We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our trip”
Review of Queen's Staircase

Queen's Staircase
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.65*
and up
Nassau City Tour
Ranked #7 of 124 things to do in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This limestone staircase was built by slaves to honor Queen Victoria's help in the abolition of slavery in the Bahamas.
bellingham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We thought this was a great site. We drove around the block a few times looking for parking and eventually parked down the road a bit. We could have parked right up close. Our "tour guide" was Anthony who did a great job. Officially I don't think there really are tour guides but rather a donation to the locals working the area. We found Anthony "Tony" to be funny, friendly and kind and he did a fantastic job of giving us a very informative history lesson on the Queen's stair case as well as other facts about the Bahamas and even pirates.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank willaxreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    574
    296
    44
    15
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice tour, wear comfy shoes”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Taxi tour guide led us to this amazing stair case. The history was great. Recommend this as a quick stop if you're in Nassau. Wear comfy shoes because our tour guide dropped us off a the top of the staircase and then drove around and meet us at the bottom after we descended the stairs.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingZestfully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
245 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

If this is your first trip to Nassau and you are a history buff, this attraction is worth the trip. There is no fee, but if you listen to the local guides on hand the attraction, a tip would be in order, although you areunder no obligation to do so.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharkhunter2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

While on a taxi tour, we stopped by here. A great gentleman in a wheelchair gave us the entire history of this staircase (tip a few dollars). Our photos came our marvelous!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Floridian_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Was an interesting little trip and worth the $1.00 admission and walk from port. The history provided by the locals was great.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank stevecarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen's Staircase also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Queen's Staircase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing