We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Impressive historical building and a quick stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Government House

Government House
Book In Advance
$60.00*
and up
Summer Sunset Jeep Tour of Nassau
Ranked #32 of 120 things to do in Nassau
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Queen's representative to the Bahamas lives in this imposing colonial structure.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
250 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Impressive historical building and a quick stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This historical building doesn't seem like much to look at, but if you think about it historically it is a nice representation of older architecture. There are a couple of plaques on the walls that you should take the time to read to see some of the dates of usage. The central focal statue is very impressive. We didn't go inside, but it was a nice few minutes of viewing on our way between other historical sites.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MyTwoCent s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    64
    39
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I found out about the high tea through people to people. I was a wonderful expereince I found out a great deal about the country and had the opportunity to discuss the fact that for the first time in the countries history they had more than two parties running in the election. The models were very beautiful and although some were very young did a great job. I had a great time and would encourage anyone visiting when this opportunity is available to make reservations and attend.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ready2goDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Some politics and a picture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We arrived at the Government house/Parliament square by foot after walking down Bay Street. It's a nice place to take some pictures and see authentic pink buildings that distinguish Nassau. Other than that, if you don't have a guide, you won't know too much about this place - we did a little bit of reading beforehand and printed some information.

* Maximum time spent - half an hour, good photo spot

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaiPoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“historical sites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

such a beautiful statue of the queen great for memorable photos, and great for historical places, this is a must see, and take a photo in the front the pink color is capitivating as well

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank friendlyfanny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,633 reviews
1,256 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 599 helpful votes
“Nice for a quick view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

worth to walk to to view the nice Christopher Columbus statue. I didn't go beyond the gates. exterior looked nice

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jlantern3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Government House also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Government House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing