We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always make this a stop for lunch”
Review of Conch Fritters

Conch Fritters
Ranked #163 of 280 Restaurants in Nassau
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Always make this a stop for lunch”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you want to taste the local cuisine, Conch Fritters, directly across from the British Colonial Hilton and close to Senor Frogs, is the place for you. This small restaurant is downtown and close to all of the shops and world famous straw market.
We always get the Conch fritters as an appetizer. They are great. Bon appetite!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maggie068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    65
    76
    38
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Name says it all”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had Cracked Conch and Conch Fritters at a few places in Nassau and this was the best. A tip is, do not get the meal. Get the snack portions for about $12 each and you can enjoy both for the cost of one. The snack comes with fries so it will be plenty of food. Not sure if you can substitute the fries however. The conch at the other restaurants I ate at were good as well, I just liked this one better.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Indy2Windy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Typical Bahamian food”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had lunch today at this restaurant which is just opposite the Hilton. Chose it as it had been recommended to us by some locals. We ate the two types of conch which were very tender and tasty. The quantity was fine. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Whilst the food was slightly expensive and the billed for four adults amounted to 92 dollars it was worth while. The place is slightly run down but the kitchen was spotless.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't Eat Here”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My family of four stayed at the BC Hilton just across the street from Conch Fritters. Our second night it town it was pouring rain so we opted to eat at Conch Fritters out of convenience, big mistake. I ordered the grilled grouper. It was WAY over salted, totally inedible. I informed the wait staff and her response was I'll tell the kitchen, thats it. The four of use ordered the mixed vegetables. What we got was frozen peas carrots corn and lima beans that had been barely run under warm water. They had no seasonong at all. The lima beans were so hard that when I bit into it, it split in half. Dining here was the biggest mistake of our vacation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cookie07305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Typical Nassau”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

60$ for a family of 4 to eat fried food- the Conch fingers were good but all else was straight from GFS/ Walmart- way over priced & run down. The General Manager was nice & gave great service- but where was his wait staff? I loathe Nassau, talk about blood sucking money grabbers- aweful city for vacationers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tnapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conch Fritters also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Conch Fritters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing