We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a day trip, but the drink prices are ridiculous” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for a day trip, but the drink prices are ridiculous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We went for a cruise excursion day trip. The beach was lovely, the chairs comfortable, the pool was nice and clean and cool, the food was good, the staff was nice. Everything about this place was wonderful except the prices of drinks. The food averaged $15-$20 a plate and was fairly normal, I guess. But the drink prices ranged from $8-$16 each! Granted, they were very strong for what you got, but I still had some sticker shock. I would still go back, I just don't think I would drink as much. Try Blue Hole Watersports for a snorkel trip while you are there. They are docked right by the beach and were wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilZAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaMarquez, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear AprilZAlabama,

Thank you for taking the time to review your day trip with us.

I am very pleased that you had a wonderful time thanks to our comfortable lounge chairs, private beach and pool, good food and genuine hospitality.

We hope that you will return for a longer stay in the future.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    1,027
    549
    308
    183
See reviews for
621
1,154
211
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Great lobby...lovely staff, private beach, pool, sun beds....white sands, good location. Good restaurant, bar...good but pricey...but then this is a Hilton.

What more can I say...you can Laze on the beach watch the huge cruise ships come....& go..... You are close to shops, markets & restaurants.

All in all....I love it here...a bit old fashioned but oh so relaxing!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahWH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaMarquez, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Sarahws888,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

I am so happy to read that you enjoyed our lobby, location, restaurant and bar. I am also pleased that you were able to relax at our private beach and pool and that our team was accommodating. Next time be sure to try our delicious frozen drinks.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Booked a last minute trip to go to Nassau for my birthday in October and decided on the British Colonial Hilton as our hotel. The hotel is clean and in a good location right by the downtown area which is full of touristy shops and high end jewellers. Join the Hilton HHonors program before you go as we were put on this floor which, best I could make out, were the most recently refurbished rooms.

In October the hotel was pretty empty so there were plenty of spots by the pool/beach and you didn't need reservations in the hotel at the restaurants. We ate there one night, but I would really recommend going out to visit the local restaurants. I would highly rate The Poop Deck (East); as the concierge said, if he was buying, go to Twin Brothers, if someone else is buying, go to The Poop Deck.

Service was excellent in the hotel and the guys on the front door were AMAZING!! If you want a fantastic conversation, ask them about Junkanoo!!

Room Tip: Register with Hilton HHonors before you go and let them know at check in that you are a member. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlobeNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NassauHiltonManager, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at our hotel! So glad you were able to experience our authentic Hilton hospitality. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Guayas, Ecuador
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Hilton was chosen due to TripAdvisor comments&reviews. I'll give my feedback to those fellow travelers that look into this website to choose their options. Hotel is wonderful, really pretty, and not old at all even if its the oldest one in Nassau! Elevators only work with your room key, and everything is tech up2date. Nice private Pool & Beach, as well as your own 24hr gym. Concierge desk is very helpful. Juan King helped me before my trip booking a Blue Lagoon attraction, and he was very responsive and helpful everytime, I was glad to met him at my stay. There's always a taxi available at the front door, but you're so close to everything that you wont need it most of the times. The room was beautiful, I've a city vieww w/ queen bed, and I CAN'T regret of my selection, it was more than enough to us. The lobby staff is really helpful and friendly. Taxi fare to Atlantis is just $11+$1 toll. To Airport just $27 for 2. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r0shy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaMarquez, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear r0shy,

Thank you for the feedback about your stay at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed your vacation thanks to our strategic location, well-equipped modern yet historic property, beautiful room, 24-hour gym and private beach and pool. I have already shared your comments with Juan and he is delighted that he was able to help shape your journey.

Our team looks forward to your next visit!

Until next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I am a business traveler that have visited Nassau 6 times since 2010, and chose Hilton every time:

THE HILTON PROS:
-------------------------
-Nice view, private beach , garden and pool area is enjoyable.
-Nice bathrooms, silent air conditioning at rooms will let you sleep when on.
-Good location at downtown area, walking distance to restaurants and souvenir markets and jewelry stores.
-Staff makes an effort to provide good service even with limited decision making.
-You can take a $8 round-trip ferry to Atlantis so you will enjoy the boat ride and visit Paradise Island without having to pay +$30 on taxis.
-When all restaurants close by are closed, there is a 24hrs hamburger and fish restaurant across the street.

THE HILTON CONS:
-------------------------
-The Hotel internet FAILS almost every day for a few minutes.
-The Electrical closets and ice machines area on each floor: Avoid those, you will suffer a rumbling noise coming from those rooms whenever you put your head on the pillow you will wonder "what is that sound???". Just ask for a good room at check-in. Street view rooms are also nice and they will be quiet late night.
-The streets get solitaire after cruise ships passengers leave at 6pm. Yes, there are drunk tourists and locals loitering late at night. That is a fact.
-Hotel restaurant is very expensive, the bar too.
-There are restaurant options at walking distance, but stores and restaurants close at 7pm
-Hilton allows bad taxi drivers to service their guests, some of them are rude and bad mannered, some drive old cars with no air conditioning. they will charge you like a 5 start taxi for a very uncomfortable ride.

THE BAHAMAS REALITY:
---------------------------------
-In general, do not expect customer service at Bahamas as if you were in the US. Bahamians don't smile much when servicing tourists at restaurants or souvenir stores. That's the culture, it does not mean they are bad people, they just take tourists for granted.
-The taxis are expensive considering such a tiny island. Some taxi drivers are real jerks.
-Expect a cattle treatment on boat riding and snorkeling tours.
-You will be surprised that not all places accept credit cards. Bring enough cash!
-All luxury hotels charge for electricity and maid, Hilton is no exception.
.
Do not stay at cable beach, you will be bored to tears and spend a lot on restaurants...

Room Tip: -The Electrical closets and ice machines area on each flor: Avoid those, you will suffer a rumbling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cheturo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NassauHiltonManager, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our property and surrounding area.

We are pleased that the pros outweigh the cons. Our mission, however, remains to continuously improve and reviews such as this are always catalysts in the improvement process.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Recently completed a 3 week stay at the property - and wasn't disappointed one day! The staff is friendly and attentive to any request. Highly recommend upgrading room package to include access to the Executive Lounge - the view is fantastic and the food/drink is a great value for Nassau. The pool and beach are maintained and offer an tranquil escape from the touristy areas of Paradise Island and local beaches. As a frequent traveler who spends 200+ nights a year in international hotels, this property offered tremendous value and super service. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTMoyer220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaMarquez, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear JTMoyer220,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

I am extremely glad to learn that you chose to make us your home away home during your 3-week trip, and more so that you are completely satisfied with your stay.

We are truly glad that we met your expectations thanks to our accommodating staff, and various facilities such as the Executive Lounge and private beach and pool.

Your recommendation is very valuable to us and we look forward to more opportunities to show you our authentic hospitality!

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruitport, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our Nassau, Bahamas vacation would not have been complete without having a meal or two at the restaurant, in this Hotel. The, restaurant, was elegant, the staff friendly, the food was great, plenty of it, and at a reasonable cost. This is where we went when we wanted to splurge a little on a nice dinner in a nice setting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyVacationerLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaMarquez, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear HappyVacationer,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your dining experiences at Aqua Restaurant.

I have shared your comments with our Food and Beverage team and they are extremely pleased that you enjoyed the ambiance, food and service at Aqua.

You must stay with us on your next visit to Nassau so that you can enjoy all of our facilities and amenities.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
1.6 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#4 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
2.9 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
3.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Property: British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#3 Family Hotel in Nassau
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nassau
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Jetsetter so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing