We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Nassau
Reviewed May 1, 2013

To give some background to our stay, we had originally booked three nights at a B&B called A Stones Throw Away and were terribly disappointed in the accommodations there so after one night we called the Hilton to see if they had rooms available. The booking process was quick and pleasant and by 11:00 the next day (we had to stay one night at the B&B because we were being charged for one night either way) we had a Harbor View room on the 4th floor. It was a corner room which I would recommend because I peaked into some of the other rooms on that floor when they were cleaning them and they seemed a bit smaller and did not seem to have a great view. The staff was extremely nice and on most days went out of their way to make sure you had whatever it was that you needed. There was once day on the beach where service was non-existant and the last morning we were late to breakfast which seemed to upset the staff a bit, but other than that they were super friendly and accommodating. The beach is fairly small and you do have to deal with the diesel smell from the cruise ships docking there, but it is pretty cool to be able to watch the ships come and go. The pool area was awesome- lots of lounging options in sun and shade- all very comfy. I can't speak to the food other than breakfast which was very good (and was included in our daily rate!!), and your drinks depended on who was pouring that day. We basically drank dirty bananas for lunch the whole weekend. The location is great if you want to be near lots of shopping and food options. Also a Dunkin right across the street which was key for me and my hubby being the coffee addicts that we are. Some might be annoyed by the bustle of the area but I didn't find it to disturb our stay at all which I was concerned about given we unusually stay in less touristy/commercialized accommodations. I think this was an excellent value for the money and would recommend it for a short stay in Nassau. I can see it getting old after 4 days.

Room Tip: 4th floor or higher- ideally corner room harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerseygirl10577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities including the pool and lounging options as well as our breakfast.

Additionally, we are pleased to read such positive feedback about our excellent customer service that our staff provided.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to your return.

Regards,
Kara Armbrister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,287 - 2,293 of 3,490 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I just finished a 5 nights trips to Nassau in The Bahamas. We stayed at the British Colonial Hilton. The Hotel offers all that you need. We found a clean room. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel has a private beach close to the port. Its offers a fantastic view od the cruise ships coming in. The beach is small and without waves but its very clean and there are lots of chairs and beds.

Our hotel did not offer an all inclusive package so we had to ask people to recommend places to eat. Fortunately we were minutes away from many restaurants.Located in the heart of downtown Nassau its close to everything.You are a walk away from a lot of activites: The Fish Fry where you can have a great meal. We tried two restaurants there: The Twin Brothers and Frankie Gone Bananas. These two are traditional bahamian restaurants and are worth trying. We also tryed other restaurants such as Van Breugel, Senior Frog, Hard Rock Cafe and The Bimini Road in the Marina Village in Paradise Island. They were all excellent.

The Straw market where you can find some local crafts. Be sure to negociate though.

We were not far Cabble Beach (15 minutes by local Bus #10) and Paradise Island (15 minutes by taxi). We enjoyed going to see these places but we were happy to come back to our smaller and quieter hotel. We were told that a day pass to go to The Atantis resort was 175 $. We did not take it cause we only wated to visit but if you are travelling here and want to spend a great day over ther and enjoy the premises (lots of water activities).

Overall we enjoyed the location of our hotel cause it let us do what ever we wanted to do and we didnt feel obligated to stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fretcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

Our property is indeed an historical landmark in the heart of downtown Nassau. We are glad that you enjoyed our strategic location and private beach overlooking the harbor.

We are truly happy that we met your expectations, thanks to our accommodating staff and facilities.

Your recommendation is very valuable to us and we look forward to many more opportunities to show you our authentic hospitality.

Kind Regards,
Kara Armbrister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel April 2013 with my boyfriend, the hotel itself is lovely, the pool area is great with cabanas that are included in your stay, so you didn't have to pay extra. I had to work for the first two days and it was great that there was WiFi by the pool so I could still enjoy the beautiful weather while getting my work done. The rooms were very nice and clean, huge bathroom with tub and separate shower. The beach was very small but it got the job done. It's also located right by where all the cruise ships dock which could be a plus for some but it wasn't our favorite part of the trip. The surrounding area is very industrial and definitely isn't comparable to the Atlantis but overall a great stay. Get the breakfast included, it's $20 per person per day and worth it because without it it's about $50 for two people and the breakfast is not great. There's a Dunkin Donuts across the street if you are so inclined. We never ate dinner at the hotel but the concierge was great with getting us dinner reservations at the Atlantis and Cafe Matisse.

Room Tip: Request a pool view, the city view isn't great. We had a second floor room that was a great spot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the British Colonial Hilton Nassau. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room accommodations and all of our amenities.

W e are happy that our Concierge staff assisted you with making dinner reservations and that you enjoyed your stay.

Your recommendation is valuable to us and we look forward to many more opportunities to show you our hospitality.

Regards,
Kara Armbrister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My stay was very enjoyable, the staff was most accommodating and service oriented, the ambiance was next to none, it was conveniently located and the food was very tasty and scrumptious.........I will recommend "The Hilton, Nassau" to family/friends and I most certainly will return as a guest!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Lynette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Lynette,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. At the British Colonial Hilton our Brand Promise is to ensure that every guest feels cared for, valued and respected, and we are delighted to hear that our staff displayed it.

Your recommendation is very valuable to us and we look forward to many more opportunities to show you our authentic hospitality.

Warm regards,
Kara Armbrister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

First of all there are a lot of staff at the British Colonial Hilton and a lot of security. You will feel very safe in what has become over the last two decades a run down city. The few blocks around the hotel are relatively safe, and the tourist area in this section of Bay Street are well secured.
The hotel beach looks out onto Paradise Island with a good view of the lighthouse. We did not eat here and instead opted for local Bahamian cuisine. The room was small, comfortable, and quiet. There were a large number of business travelers here which meant for a quiet stay. The hotel was spotlessly clean with a very attentive staff. The price of the room in April was relatively high--we could probably have stayed on Paradise Island for the same price--but we enjoyed the ability to walk to the sights and restaurants in Nassau.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snailkite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau. I am extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed the ability to walk to the sights and restaurants in Nassau and that you felt very safe at our hotel.

We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff, cleanliness of our hotel and rooms.

We value your feedback and look forward to serving you again in the near future

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just back from a return visit to this hotel (here last in 2009). The refurbishment then ongoing is now complete. The restaurant and bar areas have been modernised but do not detract from the hotel's colonial feel. Restaurant food is good as is the choice for the buffet style breakfast either continental or full English. Eggs are cooked 'while you wait' and it is fun seeing the chef managing 3 different pans with different omelettes or style of eggs at once! Staff are very friendly and the service is efficient with dirty plates being cleared away whilst you are serving yourself at the buffet bar. Meals can be taken inside or outside on the patio.

'Bullion' the refurbished lounge/bar area is relaxing especially when the duet 'Vice Versa' is playing of an evening.

Our bedroom on the executive floor (704) was spacious with a large bathroom (separate shower and jacuzzi bath). Fluffy white towels were changed daily as was the bed linen. Be aware that at times the hot water is coloured brown - some problem with the water supply from the city (one tended to come our browner from the jacuzzi than when you went in!). Doors led out onto an enormous patio area which was private to the room - lovely to sit on for lunch or an evening drink. Bottled water was provided.

This room is close to the executive lounge where breakfast can be taken, coffee or tea is available all day and there is a cocktail couple of hours in the evening. Great views from the balconies of the sunset and the cruise ships turning round in the harbour.

The beach area is cleaned daily and here, and round the pool, you can relax on sunbeds. There are quite a lot of cabanas (first come, first served) which provide shade from the heat of the sun. A poolside bar offers cold drinks and snack lunches as well as a drink service to the beach and pool. Towels are provided.

The staff service throughout the hotel is excellent with very helpful reception and concierge services. There is also a small shop in the reception area.

The hotel itself has a great position for being able to wander into Bay Street, enjoy the shops, visit the Straw market or pick up boats and water sports. Taxis are available outside the hotel and the fare to the airport is about $30-35.

Be aware that there are all kinds of taxes added to the bill which are charged by the hotel and the resort which raise the rate considerably.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour vies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepeingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you chose BritishColonial Hilton as your vacation destination a second time.

We are glad that you enjoyed the food from Aqua restaurant, the entertainment from Bullion bar as well as your room accomnmodations and excellent service from our staff.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Once again, I stayed at the BC in Nassau for three nights as transition from a winter on a family island. The hospitality at the BC is always very accommodating. The beds are VERY comfortable. The rooms are CLEAN. The maid service is late but you can request an earlier time from one of the workers. The beach is small but convenient. After some time in the sun, you can take a break and walk downtown.(The beach chairs have "hoods" on them but most of these devices are broken. I did not eat at the hotel; just not my preference... Dunkin Donuts is across the street and Via Caffe is on a side street of Bay Street. Both have excellent prices and great food. (That is a separate review...) Nice gesture: the front desk found my lost pedometer that fell off my sneaker! Disappointing news: I was hoping for an upgrade, which I requested well in advance (five months) due to my loyalty in staying at the BC (over 20 years). No such follow through. Room keys must be used to operate the elevators. This is a nice safety feature. Pool staff is very nice... start a conversation and they are very polite and helpful. There is a daily fee of $17 which i don't believe was charged last year. Be sure you find out if your reservation includes or excludes such fees. I will always recommend the BC.
When they open the door for you, they always say, "Welcome home." I will be back next year.

Room Tip: Higher floors let you see the cruise ships coming and going. Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank platelet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

We are extremely happy that you chose us as your vacation destination; and glad to hear that you found our pool staff to be very polite and helpful and rooms very clean and comfortable.

We appreciate your loyalty to us; but due to the hotel's occupancy we were unable to upgrade your room, we sincerely apogize.

We value your patronage and look forward to many more opportunities to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#3 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,690 reviews
2.1 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
3.4 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#1 of 36 in Nassau
557 reviews
3 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
5.3 mi away
Sandyport Beach Resort
Sandyport Beach Resort
#3 of 36 in Nassau
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
Price Range: $231 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing