We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good efficient Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good efficient Hotel”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Good location, nice rooms, well organised Hotel without being at the really top end of expectation.

Must say staff were particularly friendly and helpful with a special mention for I think the name was Levandro Knowles a charming young man on reception.

Would stay again, if you like watching the big ships you are never short of entertainment.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for Harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonValPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your saty with us. We are extremely happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the service you received from our staff. We have forwarded your comments to Lavardo Knowles so that he know he helped you have a great stay.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    1,062
    570
    315
    187
See reviews for
643
1,204
215
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, MA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Be careful when pricing this hotel, there are many costs which were not well represented online which increased the cost per night by over $100 above our "quoted price." This would have definitely influenced our choice of hotels as this was not a nearly $350/night hotel, in my opinion.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit with us. With reference to the service fees you referred to, they are union mandated for all major hotels in Nassau. Guests are informed of taxes, fees and service charges at the time of booking. Should you need further clarifiation please feel free to contact me directly.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel over Thanksgiving weekend. The staff were fabulous, everyone was courteous, friendly and professional. The location is terrific, we saved a lot of money on taxis because we were within walking distance of nearly everything we wanted to do. The rooms were small but adequate and the hotel because of its age could use a little tlc but overall it was excellent value. We ate two meals in the Aqua restaurant and the food was very good. Definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water are better than the ones facing the street however be prepared for the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhartwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau. We are extremely happy to hear our staff were fabulous, courteous, friendly, professional and the food great in Aqua..

Our property is indeed an historical landmark in the heart of downtown Nassau and we are happy that you enjoyed the location.

We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

When we got to our hotel room the curtains to the windows were closed and the room was dark and uninviting. When we opened the curtains we realized this was on purpose as we faced another row of hotel bedroom windows. We hadn't booked a room with a view so no complaints about the lack of view but we had to keep the curtains closed otherwise the guests across the way could see in. Location of the room was very quiet, no complaints about any noise as stated in previous reviews.

Our hotel bathroom was nice and spacious with a walk in shower and tub. Bathroom was great until you turned on the water. The water from both the sink and the shower was brown and had a foul smell. The shower head was dirty and needed to be cleaned. We had a full selection of towels on our first day and the rest of our stay we were left with only bath towels. No hand towels or face cloths. I wouldn't normally be so petty to point such stuff out but when you are paying a $34 per night resort fee you expect service to be above average.

At check in we were told about the Thanksgiving dinner that was being served until 3:00pm. It was 2:30pm when we got to the restaurant. The servers and hostess were all gathered around the hostess stand and even though one of the servers told the hostess several times that we were a party of two, she made no eye contact or acknowledged us and we felt that we were interrupting her. The restaurant was not busy and when she finally sat us it was at a table that was not set and that was in the corner and by the server set up station, even though tables were available by the windows. She then abruptly told us that if we wanted to order from the menu we would have to do so now as the kitchen closed at 3pm. We were not feeling any hospitality so we decided to leave.

The bed was very uncomfortable and you rolled into the middle of bed as it sloped.

On a positive note, the hotel grounds, pool, and beach were beautiful and very clean and the cabana beds are a nice touch. The beach is man made and it is nice to watch the cruise ships come and go, but not sure I would swim in the water due to the pollution that must come from them. Concierge, front desk and maids were always very friendly and great cocktails from the Bullion Bar.

In general we were very disappointed in our stay. We have stayed many times at Hilton properties all over the world. In the past we have always chosen Hilton as we can rely upon the high standards and great customer service this was not the case at the British Colonial Hilton. The entire stay felt like hard work.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsaymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are extremely happy to hear you were pleased with the room in which you stayed and our pool and beach.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced and unacceptable level of service you have described. We are surprised our staff displayed such unprofessional behaviour. Although the type of attitude you encountered is inexcusable, we can assure you it is not in keeping with our usual high standards of courtesy and respect. Please accept our apologies.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Hotel itself is very beautiful and welcoming with a lot of wet floor signs, but the staff are very friendly. My family and I were confused about what to do in country so I met a female Security Officer name Yanique in the lobby who was very helpful about things to do. It was ironic that she knew almost everything a Concierge Agent would say to you. Almost everything closes after 6pm, so she found a Sports bar for my husband and son to watch the big game and gave me pamphlets on things to do the next day with the kids and where to dine with my husband. Her overall recommendations were great, especially the food and tours. We're planning our next trip :D .Thanks Yanique!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We are extremely happy to hear that Yanique was very helpful and gave you lots of information on things you can do while on vacation. I will let Yanique know she contributed to you both having a great stay.

Thank you for choosing the British Colonial Hilton as your vacation destination, we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This hotel offers lots of charm and character. Ideally located close to down town Nassau, its with in walking distance to many attractions and sites. The grounds and amenities are well kept, The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. Definitely, one of the best hotels in the Bahamas!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We are most pleased to hear our staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Our property is indeed an historic landmark in the heart of downtown Nassau, and we are happy that you enjoyed the location.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Since my previous stay, I am glad to report that there has been a tremendous improvement particularly with regards to the staff at this hotel. On arrival, I was warmly welcomed by the ladies on Reception (Keisha and can't remember the other lady's name). My room was exceptionally quiet, (as compared to last time) and very comfortable all round. I ordered lunch outside - it came in super-quick time with pleasant, friendly service. It was a very tasty chicken salad. The beach towel guys were also very cheery.
I would say well done to the Hilton Colonial for actually acting on feedback; this a a good testimony on how a hotel should continually focus on improvement and customer feedback.

Room Tip: Rooms to the SIDE of the hotel (left hand facing towards hotel) are going to be the quietest. Less r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimski44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We depend on feedback from our valuable guests to assist us in any improvements necessary. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and we certainly appreciate your comments.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to many more opportunities to extend our authentic hospitality.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
2.1 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
8.5 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
3.0 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
4.1 mi away
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Property: British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#3 Family Hotel in Nassau
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nassau
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing