We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating and visually specacular.”
Review of Queen's Staircase

Queen's Staircase
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Shore Excursion: Nassau Bahamas City Tour
Ranked #7 of 123 things to do in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This limestone staircase was built by slaves to honor Queen Victoria's help in the abolition of slavery in the Bahamas.
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fascinating and visually specacular.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very cool story behind the staircase and leads down into a gorgeous little canyon with a waterfall. Must-visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    587
    299
    44
    16
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

One of the greatest things we saw in Nassau - it holds some mystery, especially if you end up there alone as we did.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mirkovn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“very pretty”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

we headed out very early, and we did get a bit lost finding our way here, went around the back way LOL people in the area were helpful to get us back on track. this is very pretty and not really that much to climb , I have had lots of knee surgeries and managed it well. too pretty to pass up. there is a waterfall in there. we were there early and it was empty so it was really nice and its cool in there. there are benches at the bottom to sit on if you get tired going down. we went down twice. its right by the water tower and the Fort Fincastle. this is walking distance from the ships, but we hit some streets with out signs. if your not up for more adventure, take a bus to here. some streets are not easy to navigate, as in no side walk or no good sidewalk.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lemondropz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Illinois
Level Contributor
346 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“66 steps to the Bottom”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This is quite a hike. It is 66 steps to the bottom. We stopped here as part of our city tour around Nassau. The stairs are quite steep. I didn't attempt it but my boyfriend did and he said it was OK but a little dangerous too.

Helpful?
1 Thank wrigley1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
238 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“66 dramatic steps”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Did a walking tour of town on our own while in Nassau on a recent cruise. Walked over to the Queen's Staircase, built in 1793 by slaves who cut the 66 steps out of the dramatic sandstone cliffs. Definitely worth a visit. Climb up the steps on your way to the Water Tower and Fort Fincastle.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank islandreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen's Staircase also viewed

 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Queen's Staircase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing