We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best authentic fresh food in Nassau” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nettie's Place at Casuarinas

Nettie's Place at Casuarinas
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nettie's Place at Casuarinas
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Nassau
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best authentic fresh food in Nassau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

The accomodations are ok, the food is the best we have had with an entertaining parrot to boot. We were so homesick for tasty non greasy food and the fish is fresh, the guava duff is the most tasty because they are cooked in an authentic bahamian style...not just salt and peper like everywhere else.
The site is so cool and local. The pool, the outside bar, the baskets, the art...very cool. Much more pleasing to the eye than any branch type hotel. It's accross from the beach, so a little walk, very private...can't wait for our next meal. Chantal_Canada

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chantal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    4
    2
    12
See reviews for
2
4
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shawneetown, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

Checked out this hotel on web..pics were deciving. Refused to stay. No telephone in room, used a
pay phone to call another hotel and taxi. Staff were very nice and kind. I considered this to be
very old, not well kept. had no divewayjust sand in front next to highway. No ocean view as picutered
on web page.
Felt like we were "duped".

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Becky51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nassau hotels

Miami Gardens, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

best true bahamian experience,its the real thing. In what i consider to be the best part of nassau, what a vibe, NETTIE'S is truly a very very special bahamian heritagr center. dig the
art work its collectors stuff thanks for having us,you are a special family.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank das50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knittelfeld
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

I don't know why people are thinking negative about this little hotel. The Casuarinas is a low-budget place and nobody can expect 5 stars. The main thing is that i'ts clean and the employes and the family are the most friendliest people I ever met in the Bahamas! I know this accomodation including the staff since more than 26 years (sleeping there 2 or 3 times the year to reach a flight to an Out Island in the next morning) and I never had any problems. Marsha and Shirley (the owners daughters) are always very very helpful. I heard they closed the hotel at the road and re-opened the new one at the ocean-side. I am eager to see the place which is now named "Different of Nassau" - (I think the hotel guides will still name it Casuarinas). I would recommend this nice and quiet place to EVERYBODY who does not like the town-atmosphere - you won't regret it - but as I mentioned before: do not expect 5 stars! The jitney bus is stopping there almost every 15 minutes and you can get a ride downtown for 1,-- Dollar.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sina_valensina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

It's not a fancy hotel, but the price was right and Shirley, the manager on duty was absolutely wonderful. She even helped me resolve my airline problems. The room was clean and comfortable.

While I wouldn't choose Casuarinas as a vacation destination, I would certainly overnight there again while traveling through Nassau.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LITim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed only one night at Nettie's Casuarina Hotel on January 3, 2009. My husband, brother-in-law, and I were stranded in Nassau due to flight complications from Abaco Islands, one of Bahamas' Outer Islands, returning to USA. We were not given any compensation by Continental Airlines and were stranded overnight, and the airline rep called five or six hotels to try and find us an overnight place. Nettie's Casuarina Hotel was about the seventh place she reached that finally had an availability this busy Christmas/New Year's week.

The hotel is located 5 minutes by taxi from Nassau International Airport. This is not a beachfront property but is located across a busy road from the beach, so you are more than welcome to walk to the beach (a little rocky and not condusive to swimming, though).

The staff that greeted us at the hotel were pleasant, helpful, and knowledgable about the area. Check in process was easy, and we were assigned rooms within 15 minutes, even though we had no reservations.

The exterior decor of Nettie's Casuarina Hotel is colorful in traditional Bahamian style, with local artistic works (paintings, coconut sculptors, and tilings), as well as well-groomed interior landscaping (hibiscus, ficus and various other tropical plants). The pool, however, while filled with water, had lots of brown algae on the bottom and I would not suggest venturing near it.

The hallways were narrow and dimly lit, with single fluorescent lamps that flickered on and off. Similar to another poster's observation, we noticed only ONE other family in the entire hotel. Along with the flickering fluorescent lighting, it does give you a very creepy setting.

The rooms were of adequate size, containing a twin (single) and a full (double), a TV, dresser, bed-side table, and closet. The window A/C was functionally cold, and after contacting the front desk, we were able to get a remote control for the TV, as we discovered our TV does not have an operable on/off button. Beds were hard and uncomfortable, but we've slept on worse-- this at least did not sag, poke you in the back, and were bug-free.

The bathroom had a window that opens into the hallway (so passerbys can see you!), and the ballast in the fluorescent lamp for the bathroom was broken, resulting in having to turn the light switch on and off five or six times before the light actually came on. (During daylight hours, we resorted to using the bathroom without any light, relying only on light from the hallways outside to illuminate the room). Bathroom was stocked with toilet paper, tissue paper, three bars of soap and several towels. Only one of the two faucets at the sink works. Pop-up switch that switches between bath and shower faucet head was broken, stuck in the bath position, but no stopper was provided. (Not that we would've soaked ourselves in that grimy tub...). The toilet also does not flush very well.

Check out procedure was easy, taking less than 1 minute-- all we did was hand the staff the key and we were on our way. They called the taxi for us, and waited by the side of the road till we loaded our luggage and were on our way. (They waved and wished us well).

Overall, we would not recommend this as a vacation spot, but if you're stranded on the island and need a place to stay, it is acceptable. There are grocery stores and restaurants within walking distance (along the side of the road, nothing scenic). If the lighting and plumbing fixtures are fixed, and the cleanliness improved, Nettie's Casuarina's would be a 3-star accomodation in my book, as it's located conveniently near the airport and downtown Nassau, and has a very friendly and helpful staff that are willing to do anything for you.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Aliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2008

My sister and I stayed here, it was the worst hotel I ever stayed in!!! The bathroom was filthy, there was a roach under the sink around the toilet was dirty, soap that was used by the previous guest was still in the tub, the towels were filthy....the toilet didn't flush properly. The furniture in the room was old, the linen on the bed smelled like it hadn't been washed. I could go on and on..

The sliding doors didn't look safe and we were the only ones occuping the "hotel".

All in all the entire place needs to be redone. It also appeared as if only one person worked there, the lady at the front desk was the only person i saw(she was even in the restaurant).

The morning that we left we could not get a taxi NO ONE was in the area. We had to call a friend of our for a ride at 5:00 a.m

I wouldn't let my dog and cat stay there!!!!!!

  • Liked — That I wasn't going to be there long
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kidunot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nassau hotels
1.2 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
7.6 mi away
Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach
8.0 mi away
Towne Hotel
Towne Hotel
#23 of 36 in Nassau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Orange Hill Beach Inn
Orange Hill Beach Inn
#18 of 36 in Nassau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sandyport Beach Resort
Sandyport Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Nassau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
4.5 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nettie's Place at Casuarinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nettie's Place at Casuarinas

Property: Nettie's Place at Casuarinas
Address: West Bay St, Cale Beach, Nassau 13225, New Providence Island (Formerly Casuarinas of Cable Beach)
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nettie's Place at Casuarinas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Nettie's Place at Casuarinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nettie`s Place At Casuarinas Hotel Nassau
Netties Place At Casuarinas Nassau
Nettie's Place At Casuarinas Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing