We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous! (If you like boats)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Marvellous! (If you like boats)”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Sitting right next to the cruise terminal, this hotel has a few location issues. A peaceful afternoon nap on the hotel's private beach can be interrupted by a loud "paaaaaarp" from a cruise ship horn which often shocks!

However, the hotel itself is comfortably apportioned and outfitted. Staff are friendly and willing to help wherever they can. The rooms are modern and comfortable, equipped with very efficient air con for when you need to get out of the heat.

The food is good too, however a little pricey.

Be warned about swimming on the beach - because of the proximity of the cruise ships the water can get a little oily at times, but this doesn't happen often. It's nice to watch the ships go past and see the passengers wave at you on the beach as you sip a piña colada.

Overall, recommended.

Oh, and make sure you visit the takeaway over the road for conch fritters! Brilliant!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mintyaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed the room accommodations, food and great hospitality given by our staff.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to many more opportunities to extend our hospitality.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    1,117
    593
    331
    204
See reviews for
701
1,265
220
620
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crofton, Md
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

To give some background to our stay, we had originally booked three nights at a B&B called A Stones Throw Away and were terribly disappointed in the accommodations there so after one night we called the Hilton to see if they had rooms available. The booking process was quick and pleasant and by 11:00 the next day (we had to stay one night at the B&B because we were being charged for one night either way) we had a Harbor View room on the 4th floor. It was a corner room which I would recommend because I peaked into some of the other rooms on that floor when they were cleaning them and they seemed a bit smaller and did not seem to have a great view. The staff was extremely nice and on most days went out of their way to make sure you had whatever it was that you needed. There was once day on the beach where service was non-existant and the last morning we were late to breakfast which seemed to upset the staff a bit, but other than that they were super friendly and accommodating. The beach is fairly small and you do have to deal with the diesel smell from the cruise ships docking there, but it is pretty cool to be able to watch the ships come and go. The pool area was awesome- lots of lounging options in sun and shade- all very comfy. I can't speak to the food other than breakfast which was very good (and was included in our daily rate!!), and your drinks depended on who was pouring that day. We basically drank dirty bananas for lunch the whole weekend. The location is great if you want to be near lots of shopping and food options. Also a Dunkin right across the street which was key for me and my hubby being the coffee addicts that we are. Some might be annoyed by the bustle of the area but I didn't find it to disturb our stay at all which I was concerned about given we unusually stay in less touristy/commercialized accommodations. I think this was an excellent value for the money and would recommend it for a short stay in Nassau. I can see it getting old after 4 days.

Room Tip: 4th floor or higher- ideally corner room harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseygirl10577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities including the pool and lounging options as well as our breakfast.

Additionally, we are pleased to read such positive feedback about our excellent customer service that our staff provided.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to your return.

Regards,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I just finished a 5 nights trips to Nassau in The Bahamas. We stayed at the British Colonial Hilton. The Hotel offers all that you need. We found a clean room. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel has a private beach close to the port. Its offers a fantastic view od the cruise ships coming in. The beach is small and without waves but its very clean and there are lots of chairs and beds.

Our hotel did not offer an all inclusive package so we had to ask people to recommend places to eat. Fortunately we were minutes away from many restaurants.Located in the heart of downtown Nassau its close to everything.You are a walk away from a lot of activites: The Fish Fry where you can have a great meal. We tried two restaurants there: The Twin Brothers and Frankie Gone Bananas. These two are traditional bahamian restaurants and are worth trying. We also tryed other restaurants such as Van Breugel, Senior Frog, Hard Rock Cafe and The Bimini Road in the Marina Village in Paradise Island. They were all excellent.

The Straw market where you can find some local crafts. Be sure to negociate though.

We were not far Cabble Beach (15 minutes by local Bus #10) and Paradise Island (15 minutes by taxi). We enjoyed going to see these places but we were happy to come back to our smaller and quieter hotel. We were told that a day pass to go to The Atantis resort was 175 $. We did not take it cause we only wated to visit but if you are travelling here and want to spend a great day over ther and enjoy the premises (lots of water activities).

Overall we enjoyed the location of our hotel cause it let us do what ever we wanted to do and we didnt feel obligated to stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fretcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

Our property is indeed an historical landmark in the heart of downtown Nassau. We are glad that you enjoyed our strategic location and private beach overlooking the harbor.

We are truly happy that we met your expectations, thanks to our accommodating staff and facilities.

Your recommendation is very valuable to us and we look forward to many more opportunities to show you our authentic hospitality.

Kind Regards,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel April 2013 with my boyfriend, the hotel itself is lovely, the pool area is great with cabanas that are included in your stay, so you didn't have to pay extra. I had to work for the first two days and it was great that there was WiFi by the pool so I could still enjoy the beautiful weather while getting my work done. The rooms were very nice and clean, huge bathroom with tub and separate shower. The beach was very small but it got the job done. It's also located right by where all the cruise ships dock which could be a plus for some but it wasn't our favorite part of the trip. The surrounding area is very industrial and definitely isn't comparable to the Atlantis but overall a great stay. Get the breakfast included, it's $20 per person per day and worth it because without it it's about $50 for two people and the breakfast is not great. There's a Dunkin Donuts across the street if you are so inclined. We never ate dinner at the hotel but the concierge was great with getting us dinner reservations at the Atlantis and Cafe Matisse.

Room Tip: Request a pool view, the city view isn't great. We had a second floor room that was a great spot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the British Colonial Hilton Nassau. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room accommodations and all of our amenities.

W e are happy that our Concierge staff assisted you with making dinner reservations and that you enjoyed your stay.

Your recommendation is valuable to us and we look forward to many more opportunities to show you our hospitality.

Regards,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, Bahamas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My stay was very enjoyable, the staff was most accommodating and service oriented, the ambiance was next to none, it was conveniently located and the food was very tasty and scrumptious.........I will recommend "The Hilton, Nassau" to family/friends and I most certainly will return as a guest!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Lynette,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. At the British Colonial Hilton our Brand Promise is to ensure that every guest feels cared for, valued and respected, and we are delighted to hear that our staff displayed it.

Your recommendation is very valuable to us and we look forward to many more opportunities to show you our authentic hospitality.

Warm regards,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

First of all there are a lot of staff at the British Colonial Hilton and a lot of security. You will feel very safe in what has become over the last two decades a run down city. The few blocks around the hotel are relatively safe, and the tourist area in this section of Bay Street are well secured.
The hotel beach looks out onto Paradise Island with a good view of the lighthouse. We did not eat here and instead opted for local Bahamian cuisine. The room was small, comfortable, and quiet. There were a large number of business travelers here which meant for a quiet stay. The hotel was spotlessly clean with a very attentive staff. The price of the room in April was relatively high--we could probably have stayed on Paradise Island for the same price--but we enjoyed the ability to walk to the sights and restaurants in Nassau.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snailkite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau. I am extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed the ability to walk to the sights and restaurants in Nassau and that you felt very safe at our hotel.

We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff, cleanliness of our hotel and rooms.

We value your feedback and look forward to serving you again in the near future

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-sea
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just back from a return visit to this hotel (here last in 2009). The refurbishment then ongoing is now complete. The restaurant and bar areas have been modernised but do not detract from the hotel's colonial feel. Restaurant food is good as is the choice for the buffet style breakfast either continental or full English. Eggs are cooked 'while you wait' and it is fun seeing the chef managing 3 different pans with different omelettes or style of eggs at once! Staff are very friendly and the service is efficient with dirty plates being cleared away whilst you are serving yourself at the buffet bar. Meals can be taken inside or outside on the patio.

'Bullion' the refurbished lounge/bar area is relaxing especially when the duet 'Vice Versa' is playing of an evening.

Our bedroom on the executive floor (704) was spacious with a large bathroom (separate shower and jacuzzi bath). Fluffy white towels were changed daily as was the bed linen. Be aware that at times the hot water is coloured brown - some problem with the water supply from the city (one tended to come our browner from the jacuzzi than when you went in!). Doors led out onto an enormous patio area which was private to the room - lovely to sit on for lunch or an evening drink. Bottled water was provided.

This room is close to the executive lounge where breakfast can be taken, coffee or tea is available all day and there is a cocktail couple of hours in the evening. Great views from the balconies of the sunset and the cruise ships turning round in the harbour.

The beach area is cleaned daily and here, and round the pool, you can relax on sunbeds. There are quite a lot of cabanas (first come, first served) which provide shade from the heat of the sun. A poolside bar offers cold drinks and snack lunches as well as a drink service to the beach and pool. Towels are provided.

The staff service throughout the hotel is excellent with very helpful reception and concierge services. There is also a small shop in the reception area.

The hotel itself has a great position for being able to wander into Bay Street, enjoy the shops, visit the Straw market or pick up boats and water sports. Taxis are available outside the hotel and the fare to the airport is about $30-35.

Be aware that there are all kinds of taxes added to the bill which are charged by the hotel and the resort which raise the rate considerably.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour vies
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepeingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you chose BritishColonial Hilton as your vacation destination a second time.

We are glad that you enjoyed the food from Aqua restaurant, the entertainment from Bullion bar as well as your room accomnmodations and excellent service from our staff.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#4 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,612 reviews
2.1 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
3.0 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
3.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#2 of 37 in Nassau
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Property: British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#3 Family Hotel in Nassau
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing