We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
One of the Best Excursions in the Bahamas!

If you only book one excursion in the Bahamas, this is one you should book. This was our favorite... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
kristinashleyut
,
Georgetown, Texas
Fun experience thanks to great staff - pigs were bigger than expected and no snorkeling offered

I deliberated forever about which of the many Piggie boat tours to pick. We decided going to see... read more

Reviewed August 10, 2021
plh1
,
boston, ma
Read all 1,289 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around New Providence Island
from $77.28
More Info
from $379.00
More Info
from $195.00
More Info
from $85.24
More Info
Reviews (1,289)
Filter reviews
1,289 results
Traveler rating
1,076
122
39
24
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,076
122
39
24
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shark feeding private island boat ride fish free drinks iguanas crew pigs exuma wrangling boats reef shore vacation dock atlantis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 1,289 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2017 via mobile

Not really a poor but I wanted to alert others. So lets start with the negative. First, a question submitted on line was never answered.. I would have overlooked this, but during the excursion, the snorkeling part was extremely disappointing. Thus the poor review.

They made us walk 300 yards through beach rocks to get to the insertion point. Then, the current was so strong we only went back to where we started. Didn't see a single fish. Snorkeling lasted all of 10 minutes. NO JOKE!!

Normally, I'm told, there is boat that allows snorkeling through the whole Cay, to account for the strong current. And it helps swimmers get back. Or today the current was too strong to allow for a real snorkeling experience and the staff was worried.

That aside, the stingray, shark and iguana experience, and the food and boatride were great.

Staff was very good and accommodating.

Also, some trips hit a sandbar, which we never did.

Not sure I will do it again, but it was a good day.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank N0t4Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powerboat A, Manager at Powerboat Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Dear Reviewer,

We are sorry to hear that you weren't pleased with certain parts of our day trip however, snorkeling is only one of the many activities we offer. If you were looking for a pure snorkeling trip maybe Powerboat Adventures would not be your first pick. Somedays the snorkeling is better than others due to the high currents/winds. However we hope that you did enjoy the rest of your day with us and your vacation. Thank you so much for being both a guest of Powerboat Adventures and for taking the time to review your experience with us.

Sincerely,
Powerboat Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017

Bottom line: Super fun time with a variety of adventures! Crew is super awesome, friendly and helpful. Lunch is awesome. Drinks all day. Can’t beat being up close and personal with stingrays, sharks and various fish. Remon was excellent, taking great pictures and videos of the adventures and even finding 2 shark teeth for my two boys.

We’ve been on this adventure twice and will go again next time we are in the Bahamas. The crew is amazing with a special shout out to Jason and Remon who took extra special care of our party! The nice thing about this adventures is that it is not totally crowded. They book 60 per boat and that is it.

TIPS: Book online to save 10%. Boat typically leaves around 9:30am but people start lining up at the boat around 8:30. There is a shaded part of the boat and then the front of the boat (and back) are exposed to sun. All are great seats just wear lots of sunscreen and glasses if you’ll be in the sun.

We absolutely enjoy the boat ride out to the island. Expect a 75-minute boat road to get to you first stop, “Iguana Island”. Here, the crew gives you sticks and grapes so you can feed the iguanas. There are tons of them so have the camera and GoPros ready!

IGUANA TIPS: Have your camera ready so you can catch some pics of your party jumping off the boat. The water with land in the background provide a nice backdrop to get pictures!

The next stop is the island where everything happens, a cute place with a nice area with tables and a bar where Shane will take good care of you. There is also a bathroom on the island

ISLAND / BAR TIPS: Bahama Mama’s and Shane’s Special are personal favorites.

Stingray feeding is absolutely a favorite activity. You’ll see tons of stingrays and they’ll eat lots of food. The crew will walk you through the experience so be sure to have your cameras ready.

STINGRAY TIPS: As you prepare for the feeding, you’ll see tons of fish. If you have an underwater camera or GoPro, be sure to submerge it and snap away! You’ll get some amazing shots.

Jason then does his world famous shark wrangling and he always puts on quite a show! Be prepared to be impressed and amazed with this activity. It is a sight to behold!

SHARK WRANGLING TIPS: If you can reach out to Remon or another crew member, ask if they can take pictures and videos for you throughout the day. Try to catch him on the boat. If he does this for you, be sure to tip him personally before you leave the island. Remon got us some amazing shark footage!

Snorkeling is always great! You can do this if it is your first time or you are an experienced snorkeler. They give a tutorial and all equipment is provided for you. If you can look around while snorkeling, you may see some sharks at a distance. Be mindful that the current is strong so you should be a good swimmer to do this. The crew is out there helping so no need to be worried.

SNORKELING TIPS: Practice in the water ahead of going out to the reef to make sure your mask fits and doesn’t leak water. The beach can be a little rocky where you finish snorkeling so take your time and hold on to kids if you have any.

After all activities have completed, you will be famished! Luckily, lunch is very good!! There is a wide variety of food: fish, steak, pasta, vegetables, salads, fruits, hot dogs, cheeses, etc. We have always appreciated the excellent food we get on this excursion. Once your bellies are full, enjoy the beach and the island.

TIPS: Look for shark teeth by sifting through the sand. It is a great activity to keep little ones (or big ones!) busy!

This will be one of your best, if not BEST day in the Bahamas!! Please be sure to tip the crew when done if they’ve provided you and your family a great day!!

Date of experience: July 2017
4  Thank LoreenB_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Over priced and too long. You'll send about an hour on a powerboat to get to your first stop iguana island, you'll spend 20 min there.

Then you'll get back on the boat ride 10 min to a sand dune.. the water is absolutely beautiful and it really is worth the ride, but you only stay there 30 minutes.. I would have loved to stay there longer.

You then go to a pit stop grab snacks and go snorkeling for 45 minutes and not ideal snorkeling as the current was too strong so we had to settle for riffs and coral with minimal fish.

We then go back to the pit stop to eat and hang out at the beach for about an hour. The ride back was quicker than getting there. But prepare to be wiped out when you get back to your hotels..

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank mochal2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powerboat A, Manager at Powerboat Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Dear Reviewer,

We do believe you reviewed the wrong trip as after the iguana feeding our boat goes to our private island called Ship Channel Cay where our guests spend the remainder of the day with open bar and buffet meal included in the price.

Sincerely,
Powerboat Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017

We took our 2 children (10&13) and we had the holiday of a lifetime here! After the 3pm bell all the guests return to Nassau on the Powerboat, so we had the island to ourselves. We relaxed with a drink on the beach and watched the sun go down and the moon rise. Nigel, Stevie and Shane were incredibly wonderful hosts - food was wonderful, too. Our beach house was right on the waters edge. In the early morning we sat on our deck and watched the sharks and sting rays swim by - pristine waters and stunning views. This place is truly heaven. Everything was perfect. We're planning our next trip.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Rachel1203A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017

This trip was exactly as I remembered it 17 years ago. This time I returned with my 14 and 17 year old daughters and their friends so they could experience the trip. They loved it! The only thing missing was beach chairs. One word of caution - wear water shoes for the stop at the island with the iguanas - there is a little bit of sand, and coral-like rocks that look like sand.

The staff is wonderful and they do a great job making sure everyone is safe and having fun. There was plenty of great food and drink. I highly recommend this trip - just be sure to bring water shoes and lots of sunscreen, as the water is so clear and beautiful you will want to spend the day in the ocean watching the stingrays swim by.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank mmess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews