a plastic milk carton floated by. I'm guessing that the fact that the hotel shares the bay with the harbor may make it more susceptible to unwanted things making its was into the hotel waters.
Also, there is no hot tub. :(
Additionally, we wanted to order food from the poolside restaurant to eat on the beach but the service didn't start until 11:30am. Furthermore, even though we laid out all afternoon, no one from the beach/pool restaurant ever came up to ask us if we wanted to order anything.
Finally, on two of the three nights we were there, there was no hot water. The hotel said that there was an issue with the water heater but they couldn't tell us when this issue would be resolved. Finally, on the last day, we are able to take a hot shower.
This hotel has potential but they need to build something nicer to look at than than the corroded beach wall that you currently see when you look back at the hotel from the beach and improve the rooftop issue some on the rooms have. I would also ask that they open their poolside/beach restaurant earlier than 11:30am and have staff come around the beach once in awhile to see how the guests are doing. And, of course, please have a jacuzzi, it would make a world of difference! With those improvements I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't on top of the roof. If you are above the 4th floor you should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLBinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. We are very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations and hope that you will accept our apologies.

We regret that vyou were not satisfied with your accommodations and hope that you will afford us another opportunity to wow you. Should you decide to return, please contact me directly and I will arrange all of the necessary details.

Once again, thank you for your comments as they are crucial in helping us to pin point areas of improvement.

Best Regards,
Kara Armbrister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
2.1 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#6 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,642 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
3.0 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
3.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#2 of 37 in Nassau
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#3 Family Hotel in Nassau
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
Price Range: $199 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing