We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sad little 'beach'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sad little 'beach'”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We regretted staying here. I'm sure its fine for business, but it falls short for a vacation.
The little beach is shoe-horned between an ugly jetty and rusted cargo containers. They've done a nice job with lounges and hammocks on the property- but the whole pool area needs an overhaul. We ended up spending our beach days at another hotel with a nice water front.
The concierge lounge was just okay: the coffee maker sprayed milk all over the place, but other offerings were a little nicer.
This feels like a sad, old hotel. I rated it "average" (not poor) because we paid a low rate. If I'd paid more, I would have rated it low.
The tap water is yellow.
Unlike other reviewers- our customer service experience was pretty good.
Pro: nice gym.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent visit with us. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our gym and customer service experience but extremely disappointed that we did not meet your expectations.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,027
    1,064
    571
    315
    187
See reviews for
645
1,205
215
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I rarely complain, I know 'things happen'. But when they happen non-stop, I complain because it is obviously not a 'one off', its the operating model! And I 'was' a HHonors Gold member, normally favor Hilton. This experience was horrible, especially for the price that was charged for the room. Arrive in the room, kick off shoes, put luggage away and lay on bed and the bed spread is filthy, from my feet on the floor when walking through the room! First day, no hand towels, second day, only two bath towels (2 guests), and also no coffee station refills. I think we only heard TWO “hello’s” from any staff member the entire stay. We literally got bumped aside from one doorman pushing past us to get out the door before us to help someone out of a cab?!? At checkout – the “indifference’ continued! I NEVER checked out of a hotel and was not asked how the stay was or if it was satisfying! Not a Hello, goodbye or thank you – NOTHING during checkout! Room service was horrendous! Promise of 35 mins the first time, I had to call twice, and it arrived after an hour – cold. Second time, same story, except I was told TWICE it was “on its way up now” – only to arrive about 40 mins later. No explanation, and when I told the person delivering it to take it back we weren’t hungry any longer, she just said “fine” – turned on her heels and walked away. EXTREMELY disappointed for a Hilton.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Guest satisafction is our highest priority and we are sorry to learn we fell short on your expectations.

We do make every effort to ensure our rooms are free of any housekeeping issues and are disturb it was not so in this instance. Please accept our apology.

We are extremely disappointed to learn of such attitude displayed by our staff,, whenever an incident as outlined occur, we like to know about it so that we may take the appropriate corrective action.

Should you decide to visit us again, please contact me so that I can make the necessary arrangements.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great location...beautifully decoded hotel. The rooms are a tad small, but you are not in them much while on the island anyway. The hotel has a great restaurant and bar and the pool is fantastic for lounging. It also has a small private beach. Best of all you can walk anywhere in Nassau from the front door of the hotel. Food is pricey...but hey..this is Nassau.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie-BeachBumsX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. Our property is indeed an historic landmark in the heart of downtown nassau, and we are happy that you enjoyed the location.

We are also glad to hear you enjoyed our restaurant, bar, pool and private beach.

We certainly appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The pros of the Hilton are: - great location (close to amenities) - beachfront and - A short drive to Atlantis The cons were its a little on the expensive side, has limited privacy/thin walls, and the hotel bars close very early.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to many more opportunities of serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Relaxed style hilton. Tends to work to Bahamian time.

Rate is ok if booked in advance.

Reception staff friendly, pool staff great. Location is very central. Beach over looks Paradise island and the Ferry port.

Worth a short stay. Good breakfast. Lots of things todo around hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MattyJBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We certainly appreciate your kind comments about our friendly staff, breakfast and good location.

We value your comments and look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My family was visiting Nassau on a cruise ship, and wanted an alternative to Atlantis (the hotel and beach are visible from the cruise ships on the right side of the ship when mooring to the pier. We purchased our pass for $60pp in advance through Island Marketing, and received a $40pp food voucher in return. The voucher was ample for a nice lunch of wraps/burgers with a nacho starter, plus drinks at lunch and mid-afternoon. The hotel is a very short walk from the cruise terminal, just past the straw market. Towels are supplied and need not be brought from the ship.

The beach is not large, but did the job and was not crowded (although by mid-afternoon all lounges were taken). It certainly was clean, as well as quiet. Be aware that it is not a beach directly on the ocean. The pool was clean and nice, though not heated, and not many guests were in the water. Many nice interesting ways to sit out at the pool deck. Floats and kayaks were available gratis. I received a free wifi access pass, though I am not sure if this is because I am an HHonors member. The wifi worked well (for security reasons, I'd recommend you use a VPN such as cloak when accessing hotel wifi). Some of the chair sun cabanas were not functional. I also agree with prior comment that there was at times the smell of diesel exhaust coming from the stacks of cruise ships and freighters at the pier which was just yards across the inlet.

We found the pool/beach/bar staff to be first rate, and very helpful. I had leftover $ on my voucher and was happy to leave an oversize tip to them. Reception desk staff also was very friendly and certainly more laid back than I am used to in NY.

During our visit, it was Boxing Day. Making our way to the hotel between 8:30 and 9:00 AM, we got to see the Junkanoo parade, since it started late due to rain the night before. The hotel is in direct proximity to parade, and was actually a staging area for some of the entrants in the parade, which made the Hilton a focal point of the action.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
282 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I had a group at this hotel for my wedding, and we were delighted with our stay at the property.

The hotel is situated in downtown Nassau and walking distance to all the shopping, restaurants, straw market, cruise ship terminal, etc.

Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by the doorman and the front desk agent was very friendly and helpful at check in. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite. The lobby is indeed a colonial relic, it feels of the old world, and it is beautifully maintained. They had a local mens' choir perform Christmas carols each night during our stay.

The room was very well appointed, a comfortable bed, very nice bathroom and was very pleasant. Our room over looked the pool and the beach area.

The pool is great, they have comfortable lounges, cabanas and these large sofa things under umbrellas, was outstanding. There is a small private beach and you can watch the cruise ships enter and leave right from the beach or the pool area. There is a very friendly bar staff in the pool and there is a good menu of sandwiches, salads and burgers available. It is not anymore expensive than anywhere else on the island.

We ate in the restaurant, Aqua, one night, was very good. It has to be said that the service is friendly, helpful and you really get the feeling that the staff care about your stay at every touch point you have with them, whether a housekeeper, the outstanding concierge or the bar staff.

A nice touch was that the hotel left a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room the day of our wedding, which was offsite, a very nice touch.

We will definitely go back to this hotel again. It is excellent.

Room Tip: Pay a little more to be on the beach side, which is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feyenoorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
2.1 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
8.5 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
3.0 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
4.1 mi away
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Property: British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nassau
#3 Family Hotel in Nassau
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing