We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pause to Understand Its Meaning”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Queen's Staircase

Queen's Staircase
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Nassau City and Country Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #7 of 123 things to do in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This limestone staircase was built by slaves to honor Queen Victoria's help in the abolition of slavery in the Bahamas.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pause to Understand Its Meaning”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The Queens Staircase is an amazingly beautiful and tragic memorial that helps you to understand the depth and passion of the Bahamian people. The volunteer who greeted us was well versed in the history of this treasure (and extremely funny, too). Tip them well. For me, this is one of those holy places that preserves the memory of the blood and lives expended in its creation. I was moved to tears imagining the creation of this place by slaves using the simplest of hand tools. Ascending the stairs may take some time depending on your age and fitness level.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    563
    290
    43
    15
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Love the history of the island”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

During our week vacation on the island, we spent a day with a local tour guide and asked him to show us "the real Bahamas, not the tourist attractions." His goal was for us to not see any tours buses that day, but this is one stop he said we needed to see while here. Beautiful setting. I love seeing and learning about this history of the island and was glad we made the detour here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank WeTravel_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Really Nice”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The staircase is really neat and a must see when in Nassau. Worth the visit and the walk. Plenty of other attractions to see when in this area of town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel65432123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Level Contributor
91 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Oh, the stairs!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Lots of stairs to climb, I think the rating you give depends on your age. The younger the better. Nevertheless, it is a very nice attraction. Just hope you don't need oxygen as you travel up. Just kidding. a good portion of the tour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank rwhubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unofficial guide saved the day”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have always like to seek out places and walk when visiting sites. We are trying to instill that in our little ones. After arriving in port we decided to walk with the 9 and 5 year olds to the queens staircase...without directions.

I was about to kill my partner when an unofficial guide shouted, "pretty lady in the big sun hat...you are almost here."

We listened to his stories and, man, I teach at a college...this guy should be teaching history! So informative and engaging. He had my childrens' complete attention. Without the history, the staircase would mean little. The souls that went into the building the original channel and then the heart that built the stairs.

Worth a visit to pay respect and honor those peoples.

Helpful?
Thank mommy2scarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen's Staircase also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Queen's Staircase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing