We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay in Nassau”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Nassau
Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you want to stay in Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton is the place to be. Great hotel, location and service! I think we only had to open the lobby doors ourselves twice during our entire stay! The private beach may be small, but it was quite nice and was never overcrowded or too loud. You could always get a beach chair (with individual shades) or a comfy cabana by the pool. Like other reviews, it was pretty cool to see the cruise ships come and dock so close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank newparents2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the British Colonial Hilton Nassau as your vacation destination. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our hotel, service and location. Our property is indeed an historic landmark in the heart of downt town Nassau and we are happy that you enjoyed the location.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,173 - 2,179 of 3,492 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was my first stay at the Colonial Hilton. I travel for work and typically stay in a different hotel, 3 days per week. So it takes a lot to impress me. This hotel did. The staff were very courteous and efficient, and the common areas were gorgeous. My room was lovely. The bed looked out a large picture window, right at the water. And, the bathtub was one of the nicest soaking tubs I have enjoyed. Downtown Nassau is a busy area. This hotel made me feel like I was vacationing at a private resort. Thanks!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank zignkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. Guest satisfaction is the utmost priority at the British Colonial Hilton Nasssau, and we are delighted that you found our staff to be very courteous and efficient, and extremely pleased that you enjoyed the room and view in which you stayed.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Our stay at British Colonial Hilton Nassau has surpassed my expectations. Hilton's staff members are warm, welcoming, very helpful and willing to go over and beyond. I would like to specially commend Carlton in Engineering. My wife dropped a diamond earring in the shower. He came to assess the situation and explained how the shower drainage works. He then proceeded to concoct ways and means to retrieve the earring a couple of times to no avail. After a few tries, I told him it's alright. We tried our best and that's all that matters.

My wife and I went for a stroll out to the Fish Fry. After a sumptuous lunch, we returned to our hotel room to see a note on my desk with wife's lost earring! Carlton went over and beyond expectations, tried one more time and found the proverbial needle in the haystack. He is amazing. I do not know how he found it in spite of the long drop (~3 ft) from the shower drain to the next bend. It was a lost cause from the beginning, but he managed to make the impossible happen.

The warmth and kindness of the Bahamian people reverberates and flourishes in your fine facility. I am at a loss for words to express fully our appreciation and joy to be here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cesar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the British Colonial Hilton Nasau. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be warm, welcoming, very helpful and willing to go over and beyond.

We are also pleased to read such positive feedback about the excellent customer service that Carlton provided and will let him know that he helped you have a great stay with us.

We certainly appreciate your patronage and look forward to many more opportunities to extend our authentic hospitality.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had a terrible experience at this Hotel after staying here for 2 weeks for work. My credit card was charged numerous times and it took quite a lot including me threatening legal action before I was refunded. I was not impressed with the response of the manager to settle the matter.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank Anya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Anya,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am sorry to learn of your experience regarding additional charges to your credit card and handling of the matter by our manager. If you would like to further discuss feel free to contact me.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Hilton is one of many beautiful oceanfront hotels along the Nassau shoreline. I'm sure they all have great resort facilities. The Hilton is located downtown, however, so if you want to look at the threads of culture in the country, this is a good base. Of course, they have a beautiful pool, beach, watersports, etc, like the others. But you can walk to the historic government center, where attendants are thrilled to show you things like the parliament room. The library/museum/1798 prison is also right there. The Historical Society museum is a few blocks away. You can walk to the ferry to Paradise Island, for a change of pace, or to the retail-strip servicing the cruise ships for their brief stays.

As well, the hotel is directly in front of the cruise terminal. Each day giant ships enter, do a 360 rotation, and dock. So close you almost can touch them, with their enormous size so closealmost surreal as you watch from the pool. However, you have no contact with crowds or noise, just an ongoing visual show.

Like many similar hotels, try to book the executive level, which has a beautiful lounge on the top floor: best view in the hotel. It has a very nice continental breakfast, high tea in the afternoon, and hors d'oeurves till 7, including wine and beer. All complementary, which makes getting a snack or near-meal very pleasant and easy.

Room Tip: Try for the 6th floor, executive level. Try for ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nesorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed our executive lounge, beautiful pool, beach and location.

We are also happy that you had an opprtunity to visit some of the Bahamas historic sites such as government center, the parliament room, the library, museum and 1798 prison.

We certainly appreciate your feedback, and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Kara Armbrister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

First, the negative. Assuming most people today book hotels 'online', be aware the price you think you are paying is not the final cost...the hotel charges an additionial $34 per couple per night for service fees...$10 of this is for maid service so don't tip the cleaning ladies, they are being compensated already through your service fee!!!...I was aware of this through reviews but if you are unaware you are caught by surprise when checking in...it's a 'bait and switch', highly unethical...including taxes and the service fee, our total cost was 35% higher than the rate cited online...but guess business is good enough to get away with this 'surprise' at check in...the hotel location is right downtown Nassau so great for walking to restaurants, shops, straw market, tourist locations and the wharf ferry to Paradise Island...that's a plus...the room size was OK, comfortable bed, clean but starting to show some age since it was constructed in 1921...still the ambience makes it a nice atmosphere as if you were living 80 years ago in a classy hotel...the small man made beach is well maintained but the palm trees don't provide shade...each lounge has a rotating cover but they don't work very well so be prepared to bring suntan lotion or 'burn'...the beach is right at the base of where the cruise ships come in so it's a nice sight as they literally pass through the harbor just a few yards from your beach location...but businesses are on both sides of the beach so you don't get the feeling of being on a south seas island all by yourself...you are in a city!...all in all, if you wish to stay downtown where it's 'happening' rather than on Paradise Island this is the best option.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidfromllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear David,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau. For clarification, service charges are union mandated for all major hotels in Nassau. Guests are informed of taxes, fees and service charges at the time of booking and these are also outlined on our website and any third party website. We regret that it may have been overlooked.

We appreciate your kind coments regarding the location of our hotel and cleanliness of our rooms.

We value your patronage and look forward to many more opportunities to serve you.

Warm regards,
Kara Armbrister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The location of this facility was great, walking distance to the local "fish fry" and market. The customer service could have been better and remains an area of needed improvement. The cab service was horrible and caused many a headache through out the duration of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Colette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Colette,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau. Our property is indeed an historical landmark in the heart of downtown, and we are happy that you found it very convenient.

We are disappointed to learn of the level of customer service you have experienced, and are sorry we were unable to to rectify any issues during your stay. Please accept our apologies.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back for a more enjoyable stay in the future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#3 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,691 reviews
2.1 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
3.4 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#1 of 36 in Nassau
560 reviews
3 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
5.3 mi away
Sandyport Beach Resort
Sandyport Beach Resort
#3 of 36 in Nassau
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
Price Range: $231 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing