We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST Italian dining on the Island”
Review of Capriccio

Capriccio
Ranked #66 of 280 Restaurants in Nassau
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The BEST Italian dining on the Island”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I brought my family here after reading wonderful reviews on T.A. prior to our trip. What I found was beyond my expectations! All the food is freshly prepared to your order, so don't be in a hurry when dining here. But I promise you will not leave hungry or disappointed. Start with their complimentary garlic bread which melts in your mouth and enjoy the outside terrace dining. There is not much of a view, being located right on West Bay St, but the ambiance inside the awning is very special. I can't wait to go back again for their tender Veal Parmagiana.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    70
    28
    8
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sneaky pricing at Capriccio Bahamas”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

While visiting Cable Beach, we dropped in for dinner at Capriccio Italian Ristorante. The prices were a little on the high side, but we were craving Italian food, and from the outside, the restaurant looked inviting. We sat indoors (they have an outdoor patio, but it is only a few feet from the heavy traffic on the street.... didn't want the noise and fumes). The owners were watching us from a dining table near the bar the whole time, as if we were the entertainment of the evening... this felt uncomfortable. We were served garlic (soggy and soft) bread... they said it was supposed to be toast, so we sent it back and asked them to toast it before putting on the garlic spread... they did that and it tasted somewhat better. We had a seafood linguini and calamari appetizer.... they tasted good, but nothing to rave about. When the waitress brought the bill, we noticed that they automatically added a 'service charge' of 15%, but a staff member said that tips for the waitress should be additional and in cash. To us, that meant we were paying a 30% gratuity... totally bizarre and a cash grab. We weren't warned of this policy ahead of time... we consider this to be coniving and bad customer service. We won't ever eat here again and warn others of this despicable policy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
123 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“No chance of vampires here”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I had dined at Capriccio before. Was it the best Italian food ever? No, but I would have described it as reasonably good comfort food in a pleasant setting with friendly staff. On my last visit, I have absolutely no recollection of what I had as a main course although I recall it was less than average. The problem was that the dressing for the Caesar salad I had as a starter seemed to consist ENTIRELY of garlic. Don't get me wrong, I love the stuff but not when it completely overpowers a dish and consequently the rest of your meal because you couldn't possibly taste anything else. I will not be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GingersMom66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“CAPRICCIO IS STILL OUR FAVORITE RESTAURANT IN NASSAU”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I were in Nassau for her birthday this last week and we revisited Capriccio restaurant again. we had 4 dinners and 2 lunch and the food and service were exceptional along with their warm hospitably. I had the Grouper Capri that was the best fish fillet ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
their past and the veal chop special was superb to many dishes to mention. but this was one of our best experience in Nassau. Thank you very Much Michael & Alice

PS My wife is from the Bahamas and she loved the Special peas and rice and Crack conch

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmi222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING FOOD & Great Service!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I thoroughly enjoy my food every time I go there. It is delicious! The staff are super friendly, I've never had a bad experience when I go there and I am a local!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capriccio also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Capriccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing