We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three days away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
North Wales, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Three days away”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The entire staff made my girlfriend and I feel welcomed from the moment we walked through the door. August was a good time of year to go to the Bahamas as its still very warm and most of the kids are back in school. My girlfriend and I decided to not rent a car for this trip as the hotel was a short walk to the downtown market and stores. We took a cab to where ever we wanted to go and it was very reasonably priced. The beach and pool are nice and clean and there was no need to go any other beach. The hotel provides kayaks and snorkel gear to use free of charge. If you want to do any excursions or water sports the boats are a very short walk from the hotel. The food at the hotel is very good however we did dine at a few places outside the hotel. I must give a special mention to a restaurant by the name of "Van Breugel's". The meal and service was EXCELLENT!! Eat there if you can. For you fans of Starbucks its a very short walk from the hotel so I got my Mocha frappuccino every morning. Dunkin Donuts is across the street. WE REALLY ENJOYED OUR STAY. Thanks Hilton

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    1,043
    558
    312
    185
See reviews for
633
1,175
212
592
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed to celebrate our first wedding anniversary for 3 nights. The hotel was immaculately clean and had a luxurious feel throughout. Every single staff member asked us how we were and how are stay was going, even just passing in the lift and reception staff were very helpful. Even the door staff were keen to help us find good restaurants! Our room was lovely with stunning pool and ocean views and the bed was so comfy. Breakfast was a real treat, made to order fresh omelette, fresh fruit, cereals and yoghurt sundaes and delicious pastries. The pool area was so relaxing, available huge four poster sun beds everywhere and you could just step down to the private beach. We loved watching the cruise ships coming into port. A fantastic stay at a wonderful hotel and we would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the British Colonial Hilton Nassau to celebrate your first wedding anniversary. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service, breakfast, pool and beach and even more watching the ships coming into port.

Your recommendation is valuable to us and we certainly appreciate your kind comments.

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Awful noise (water pumps, A/C) in the room th floor). Poor service, not what you expect(ed) from Hilton. Poor service. Nerver served when you sit on the bar terrace i.e. have to order inside.Armchairs, transats all broken on the private beach. No cleaning of tables, used towels around the pool. Definitely, I will never book again with Hilton (3rd bad experience in 3 years).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are very disappointed to learn you were unhappy with the service you received at the resort. We do make every effort to ensure we provide first class service on a consistent basis, and are disturbed to learn we fell short of your expectations.

We appreciate your feedback, and hope that you would allow us another opportunity to extend our authentic hospitality.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Spent 1/2 day at the British Colonial Hilton as a party of 7 (5 Adults, 2 Kids). Purchased the day pass (http://bahamascruiseexcursions.com/nassauriuresortpass.htm) which included vouchers for food and drink. Overall a GREAT experience. The staff treated us like we were hotel guests, check-in was a breeze, and the beach bartender was very attentive. Grounds are beautiful, beach chairs have sunshades, facilities are clean, atmosphere is quiet and relaxing. Food and drink were pricey, but we all managed to have 3 cocktails each, 2 sodas for the kids, and all had a separate entree for lunch. It's within walking distance of the boat also, and there are plenty of shops to stop into either on the way there or back. If there is a downside, maybe saying that the beach is small along with the roped off swimming area. There are better beaches, I'm sure, but the water was still warm and clear and it suited our needs. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuppyGetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review regarding your day pass at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau. We are extremely pleased with your kind comments about our staff, beach, facilities and location.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place is absolutely perfect. We enjoyed our vacation and wedding reception at this hotel. The staff did everything in their power to ensure that we were taken care of. All they did was smile and go out of their way for everyone. Make sure you meet Jermaine Wright who was absolutely incredible. If you are hosting a wedding there, Samaria will make sure that it is an unforgettable evening. Breathe taking views, spotless rooms, and gorgeous character through out the entire hotel. The location was located in downtown and everything was walking distance. We will return!!!! FANTASTIC STAY!!!! Thank you to Shawn, Krysta, Phillip, and Dwayne for your exceptional customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Mickey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Stephanie,

Thank you for your choosing the British Colonial Hilton Nassau to host your wedding reception and also as your vacation destination. We are extremely pleased to get such excellent feedback about our staff, Jermaine Wright and Samaria who made sure it was an unforgettable evening.

We appreciate your kind comments regarding our views and rooms. Our property is indeed an historic landmark in the heart of downtown Nassau, and we are happy to hear that it was convenient for you.

Your recommendation is very valuable and we look forward to more opportunities to show you our hospitality!

Best Regards,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Service, quality, appearance and food was fantastic. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The private beach can't be beat. Quite, relaxing with plenty of near-by activity. In the heart of downtown Nassua. Lots of food chocies. Looking forward to returning to this particular hotel upon another vacation in the Bahamas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Cortney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Cortney,

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay with us. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and we are happy that you found our service, quality, appearance and food fantastic.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

A nice hotel within easy walking distance of main town area. Nice clean hotel with helpful friendly staff, good food and nice pool and beach to unwind after a day's business. Strongly recommend it and I will be returning shortly on more business trips.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. Our property is indeed an historic landmark in the heart of downtown Nassau and we are happy that you found it within easy walking distance to most stores.

Guest satisafction is our highest priority and we are pleased to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful, the food was good, and you enjoyed the pool and beach.

Once again, thank you for your comments we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best wishes,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
1.5 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,509 reviews
8.5 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
3.0 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
4.1 mi away
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Property: British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#3 Family Hotel in Nassau
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nassau
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing